使用眼动追踪减少制药包装流水线的混淆

对我们来说,任何一个失误都会造成严重的后果”一名世界最大的制药公司的业务信息化顾问说道。该公司每年生产上千种药物运往140多个国家。”不允许失误“-对这样一家生产至关重要的药物和疫苗的公司来说是这样,对其他上千种主要业务建立于信誉和可靠性的其他产业来说也是相同的。

本案例涉及到的这家公司身份保密,他们想要对现有的已经足够严格的产品检验过程进行衡量,因此他们与Tobii Pro 研究服务团队合作对他们的产品包装线开展了一项眼动追踪研究。研究的任务是观察药品包装流水线的清场过程,尤其是操作员对“重点区域”的观察模式(清除上批生产遗留物品,以免进入到下批的生产中,导致差错)。

Pharmaceutical Packaging Line Clearance

共有六名操作员佩戴 Tobii Pro 的眼镜式眼动仪 完成15-30分钟左右的常规操作任务,他们的视线数据及场景数据由内置的高清摄像机记录下来,然后研究人员对这些数据进行分析从而获得任务执行期间操作员的视觉注意分配的准确信息。该公司之前曾使用视频记录来研究工作场所的实践, 但眼动追踪在准确考察操作员在场景中观察的位置方面提供了独有的优势。“非常有趣的现象是我们在操作过程中指定的“重点区域”几乎都被操作员忽略了。”该公司的业务信息化咨询顾问说道。此信息可以使该公司对工作场所的实践进行迅速的调整,“我们放置了RFID标签,操作员必须通过扫描标签来确认操作,确保已经检测过所有”重点区域“并且不会有任何剩余材料会混到下一批产品中。”

眼动追踪研究同时也揭示出工作流程中可进行改进的步骤,“操作员对一些位置的检查所花的时间过久… 因此表明这些位置可能有些障碍,后期可能需要把该区域进行简化。”

该公司现在制作了一段视频来展示最佳的操作实践方法并计划将这些信息由于将来的操作基准的比较。

类似此案例的眼动追踪研究可以带来效率、生产力的提升以及缩短员工的培训时间。该公司强调此研究的目的是为了提升质量保证,因此这些研究结果还将将有助于节约成本。其他许多业务领域都已能够通过眼动追踪节省新员工的培训成本并找出由于低效实践带来的产能损失。

“和其他方法不同,这种眼动追踪研究使我们能够准确地看到操作员的察位置。由于这种有效的洞察,我们现在已经可以针对我们的操作过程和培训方案做出改进。”

Business IT Consultant, An American Pharmaceutical Company

Reducing mix-ups on a pharmaceutical packaging line

One mistake, we cannot afford that” said by a Business IT Consultant for one of the largest pharmaceutical companies in the world which processes thousands of drugs destined for more than 140 countries a year. While they relate in this case to the business of delivering vital medications and vaccines, this sentiment would be a familiar one to thousands of other industries, which have a business built on reputation and reliability.

The company, whose identity is confidential, wanted to examine its already strict checking procedures, so they commissioned our research services team Tobii Pro Insight to conduct an eye tracking study on one of their packaging lines. It was looking at line clearance procedures, specifically at how operators examine “hot-zones” – areas of the packaging line that are prone to trapping a drug which may end up in another batch if undetected.

Pharmaceutical Packaging Line Clearance

Six operators wore Tobii Pro’s eye tracking glasses for 15-30 minutes and performed routine tasks, their gaze data from the built-in HD scene camera was then analyzed to give a clear picture of exactly where their attention was focused. The company has previously used video recordings to study workplace practices, but says eye tracking provided the unique advantage of being able to identify exactly where in the scene operators were looking. “It was quite interesting that what we’ve designated as hot-zones in our process, some operators were not even looking at,” said the company’s Business IT Consultant. This information allowed the company to make immediate changes to workplace practices, “We have installed RFID tags which the operators have to scan so they know for sure they have checked all the hot-zones and no material can mix-up in the next batch.”

The eye tracking study also revealed where steps could be taken to improve workflow, “Some locations it took the operator much longer to inspect… so that also indicates hey maybe something is up there, maybe we need to further simplify that area.”
The company has now created a video to illustrate best work practices and plans to use the information for a baseline comparison of operations in the future.

Eye tracking studies such as this one have the ability to deliver increased efficiency, productivity and reduced staff training time, and while the company stresses this study was purely focused on quality assurance, this information also has the potential to save money. Many other businesses have been able to find considerable savings in onboarding expenses and lost productivity due to inefficient practices.

“Unlike other methods, this eye tracking study allowed us to see exactly what the operator was looking at. We’ve been able to make improvements to our processes and training protocol because of this insight.”

Business IT Consultant, An American Pharmaceutical Company