Sharing screen-based  eye tracking research stories 

Online meeting Screen Based Eye Trackers

We’re teaming up with some of our academic users as well as our partner, Brain Products, to host a virtual meeting where best practices, eye tracking solutions, concrete findings, and use-cases will all be presented. Network with our speakers and other attendees, join Q&A sessions, and talk with our in-house experts from Tobii Pro. Whether you’re using screen-based solutions already or want to learn more, be sure to join us for the event.

Quand

Online

Combien

Free

Sign up now to attend

Agenda

8:00am EST/14:00 CET
Welcome
8:10am EST/14:10 CET
Nora Winkler, Tobii Pro
8:25am EST/14:25 CET
Dr. Leen Catrysse, Open Universiteit
8:45am EST/14:45 CET
Dr. Pascal Klein/Larissa Hahn, Georg-August University of Göttingen
9:05am EST/15:05 CET
Session Q&A (panel)
9:20am EST/15:20 CET
Networking break
9:30am EST/15:30 CET
Dr. Ubaldo Cuesta Cambra, Complutense University
9:50am EST/15:50 CET
Dr. Joanna Lahey, Texas A&M University

 

10:10am EST/16:10 CET
Session Q&A (panel)
10:25am EST/16:25 CET
Networking break
10:35am EST/16:35 CET
Dr. Marisa Biondi, Tobii Pro
10:45am EST/16:45 CET
Dr. Michael Wahl/Lea Wiehe, Humboldt University of Berlin
11:05am EST/17:05 CET
Dr. Julie Thompson, Texas A&M University
11:25am EST/17:25 CET
Session Q&A (panel)
11:40am EST/17:40 CET
Carsten Gondorf, Tobii Pro
12:00pm EST/18:00 CET
Michael Hoppstädter, Brain Products

Speakers & Presentations

Tobii Pro: 10 years, 20 years and then…

Speaker: Nora Winkler, Tobii Pro

Time: 8:00am EST/14:00 CET
Presentation:

We take you on a short journey to the past and back again to today, to get to know Tobii Pro, a bit better. Learn more about how our offering connects with your research and what keeps our engines running when developing our screen based eye tracker portfolio.

Eye read, therefore eye …?

Speaker: Dr. Leen Catrysse, Open Universiteit, the Netherlands

Time: 8:25am EST/14:25 CET
Presentation:

Eye-tracking can inform us of differences in reading processes, but can they also be related to task-specific processing strategies being used? In this talk, I will give an overview on how eye tracking can be used in order to examine students’ task-specific processing strategies in relation to learning from verbal material (i.e., words, paragraphs and texts).

Screen-based eye tracking to evaluate teaching and learning of physics

Speakers: Dr. Pascal Klein and Larissa Hahn, Georg-August-University Göttingen, Germany

Time: 8:45am EST/14:45 CET
Presentation:

Physics is considered a difficult subject to teach and study. Investigating student learning and assessing the quality of teaching materials is therefore of particular importance. Screen-based eye tracking offers countless opportunities to support this aim. In our talk, we will show some examples of how we use remote eye tracking in physics education research, not at least to "may perceive whatever holds the world together in its inmost folds".

Eye tracking and packaging neuro-design

Speaker: Dr. Ubaldo Cuesta Cambra, Complutense University in Madrid, Spain

Time: 9:30am EST/15:30 CET
Presentation:

The Spanish company Campofrío was launching a new product, and they had different packages proposed for the advertising agency. We used eye tracking, facial expression, GSR, and a pickup test to analyze the packages. From this analysis we gave the shopper marketing director of the company insights as to what packaging had the best design.

Does eye tracking have an effect on economic behavior?

Speaker: Dr. Joanna N. Lahey, Texas A&M University, USA

Time: 9:50am EST/15:50 CET
Presentation:

A common concern is that use of eye tracking means that research participants know they are being watched and thus modify their behavior. We studied eight popular experimental economics games that had varying levels of social desirability bias (SBD) and found no difference between eye tracking and non-eye tracking conditions based on SBD. Only the risk aversion games showed evidence of differences between eye tracking and non-eye tracking conditions which were driven by outliers with multiple calibration failures; once poor-quality eye tracking data was removed, this difference disappeared.

Tobii Pro Funding Support Service


Speaker:
Dr. Marisa Biondi, Funding and Support Manager, Tobii Pro

Time: 10:35am EST/16:35 CET
Presentation:

Dr. Biondi shares tips and tricks to help you gain funding including the specific eye tracking terminology to incorporate into your proposals. We’ll also cover some key components to consider for your grant and discuss our complimentary Funding Support Services that are available to you.

Using eye tracking to investigate children with and without reading disorder during reading acquisition

Speakers: Dr. Michael Wahl and Lea Wiehe, Humboldt Universitaet in Berlin, Germany

Time: 10:45am EST/ 16:45 CET
Presentation:

Reading acquisition is a challenging task for learners. Impairments in reading can occur in the process. Eye tracking is an ideal method to study children with and without reading disorders during reading acquisition, as it provides insight into cognitive processing mechanisms. In the talk, a longitudinal study on reading acquisition and eye movements will be presented.

Early experiences in eye tracking research for children with autism

Speaker: Dr. Julie L. Thompson, Texas A&M University, USA


Time: 11:05am EST/17:05 CET
Presentation:

Study for children with autism. Based on our observations, we developed a controlled experiment to examine children with autism's responding to different types of electronic storybook presentations. In this brief talk I will share videos and data of the exploratory and experimental investigations and discuss ways I hope to improve our process in the future.

Using Tobii Pro Lab for your screen-based reading eye tracking study


Speaker: Carsten Gondorf, Global Product Manager, Tobii Pro Lab

Time: 11:40am EST/17:40 CET
Presentation:

This presentation is a walk-through of Tobii Pro Lab and its newly released set of features for conducting text-based eye tracking research. You will learn about all the steps you need to take to conduct a screen-based eye tracking study, from test design and recording, to analysis and data export.

Eye tracking and EEG: An easy guide to integrating your multi-modal data

Speaker: Michael Hoppstädter, Brain Products

Time: 12:00pm EST/18:00 CET
Presentation:

The session is dedicated to the fusion of eye tracking and EEG using Brain Vision Analyzer 2 by Brain Products. We will demonstrate how you can combine your eye tracking data with your EEG processing pipeline using the ‘Add Channels’ module. This allows you to add gaze data as additional channels or area-of-interest measures as markers to your simultaneously recorded EEG data. Finally, we will show how to make use of eye tracking features to enrich your ERP.