眼动仪的采样率

眼动仪 眼动追踪技术 眼动

本文介绍了眼动仪采样率的概念及其对眼动追踪数据采集带来的影响。

一台眼动追踪设备的采样频率是指眼动仪每秒采集眼球图像的次数。当眼球运动时,眼动仪的采样频率越高,则获得的眼动行为信息就越丰富。然而,更高采样率往往意味着使用成本更高的传感器,更多的光源,潜在数据噪声等级的上升以及数据库体积的增加。因此,在决定使用多少采样率开展您的研究之前,首先要确定您的具体需求。我们希望这篇文章能为您提供足够多的信息,帮您做出合适的选择。

采样率图解

Sampling frequency of eye movements

图1. 图中的横向眼动体现出注视-眼跳-注视的顺序。黑线代表随时间推移的视线真实运动路径。垂直的线条代表眼动仪采集到的不同时刻的眼部图像以及眼球位置和注视点位置的估算值(如,一个样本)。

我们以上图的眼动为例。如果我们只看横向眼动,首先出现一个注视点,接着是一个眼跳,然后是另外一个注视点。这些行为可以被达到某个采样频率的眼动仪捕捉下来(图中蓝色),也可以被双倍于该采样率的眼动仪捕捉到(图中红色)。你肯定也注意到了每个样本之间的间隔,即采样间隔更短。如果一台眼动仪的采样率是60 Hz,那么采样间隔就是16.67毫秒(ms),如果采样率翻倍至120 Hz,采样率间隔就缩短至8.33 ms。如果你的眼动仪采样率为600 Hz或甚至达到1200 Hz, 那么采样间隔则分别能达到1.67 ms或0.83 ms。

如果使用这两种采样率来重建原始波形 (眼动路径),得到的结果则不完全相似 (见下方图2和图3)。如果我们按重建后的波形图来判断,蓝色的采样率更稀疏,波形图体现出的情形是两点间的眼跳行为是偶发性的。而另一张波形图则揭示出眼跳过程中的细微差别。虽然这个眼跳行为时长足以被低采样率眼动仪捕捉到,但如果是非常小的眼跳行为或一些采样率更低的眼动仪则无法有效记录这些行为。

Sampling frequency of eye movements

图 2。与图1相同的横向眼动,顺序为注视-眼跳-注视。此图中的黑线代表低采样率眼动仪对眼动路径的预判。垂直的线条代表眼动仪采集一张眼部图像的不同时间点以及对眼球位置和视线位置(例如,一个样本)的预判。

Sampling frequency of eye movements

图3. 与图1相同的横向眼动,顺序为注视-眼跳-注视。此图中黑线代表高采样率眼动仪对眼动路径的预估。垂直的线条代表眼动仪采集眼部图像并预估眼球位置和视线位置(例如一个样本)的不同时间点。

采样频率的实际影响

Sampling frequency & eye movements

如果你有兴趣了解眼动行为本身的特征,一台高采样率(低噪声等级)的眼动仪可以有效完成微眼跳或其他基于注视的眼动行为,亦或是对诸如post-saccadic oscillations现象或对眼跳细节展开研究(例如, Juhola, Jäntti, & Pyykkö, 1985)。对大多数研究人员来说,最重要的以最低的不确定性在一次注视或一次眼跳开始和停止时将原始眼动样本有效地转换为注视和眼跳。换句话说,就是以更低的噪声等级对眼动行为进行有效测量,例如注视时间,首次进入时间等等。


根据Andersson, Nyström & Holmqvist (2010)的一项延迟测量(基于一个给定点和一个采样点)与持续时间测量(基于两个采样点)的研究。延迟测量,以首次注视到目标所用的时间为例。这种时间区间必须具有一个开始点和一个结束点。开始点由计算机或具备足够高采样率(高至采样误差可以忽略)的眼动仪时钟给出。结束点由注视点的开始时间确定,即由注视点过滤器及其算法确定。当“真正的”注视点开始时,它一定包含于一个采样周期内的某个点,但它也可能比视线位置被采样提前一点点(随后位置立刻被捕捉到),或延后一点点(且我们必须等到下一个样本被采集)。如果眼睛数据按注视行为的开始来看,这种采样误差几乎趋近于零,但如果按上述第二种情况来看,这种误差则可能大至一个采样周期。但平均来看,这种误差应该在一个采样周期的一半,因此,对一台60 Hz的眼动仪来说,此误差即为(1000/60)/2 = 8.33 ms, 采样误差最小为0,最大为16.67 ms。因此即使一名被试者发生了几次延迟相近的首次注视事件,60 Hz的眼动仪采样的延迟也可能高达16.67 ms并将该范围的噪声带到你的数据分析中。 这也意味着在平均半个采样间隔的持续时间内,您的延迟测量值将稍微高于预估值。


对于时间的测量,例如注视持续时间,事件的开始和结束点都可能存在误差,因为这两个端都是由眼动仪采样的。在较好的情况下,即多预估了注视点的开始时间,并且多预估了注视点的结束时间,那么这两个错误可能会相互抵消,因此您可以获得真实的注视点持续时间。所以,一般来说,您的测量结果没有偏差。然而,您现在在测量的开始和结束时都产生了误差,因此可能会低估一个采样间隔的持续时间,并且会高估一个采样间隔。这意味着对一台60 Hz的眼动仪来说,采样误差以零为中心,噪声范围介于 -16.67 ms 到 +16.67 ms。

实际上,这种采样误差会转化为分析中的噪声和不确定性,使得获得有价值的数据或可信度水平高的结果变得更加困难。那么我们怎样做才能减少由此带来的影响呢?最简单的方法是使用采样率足够高的眼动仪来开展研究。如果您正在研究短促和嘈杂的现象,那么拥有高采样率是很重要的,但是如果这种现象在实验条件和水平较低的其他噪声类型之间表现出很大差异,那么低采样率的眼动仪也能胜任。眼动仪的采样间隔应该是事件持续时间的一半,这是一个很好的经验法则。如果你想把数据的不确定因素降低但又不用更快的眼动仪,那么可能需要采集额外的数据来补偿这种不确定因素。根据经验法则(Andersson,Nyström&Holmqvist,2010),将收集的观测量增加四倍,相当于将采样率加倍。

采样率与Gaze Contingency研究

在Gaze-Contingent研究中,屏幕呈现的内容是由当前的视线位置决定的, 此类研究对眼动仪采集眼睛图像的速度平没有上限要求。然而,在此类研究中并不是采样率越高越好。为了及时捕捉视线跨过屏幕的某些边界或在某个目标周围出现的某次眼跳行为而使用高采样率设备,你必须要足够早地做出判断,因为根据视线位置而做出的屏幕刺激变化也要很及时,甚至是在短暂眼跳的过程中,因此就导致了被试者有可能注意不到屏幕刺激物的变化。这就意味着采集眼睛图像的速度越快,侦测到眼跳并更改屏幕刺激物的时间就越长。对于Gaze-Contingent研究而言,考察刺激物在屏幕上呈现的时间精度以及眼动仪采集眼动数据的精确度等其他与精度相关的问题就变得同样重要。

采样率与瞳孔大小数据

瞳孔的反应速度通常比较缓慢,这也意味着采集此类数据的采样率不需要很高。1-2 Hz的节奏性虹膜震颤运动可以被任何拍摄眼睛图像的设备有效检测到。此外由于心理负荷变化引起的瞳孔大小波动也是可以秒计算的缓慢反应(Klingner, Kumar, Hanrahan, 2008)。

与其他传感器同步

当与其他传感器尤其是皮肤电(EDA;称为皮肤电反应-GSR),肌电图(EMG),心电图(ECG)和呼吸传感器同步时,由于这些设备的采样率差异,采集到的数据样本密度是不同的。如果您的目的是将各数据流的采样率统一,可采用多种标准的方法进行采样率转换(请参阅Wikipedia:采样率转换),取决于您在信号处理方面的知识与能力。

在Tobii Pro Lab软件中,可以直接添加部分传感器,例如Shimmer GSR设备。 Pro Lab会照顾到采样率的差异,并将眼动数据与传感器数据同步到相同的时间轴上。

参考文献与推荐阅读材料

Andersson, R., Nyström, M., & Holmqvist, K. (2010). Sampling frequency and eye-tracking measures: how speed affects durations, latencies, and more. Journal of Eye Movement Research, 3(3). doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.16910/jemr.3.3.6

Klingner, J., Kumar, R., & Hanrahan, P. (2008, March). Measuring the task-evoked pupillary response with a remote eye tracker. In Proceedings of the 2008 symposium on Eye tracking research & applications (pp. 69-72). ACM.

Juhola, M., Jäntti, V., & Pyykkö, I. (1985). Effect of sampling frequencies on computation of the maximum velocity of saccadic eye movements. Biological Cybernetics, 53(2), 67-72.

Sample-rate conversion (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved February 21, 2018, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sample-rate_conversion

相关文章

  • 眼动行为的类型

    本页将简要介绍几种主要的眼动行为类型以及他们的特征。

    视觉系统 人眼 眼动
  • 眼动行为的分类

    将原始数据分类为相应的眼动行为是眼动追踪研究中的一个重要过程。本页将为您介绍Tobii眼动仪采集到的数据是如何在Tobii Pro Studio和Analyzer软件中进行分类的。

    眼动 Tobii Pro Studio软件 Tobii Pro Lab
  • 为什么会出现眼动行为?

    本页简要介绍了人类的视觉系统以及眼动行为及其与眼动追踪的关系。

    视觉系统 人眼 眼动

Eye tracker sampling frequency

Eye tracker Eye tracking technique Eye movement

In this article we explain what eye tracker sampling frequency is and its impact on data collection.

The sampling frequency of an eye tracking system refers to how many times per second the position of the eyes is registered by the eye tracker. The higher the sampling frequency, the better your ability to estimate the true path of the eye when it moves. However, a higher sampling frequency also comes at a cost; more expensive cameras, more illumination needed, potentially higher noise levels, and ultimately more data to store. So, it makes sense to understand your own needs before deciding on what sampling frequency would be right for you. We hope by the end of this article you will know enough to make that decision.

Sampling frequency illustrated

Sampling frequency of eye movements

Figure 1. Horizontal movement of the eyes where they appear to make a fixation-saccade-fixation sequence. The black line represents the true movement path of the eye over time. The vertical lines represent the different moments the eye tracker collects a picture of the eyes and estimates their position and gaze point (i.e. a sample).

 

Consider the movement in Figure 1 above. Visualizing only the horizontal movements, there appears to be a fixation, followed by a saccade, which is then followed by another fixation. This movement can be sampled by one eye tracker with a certain sampling frequency (blue), or it can be sampled by an eye tracker with twice that sampling frequency (red). You will also notice that the interval between each sample, the sampling interval, is shorter. If an eye tracker samples at 60 Hz, then the sampling interval is 16.67 milliseconds (ms), and if you double the sample frequency to 120 Hz you will also halve the sampling interval to 8.33 ms. If your eye tracker samples at 600 Hz, or even 1200 Hz, then the sampling interval is only 1.67 ms or 0.83 ms, respectively.

If you try to reconstruct the original waveform (the movement path) using these two sampling frequencies, you will not get completely similar results (see Figures 2 & 3, below). Judging just from the reconstructed waveforms, the blue, more sparsely sampled, waveform gives the impression that the saccade is a very sudden movement from one point to another. The other waveform reveals move nuance in the movement. This saccade is large enough to also be picked up by the slower sampling frequency, but that may not have been the case if it had been a very small saccade, or if we had used an eye tracker with a much slower sampling frequency.

Sampling frequency of eye movements

Figure 2. The same horizontal movement of the eyes, as figure 1, with a fixation-saccade-fixation. This time the black line represents the estimated path of the movement of eye based on a low sampling frequency. The vertical lines represent the different moments the eye tracker collects a picture of the eyes and estimates their position and gaze point (i.e. a sample).

Sampling frequency of eye movements

Figure 3. The same horizontal movement of the eyes, as figure 1, with a fixation-saccade-fixation. This time the black line represents the estimated path of the movement of the eye based on a high sampling frequency. The vertical lines represent the different moments the eye tracker collects a picture of the eyes and estimates their position and gaze point (i.e. a sample).

Practical effects of sampling frequency

Sampling frequency & eye movements

If you’re interested in studying the characteristics of the eye movements themselves, an eye tracker with a higher sampling frequency (and low noise levels) allows you to study microsaccades and other fixational eye movements, or other phenomena such as post-saccadic oscillations, or investigate saccades in detail (e.g., Juhola, Jäntti, & Pyykkö, 1985). For most researchers, the main benefit is a more robust transformation of raw gaze samples into fixations and saccades, with less uncertainty about when a fixation or a saccade starts and stops. This increased certainty will also translate into less noisy estimates of eye movement measures, such as fixation durations, time to first fixation, and so on.


A study by Andersson, Nyström & Holmqvist (2010) distinguishes between latency measures, which depend on one given and one sampled point, and duration measures, which depend on two sampled points. A latency measure could be, for example, the time to first fixation on a target. This duration or interval must have a start point and an end point. The start point is given by a computer or eye-tracker clock which has a sufficiently high sampling frequency for its sampling error to be disregarded. The end point is determined by the start of the fixation, which is determined by a fixation filter and its calculations. Where the “true” start of a fixation happens will be somewhere inside a sampling interval, but it could be just before the gaze position is sampled (its position is picked up immediately), or just after it has been sampled (and we must wait for the next sample to be registered). This sampling error can be near zero if the eye is sampled just as the fixation starts, but as large as one sampling interval if it happens just after a sample. On average, however, it will be half of one sampling interval, so with a 60 Hz eye tracker, this will be (1000/60)/2 = 8.33 ms, with a minimum and maximum error of 0 and 16.67 ms, respectively. So even if a participant produces several time-to-first-fixation events with identical latencies, their registered latency by the 60 Hz eye tracker will vary by up to 16.67 ms, and add noise of that range to your analysis. This also means that your latency measures will be slightly over-estimated, by the duration of half a sampling interval on average.


For duration measures, such as fixation durations, you have errors at both ends of the event, because both parts are sampled by the eye tracker. The good news is that if you over-estimate the beginning of the fixation, and over-estimate the end of the fixation, both errors could cancel each other out so you get the true fixation duration. This is what happens, on average, so there is no bias in your measurements. However, you now have an error in the beginning and in the end of your measurements, so the duration can both be underestimated by one sampling interval as well as overestimated by one sampling interval. This mean that the sampling error is centered on zero, but the range of the noise goes from -16.67 ms to +16.67 ms for a 60 Hz eye tracker.


In practice, this sampling error will translate into noise and uncertainty in the analysis, making it more difficult to get results that pass some statistical significance or credibility level. What can you do about this? The easy solution is just to get an eye-tracker with sufficiently high sampling frequency for studying your particular phenomenon. If what you are studying is a very brief and noisy phenomenon, then having a high sampling frequency is important, but if the phenomenon shows up as large differences between experimental conditions with low levels of other types of noise, then even a slow eye tracker will work well. It’s a good rule of thumb that the sampling interval of an eye tracker should half be of the duration of the event in question. If you want to cut down on the uncertainty in your data while still not using a faster eye tracker, then it’s possible to collect additional data to compensate for this uncertainty. The rule of thumb (according to Andersson, Nyström & Holmqvist, 2010) is to quadruple the amount of observations you collect to be equivalent to doubling your sampling frequency.

Sampling frequency and gaze contingency

In gaze-contingent research, where what you show on screen is determined by your current gaze position, there is not really any upper limit to how fast you want to sample the eye. There are, however, diminishing returns on the increases in the sampling frequency. You want to be able to sample the eye at high speeds, to know immediately if the eye crosses some boundary on the screen, or produces a saccade towards some target. You need to know this early, because you want to change the information on the screen, even during the saccade so the participant is less likely to notice the change. This means that the faster you sample the eye, the more time you have to identify a saccade and to change the stimulus on the screen. For gaze contingency, other timing issues become important, such as the timing of the stimulus onset on the screen, and the precision with which the eye tracker streams the gaze data.

Sampling frequency and pupil size data

The pupil produces slow responses, which means that the sampling frequency does not need to be high. For example, the rhythmic hippus movement at 1-2 Hz is detectable by any device filming the eye. Addtionally, pupil size fluctuations driven by changes in mental workload also produce slow responses on  the order of seconds (Klingner, Kumar, Hanrahan, 2008).

Synchronization with other sensors

When synchronizing with other sensors, most notably sensors for electrodermal activity (EDA; called galvanic skin response – GSR), electromyography (EMG), electrocardiography (ECG), and respiration, you may have sensors that produce data at different sampling rates. Depending on your skills in signal processing, there are standard approaches for sample-rate conversions if the goal is to align the data to a common sampling rate (see Wikipedia: Sample-rate conversion).


In Tobii Pro Lab, it is possible to add some sensors directly, like the Shimmer GSR device. Then Pro Lab will take care of the different sample rates and aligning them on a common time line.

References & Recommended Reading

Andersson, R., Nyström, M., & Holmqvist, K. (2010). Sampling frequency and eye-tracking measures: how speed affects durations, latencies, and more. Journal of Eye Movement Research, 3(3). doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.16910/jemr.3.3.6

Klingner, J., Kumar, R., & Hanrahan, P. (2008, March). Measuring the task-evoked pupillary response with a remote eye tracker. In Proceedings of the 2008 symposium on Eye tracking research & applications (pp. 69-72). ACM.

Juhola, M., Jäntti, V., & Pyykkö, I. (1985). Effect of sampling frequencies on computation of the maximum velocity of saccadic eye movements. Biological Cybernetics, 53(2), 67-72.

Sample-rate conversion (n.d.). In Wikipedia. Retrieved February 21, 2018, from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sample-rate_conversion

Related Articles

  • Types of eye movements

    The aim of this page is top give a brief description of the different main types of eye movements and their function. 

    Visual system Human eye Eye movement
  • Eye movement classification

    Learn how Tobii Pro Studio and Tobii Pro Lab classify eye movements

    Eye movement Tobii Pro Studio Tobii Pro Lab
  • Why do our eyes move?

    The aim of this page is to give a brief introduction to the human visual system, and to briefly explain why we move our eyes and it's relevance to eye tracking. 

    Visual system Human eye Eye movement