分散式数据采集

Tobii Pro Lab Screen based projects

本文将介绍如何通过Pro Lab软件对基于屏幕的项目进行分散式数据采集。

分散式数据采集可以扩大您的的研究规模并节省数据采集的时间。分散数据集是指跨不同地点和眼动仪型号和设置来部署多个数据采集环节。例如,您可以通过使用两台或以上的眼动仪同时进行数据采集,进而在最短的时间内采集到符合您的研究样本量的数据。或,与其他研究团队合作来执行大规模/不同地理位置的研究。本文将介绍如何使用Tobii Pro Lab软件执行分散式数据采集的方法。

分散式数据采集的应用场景

为了更好地阐述我们在Pro Lab软件中执行分散式数据采集的方法,先设想以下的情形:作为一名主要研究员,你将负责执行一项研究,该研究需要你采集位于两个不同地理位置的两个被试组的数据。在这种情况下,你可以亲自带着设备到每个数据采集所在的地点采集数据,或与当地的研究小组合作,把数据采集的任务外包,在他们的实验室中进行。

让我们采用第二种方案,因为这种方案的优势在于可以提高数据采集的小效率并降低差旅成本。从以往的交涉与合作经历,你知道有两个研究小组 ,每个地点一组,都有类似的Tobii Pro眼动仪和一个Pro Lab激活码并且都曾经执行过类似的项目,因此你决定联系他们合作完成该项目。以下是你知晓并确认的事项:

  1. 你是研究主管并负责实验设计和数据分析。
  2. 每个合作研究小组将招募被试者并在目标地点执行必要的数据采集工作。
  3. 你将会使用Pro Lab来呈现你的刺激材料,完成数据采集并执行数据处理。

在这种情况下,你所面临的最大的挑战是将数据采集外包给多个小组需要将相同的实验材料和流程分配给每个小组,以便让他们来完成同一个项目。这就对数据采集过程的一致性提出了更高的要求,包括被试者的招募和任务描述,设备的设置等。以下工作流程举例展示了Pro Lab软件在跨小组的眼动实验中保持过程的一致性和通透度的几个具有优势的功能。 

工作流程实例

以下将列出在当前的情况下,确保数据采集一致性的可能的工作流程:
 

  1. 准备你的实验设计然后与你的合作方进行简要介绍。
  2. 在Tobii Pro Lab软件中执行实验设计。
    1. 新建一个项目并构建实验结构。提示: 实验设计时时刻要考虑从到你的被试者 (这有助于在后期帮你以最有效的方式确定确定被试变量, 请参阅 在 Pro Lab软件中进行组间与组内的实验设计 进一步了解不同实验设计的方法, 并参阅 在Pro Lab软件中组织刺激材料呈现并有效应对顺序效应 进一步了解如何构建你的实验结构)。
    2. 为实验项目添加独立变量和额外变量(例如,被试变量,刺激材料变量,时间轴名称等)。请参阅 什么是实验变量? 了解详情。
    3. 确定你的样本大小 (n) 并将被试 (n)添加到你的项目中。提示:您可以按您的研究目的来为已知信息的被试者命名并预先为他们分配变量值。(请参阅 独立变量和被试组进一步了解如何添加被试变量和)。
    4. 创建AOI兴趣区, AOI标签和自定义TOI(若需要)。在第4步执行实验预览时会用到(请参阅以下文章进一步了解相应的操作方法: 关于兴趣区AOI的探索 和 关于兴趣区间TOI的探索). 
    5. 通过选择相关的指标(因变量)和数据(独立变量)确定并设置你的眼动追踪统计指标导出文件,在第4步预览实验时用到。(请参阅以下文章了解相关的操作方法: 在Tobii Pro Lab软件中计算和导出眼动追踪统计指标 和了解Pro Lab的眼动追踪统计指标)。
  3. 创建以一个数据采集的标准流程,包含被试的招募信息,数据质量的检验和无效记录的判断标准。
  4. 测试你的实验设计和数据采集流程的效果。可以在你的实验室执行一个效的前导性研究来考察你的任务指示和各项标准是否足够清晰,最后能够将因变量和独立变量以正确的形式导出并符合你的预期。
  5. 如果你会当前的实验设计和流程规划满意,导出该项目的两个版本 (阅读以下章节: Pro Lab项目的导入与导出步骤):
    1. 版本A, 包含一半的被试者,或你计划在A地点采集数据的被试者。
    2. 版本B, 包含另一半被试者,或你计划在B地点采集数据的被试者。
  6. 将生成的压缩包文件以及数据采集的标准流程等信息分别发给对应的研究小组 (例如,根据数据采集地点) 。
  7. 每个研究小组在他们的Pro Lab软件中打开实验项目(阅读以下题为Pro Lab 项目的导入与导出步骤了解具体操作步骤) 并根据指导和数据采集流程执行数据采集。包括被试的招募并将任何与数据采集流程相关的偏差的信息记录归档。
  8. 当数据采集完毕后,每个研究小组将包含相应记录的数据导出并将生成的压缩文件以及任何数据采集过程中记录和归档的信息发回。
  9. 将两个文件导入到原始的Pro Lab项目中 (阅读以下题为Pro Lab 项目的导入与导出步骤了解具体操作步骤), 检查导入的记录并将统计指标导出,进而开展后续的分析。

在该案例中,你使用了Pro Lab软件的被试管理功能来确定并设置你的样本量,定义采样的顺序并使被试的信息实现了跨不同数据采集地点的标准化。此外,你也可以只导出部分被试者分配给每个研究小组来控制样本量。

明确地告诉数据采集小组不要在Pro Lab软件的实验设计模块中更改任何实验刺激材料和实验结构是非常重要的。若发生了这些更改,后期将无法再将数据导回到原始项目中,并可能会在数据叠加时导致冲突。

  

从Pro Lab中导出一个实验项目: 

  1. 打开一个已有的Pro Lab项目。
  2. Project overview界面点击Export 打开导出菜单并选择Project。
  3. Project export弹出窗口中取消选择RecordingsParticipants 列表中需要排除的记录。
  4. 点击Browse 并选择一个用来保存导出文件的目标文件夹位置。
  5. 为导出的文件命名(可以选择一个与当前项目名称不同的名称来命名),在 File name文本框中输入名称。
  6. 点击Export将项目导出到选中的文件夹。

首次打开导出的项目Opening an exported project for the first time

  1. 将项目文件解压到目标文件夹。
  2. 在Pro Lab软件中打开解压的项目。
  3. 打开Project overview 检查项目包含的内容 – Recordings(记录), Participants(被试者), Events(事件)Variables(变量)。
将记录和被试导入到原始项目中:
  1. 在Pro Lab软件中打开原始项目。
  2. Project overview 界面点击Import 打开导入界面并选择Project。
  3. Import Lab recordings 弹出窗口中选择导出的项目压缩包和想要导入的数据。
  4. 接下来在Import Lab recordings 弹出菜单中取消选中希望排除的Recordings(记录)。 
  5. 点击 Export 将项目导出到指定的文件夹。
  6. 新的记录将显示在Project overview.界面的记录列表中。

! 导入的项目必须是从原始项目导出生成的。

 

表1. 项目导入冲突 - 该表列出了如果在数据采集过程中对被试变量和值进行了更改,Pro Lab软件导入项目时的一些行为。整体原则是对带有预设值的变量或直接对变量值进行更改,Pro Lab都会检测到并会造成原始文件和采集了数据的文件之间的信息冲突。导入结果将包含新的被试者(保留更改)并保留带有原始值的旧的被试者的数据。这样这会提示测试主管或负责数据分析的研究人员项目的原始变量和变量值已经更改,需要决定怎样保留。 
原始项目     数据采集项目 原始项目
被试者 被试变量 更改 导入结果
被试01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色 将值改为蓝色 冲突,, Pro Lab将创建一个新被试,名为被试01(2),该被试带有眼睛颜色的变量,变量值为蓝色
被试01 眼睛颜色 未指定 值改为蓝色 无冲突, 为被试01分配变量值-蓝色
被试01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色或未指定 增加一个新的被试变量 无冲突,在现有变量的基础上为被试01增加新的变量。
被试01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色 为现有的眼睛颜色变量增加一个新的值,棕色,并将其选中 冲突, Pro Lab创建名为被试01(2)的新被试,带有眼睛颜色变量,值为棕色
被试01 眼睛颜色 未指定 为现有的眼睛颜色变量增加一个新的值,棕色,并将其选中 无冲突,变量值-棕色被分配给被试01。
被试01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色 删除现有的眼睛颜色变量 冲突,Pro Lab创建名为被试01(2)的新被试。
被试01 眼睛颜色 未指定 删除现有的眼睛颜色变量 无冲突,但Pro Lab会放弃更改并保留被试01的眼睛颜色变量,值为未指定。
被试01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色 从眼睛颜色变量中删除值-蓝色 无冲突,被试01的眼睛颜色变量值仍然是绿色。
Participant01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色 从眼睛颜色变量中删除值-绿色 冲突,Pro Lab创建名为被试01(2)的新被试。
被试01 眼睛颜色 未指定 从眼睛颜色变量中删除值-蓝色或值-绿色 无冲突,被试01的眼睛颜色变量的值仍为未指定。
被试01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色或未指定 将眼睛颜色变量重命名为虹膜颜色 无冲突,为被试01增加第二个变量虹膜颜色。
被试01 眼睛颜色 设置为绿色 将眼睛颜色变量的变量值绿色更改为灰色 冲突,Pro Lab创建名为被试01(2)的新被试,带有眼睛颜色的变量,变量值为灰色。
被试01 眼睛颜色 未指定 将眼睛颜色变量的变量值绿色更改为灰色 无冲突,灰色将作为新的变量值被添加到眼睛颜色变量中。

分散式数据采集在节省研究的数据采集时间和扩大研究规模方面提供了不同的优势。从而能够通过增加样本量使研究实现更高的统计学效力,并为那些需要由不同的研究小组共享并复刻执行相同研究并验证测试效应的普适性的研究提供新的可能性。 

本文介绍了一个分散式数据采集可能的应用情景,以及如何在Tobii Pro Lab软件中实现分散式数据采集的最佳方式。您可以据此为例,根据您的研究需求和小组合作的类型进行调整。  

相关文章

Scaled and distributed data collection for screen-based projects

Tobii Pro Lab Screen based projects

In this article you will learn how to conduct a distributed data collection with Pro Lab, for screen-based projects.

Distributed data collection enables you to both scale your study and save time. By distributed data collection, we mean, the ability to deploy multiple data collection sessions across different locations and eye tracking setups. For example, you can reduce the time needed to reach the sample size goal of your study by running simultaneous data collection sessions with two or more eye tracking setups, or, collaborate with other research teams to perform large- scale and/or geographically separated studies. In this article you will learn how to conduct a distributed data collection with Pro Lab.

Distributed data collection scenario

In order to see how we implement it in Pro Lab, let’s imagine the following scenario: As a lead researcher you are responsible for running a study where you need to collect data from two subject groups, located in two different geographical locations. In this scenario you can opt to travel to each location with your equipment and perform the data collection yourself, or, instead collaborate with local research groups, and outsource the data collection to their labs.


Let’s go with the second option, as it has the advantage of speeding up your data collection and cuts down on the travelling costs. From previous contacts and collaborations, you know that there are two research groups, one in each location, that have a similar Tobii Pro Eye tracker and a Pro Lab license and have been conducting similar studies, so you decide to contact them and propose to collaborate in this project. You agree the following:

  1. You will take the role of the lead researcher and be responsible for designing the study and analyzing the data.
  2. Each partner research group will recruit the participants and collect the necessary data in the target locations.
  3. You will use Pro Lab to present your stimuli, record and process the data.

The biggest challenge you have in this scenario, is that outsourcing your data collection requires providing multiple teams access to the experimental materials and procedures needed to complete the same study. This adds higher requirements on transparency and careful documentation of the data collection process. This includes, recruiting and debriefing participants, operating the setup, etc. The following workflow example illustrates how you can take advantage of different features in Pro Lab to help keep the process consistent and transparent across multiple teams.

Workflow example

Below you will find a possible workflow to keep data collection consistency in this scenario:
 

  1. Prepare your experiment design then brief and discuss it with your collaborators.
  2. Implement the experimental design in Tobii Pro Lab.
    1. Create a project and build the experiment trial structure. Tip: Keep your participant experimental design  in mind (this will later help you decide how to implement in the most efficient way your independent variables, read Between- and within-subject experimental designs in Pro Lab for examples of implementation of different designs, and Structuring the stimulus presentation and dealing with order effects in Pro Lab to learn how to build your experiment trial structure).
    2. Add your independent and extraneous variables to the project (e.g. participant variables, stimulusi variables , timeline names, etc.). Read What are experimental variables? for more information.
    3. Define your sample size (n)  and add (n) participants to your project. Tip: You can number and order your participants to reflect your sampling strategy and pre-assign values of the planned the participant variables values  to the participants. (read Independent Variables and Participant Groups to learn on how to add participant variables).
    4. Create AOIs, AOI tags and manual TOIs if your analysis requires it. You will use it in step 4 when you to test your implementation (read the following articles to learn how to: Digging Into Areas of Interest and Digging into intervals and Times of Interest). 
    5. Define and configure  your metrics export file, by selecting the relevant metrics (dependent variables) and data (Independent variables). You will use it in step 4 when you test your implementation (read the following articles to learn how to: Calculating and exporting eye tracking metrics in Tobii Pro Lab and Understanding Pro Lab's eye tracking metrics). 
  3. Write a data collection protocol. Include participant recruitment information, data quality checks and recording exclusion criteria.
  4. Test your implementation and data protocols. Perform a small pilot study  in your lab to see if the instructions and criteria are clear and that you can export the independent and dependent variables in the correct format.
  5. Once you are happy with your implementation and protocol, export two versions of the project (read the section below Pro Lab project import and export steps):
    1. Version A, containing half of the participants, or the participants you have assigned to location A.
    2. Version B, containing the other half, or the participants you have assigned to location B.
  6. Send the generated zip files to the respective research groups (i.e. according to location) along with the data collection protocols.
  7. Each research group will then open the project in Pro Lab (read the section below entitled Pro Lab project import and export steps to learn how to) and execute the data collection according to the instructions in the protocol. This includes recruiting the participants and documenting any deviations to the data collection process.
  8. Once the data set is complete each research group exports the data with the relevant recordings and sends back the generated zip file, together with any documentation generated during the sessions.
  9. Import the two files into the original Pro Lab project (read the section below Pro Lab project import and export steps), review the recordings and perform your metrics export for further analysis.

In this example, you used the the participant management features in pro lab to set your sample size, define the sampling order and standardize the participant information accross sites. Additionaly you used the export features to localise your participants (by selecting only to export part of them to each group). 

It is important to instruct the data collection teams do not change the stimulius and trial structure in the Design module of Pro Lab. Any changes won’t be able to later be re-imported into the original project and may create conflicts when aggregating the data.

  

Exporting a project in Pro Lab 

  1. Open an existing Pro Lab project.
  2. On the Project overview click Export to open the export menu and select Project.
  3. On the Project export popup menu deselect the Recordings and Participants you want to exclude from the export.
  4. Click Browse and select a target folder where you want to save the file and name.
  5. Name your export file (you can choose a different name from the current project name) by entering typing in the File name text box.
  6. Click Export to export the project to the folder you selected.
 

Opening an exported project for the first time

  1. Unzip the project to a target folder.
  2. Open the un-zipped project in Pro Lab.
  3. Open the Project overview to check the content of the project – Recordings, Participants, Events and Variables.
 
Importing recordings and participants into the orginal Project
  1. Open the original project in Pro Lab project.
  2. On the Project overview click Import to open the import menu and select Project.
  3. On the Import Lab recordings popup window select the exported zipped project file with the data you wish to import.
  4. Next on the Import Lab recordings popup menu deselect the Recordings you want to exclude from the export.
  5. Click Export to export the project to the folder you selected.
  6. The new recordings will show up in the Recordings list in the Project overview.

! The imported project needs to have been generated from the original project.

 

Table 1. Project import conflicts - this table lists the import behavior of Pro Lab if changes are made to the participant variables and values during data collection. The general rule of thumb is that changes to variables with pre-assigned values, or directly to the pre-assigned values, are detected by Tobii Pro Lab and dealt as an information conflict between the original file and the data collection file. The import outcome will contain new participants containing the changes and keep the old participants with the original values. This will alert the test lead or the researcher responsible for the data analysis that changes were done to the original variables and values and a decision needs to be done. 
Original project     Data collection project  Original project
Participant Participant variable Value Change Import outcome
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green Changes value to Blue Conflict, Pro Lab creates a new participant entitled Participant01(2) with Eye color value set to Blue
Participant01 Eye color  Not specified Changes value to Blue No conflict, the value Blue is assigned to Participant01
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green or Not specified Adds a new participant variable No conflict, the new variable and respective value(s) are added to Participant01 in addition to the existing variables
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green Adds a new value Brown to the existing variable Eye color, and selects it Conflict, Pro Lab creates a new participant entitled Participant01(2) with the Eye color value set to Brown
Participant01 Eye color Not specified Adds a new value Brown to the existing variable Eye color, and selects it  No conflict, the value Brown is assigned to Participant01
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green Deletes the existing variable Eye color Conflict, Pro Lab creates a new participant entitled Participant01(2)
Participant01 Eye color Not specified Deletes the existing variable Eye color No conflict, however Pro Lab discards the change and keeps the variable Eye color for Participant01, with the value set to Not specified
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green Deletes the value Blue from the variable Eye color No conflict, the value Green remains assigned to Participant01
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green Deletes the value Green from the variable Eye Color Conflict, Pro Lab creates a new participant entitled Participant01(2)
Participant01 Eye color Not specified Deletes the value Blue or Green from the variable Eye color No conflict, the variable Eye color value remains Not specified for  Partcicipant01 
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green or Not specified Renames Variable Eye color to Iris color No conflict, a second variable named Iris color is added to Participant01
Participant01 Eye color Set to Green Renames the value Green to Grey in the variable Eye color Conflict, Pro Lab creates a new participant entitled Participant01(2) with the Eye color set to the value Grey
Participant01 Eye color Not specified Renames the value Green to Grey in the variable Eye color No conflict, the value Grey is added to the variable Eye color as a new value 

Distributed data collection offers different advantages when it comes to saving time or scaling the data collection phase of a study. This in turn allows studies to achieve high statistical power by increasing the sample size and opens the opportunity for different research groups to share and replicate the same study and verify the generalizability of the tested effects.

This article introduces one possible scenario of distributed data collection and how to best implement it with Tobii Pro Lab. The scenario can be used as a start point to implement a distributed data collection procedure in your own study and tweeked to your own needs and type of collaboration.  

Related Articles