Understanding child psychology with eye tracking

Webinar

Are you interested in developmental-, educational- and clinical-psychology research in infants and children? Do you want to learn more about eye tracking and how it can be used to get valuable insights into your research?

Time

Place

Online

Pricing

Free

Save your spot

About the webinar

Together with the Leipzig Research Center for Early Child Development we proudly present our next webinar where researchers from Leipzig University, Oxford's New College, and Uppsala University will talk about how they use eye tracking in psychology research in children.

Take the opportunity to ask any questions you may have and get inspired by experienced researchers within the field. Furthermore, there will be a session devoted to our eye tracking software Tobii Pro Lab for you to understand it better.

 

Agenda

3.00pm CEST | 9.00am EDT
Introduction and welcome: Julian Schmitz, PhD., University of Leipzig and Peter Reuter, PhD., Tobii Pro

3.05pm CEST | 9.05am EDT
The systematic study of pupil dilation: An early ontogeny perspective | Robert Hepach, PhD., Associate professor and Fellow, Department of Experimental Psychology, New College in Oxford

3.35pm CEST | 9.35am EDT
Assessing visual processing of information in children with social anxiety disorder in laboratory and natural settings | Julian Schmitz, PhD., Professor of clinical child and adolescent psychology, University of Leipzig

4.05pm CEST | 10.05am EDT
Eye tracking in developmental research - using Tobii Pro's solutions | Marisa Biondi, PhD., Senior Research Scientist, Tobii Pro

4.50pm CEST | 10.50am EDT
Pupil dilation as an indicator of mental effort in monolingual and bilingual children | Susanne Enke, M.Sc., Doctoral researcher, University of Leipzig

5.20pm CEST | 11.20am EDT
Longitudinal eye tracking studies in infancy, how changing preferences impact stability | Gustaf Gredebäck, PhD., Professor in Developmental Psychology, Uppsala Child and Baby Lab, Uppsala University

The speakers

Tobii pro-webinar-speaker-Robert-Hepach.png

Robert Hepach is associate professor at the Department of Experimental Psychology and a fellow of New College in Oxford. Together with his colleagues, he studies social cognition and motivation in early ontogeny from the first year of life to school-age: How young children’s understanding of the social world shapes their own behavior to initiate, maintain, and repair cooperative relationships with others.

Tobii pro-webinar-speaker-Julian-Schmitz.png

Julian Schmitz is professor for clinical child and adolescent psychology at Leipzig university and head of the university's psychotherapy outpatient clinic for children and adolescents. In his research he is interested in psychological basis of anxiety disorders in children and adolescents. In his multimethodological approach he uses eye-tracking, EEG, peripheral psychophysiology, behavioral and subjective data from both laboratory experiments and real-life assessments.

Tobii pro-webinar-speakers-Marisa-Biondi

Marisa Biondi is a Senior Research Scientist at Tobii Pro and manages the Funding Support Services program in North America. This position allows her to help build an eye tracking community, through partnerships with researchers hoping to implement eye tracking in their work, or by supporting existing customers in acquiring knowledge or additional grants. Dr. Biondi has a Ph.D. in Psychological & Brain Sciences from Texas A&M University and used fNIRS and eye tracking to study the functional organization of the developing human brain.

Tobii pro-webinar-speaker-Susanne-Enke.png

Susanne Enke is a doctoral researcher at Leipzig University, Germany. She is currently working on finishing her doctoral thesis which focuses on cognitive processes in bilingual versus monolingual children. Her further research interests include executive functioning and academic achievement in early and later childhood.

Tobii Pro-webinar-speaker-Gustaf-Gredeback

Gustaf Gredebäck holds a chair in developmental psychology at Uppsala University. He has authored more than 100 papers since his PhD in 2004, specializing in eye tracking, social cognition and experience dependent processes early in life, published in journals such as Nature Neuroscience, Nature Communication and Psychological Science. From a methodological point of view his work include the first eye tracking methods papers dedicated to infancy (Gredebäck, Johnson, & von Hofsten, 2010), to sibling studies and ASD (Falck-Ytter, Bölte, & Gredebäck, 2013), the (re)introduction of pupil dilation as a method to assess perception and cognition in pre-verbal populations (Laeng, Sirois, & Gredebäck, 2012), and open access eye tracking analysis tools-boxes (Nyström, Falck-Ytter, & Gredebäck, 2016).