来自卡拉瓦乔的启示:眼动追踪研究对艺术家意图的揭示

米开朗基罗·梅里西·达·卡拉瓦乔是17世纪最有影响力的画家之一,他的作品以戏剧性的灯光效果而著称。卡拉瓦乔活跃于光学研究盛行的年代,艺术家的作品通常都是在特定的场所创作并展示的。来自意大利Scienza Nuova的研究人员使用眼动追踪来验证这样一个假设,即卡拉瓦乔能够了解我们观看图像的方式并且在他创作时考虑到了环境对观看者视觉体验的影响。本研究揭示出,如果将作品从原来的创作环境换到另一个不同环境来展示,欣赏者的体验将会降低。这些结论能够帮助改进画作在展馆中的展示效果并引导访客观察画作中的各种元素以获得最佳的欣赏体验。

使用眼动追踪考察游客对卡拉瓦乔作品的观察模式

研究工具与方法

本研究使用了Tobii Pro Glasses 2可穿戴式眼动仪来采集数据,让被试者能够以自然的视觉体验完成测试。这是首次在真实的展馆环境中开展对艺术作品的眼动追踪研究。Pro Glasses Analyzer软件使研究团队方便地将视觉扫描路径叠加到相应的刺激材料上。

实验分两次进行,分别采集被试者观察位于两个不同场所的卡拉瓦乔作品时的视觉注意数据。

第一次研究在那不勒斯的仁慈山教堂开展,此处保存着卡拉瓦乔画作“仁慈七行”及其原始创作环境,研究历时三天。

第二次研究在那不勒斯的迪蒙特博物馆开展。该博物馆正在展出卡拉瓦乔的另一幅画作“被鞭笞的基督”。

研究人员从教堂和博物馆的参观者中随机选择被试。为被试者校准后,他们可以戴着Pro Glasses 2眼动仪自由参观三分钟。

研究人员使用了以下眼动追踪统计指标对眼动数据进行了分析:扫视点数量,注视点数量,首次扫视时间,首次注视时间,兴趣区和访问次数。

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 wearable ye tracker used in a painting viewing study in Italy

研究结果

研究人员对第一次测试的被试者观察路径进行了考察。研究发现每名被试者都将其视觉注意放在了画作相同的区域。事实上,叠加的眼动数据使研究人员按注视点数量确定出五个被试者感兴趣的区域。这些数据均通过Pro Glasses Analyzer软件生成的热点图可视化呈现。

首次注视时间能够准确地反映出访问者观察画作每个部分的时间,此数据不仅展示了视线在画作的每个场景的停留,还体现了访问者开始理解的认知过程。

通过Pro Glasses Analyzer软件的注视轨迹图功能,研究人员能够判断出被试者们的视觉路径具有重复性,同时还发现了两种共性的视觉模式。

在第二次研究中,22名被试者并没有出现具有共性的视觉路径。事实上,研究人员发现了20种不同的视觉模式。为了对两种不同场景的视觉路径变率进行对比,研究人员定义了一项名为路径·变率的指数 (PVI) :

PVI = 有显著差异的路径数量/被试者数量。

当显著差异路径较少时,该指数趋近于0 (例如几名被试者使用相同的观察路径的变率较低),而显著差异路径的被试数量增加时该指数趋近于1(例如每名被试者使用一种不同的观察路径的变率较高)。第一个测试场所获得的PVI指数为0.35,第二个场景测得的PVI指数为0.90,比前者高出很多。

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 wearable ye tracker used in a painting viewing study in Italy

总结

越来越多的证据显示出卡拉瓦乔在创作绘画作品时考虑到了人们对图像的感受,而16世纪正是光学研究盛行的年代。因此他很可能利用这方面的知识来引导作品的构图,让这种技法在相隔几世纪后仍然能够有效地控制观看者的欣赏体验。

眼动追踪使研究人员能够通过考察游客对画作的视觉路径来验证此假设。第一次测试的场所是仁慈山教堂,卡拉瓦乔的作品“仁慈七行”就是在此创作的。来自40名游客的眼动数据显示出人们在观察这幅作品时的观察模式是存在共性的。

第二次测试是在迪蒙特博物馆,卡拉瓦乔的画作“被鞭笞的基督”在脱离了原始创作环境后,每个游客对画作的观察模式都是不同的。虽然多数访客对画作感兴趣的区域是相同的,但是观察顺序(视觉路径)都不相同。

研究背景

我们从很久以前就一直想弄清楚人类的大脑获取和处理外界图像的方式。认知心理学通过具身模拟解释了这样一种现象:建立一种对外界写实的能力与我们的视觉体验是相关的。对艺术作品的观察是一种非常复杂的行为,以至于认知学科不得不借助眼动追踪才能获得眼睛与大脑的行为信息。

本研究旨在确定能够引导观察者按画家的意图来欣赏作品的那些形式因素 (线条, 形状, 结构, 色调, 质地, 图案, 颜色和构图),并将米开朗基罗·梅里西·达·卡拉瓦乔的这种技法应用到其他视觉作品的展示中。这样做的目的是提升多个区域的图像展示效果,改进博物馆的参观体验并提高艺术作品的观赏性。

艺术作品和大脑之间的交互曾是诸多研究的焦点,但以提升访客体验为目的而开展这种交互过程的研究还是首次。

Driven by Caravaggio: eye tracking study reveals the artist’s intentions

Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio was one of the most influential painters in the 17th century, and he is especially well known for his dramatic lighting effects. Caravaggio was active at a time when optical studies were progressing and the works of artists were created to be displayed in a specific location. Researchers at Scienza Nuova in Italy used eye tracking to test the hypothesis that Caravaggio understood how we perceive images and that he, while creating his art, took into account how the environment would affect the viewer's visual experience. The study revealed that, by moving the art from its original environment, the intended viewer experience decreases. These results can help improve how art is displayed in museums and guide visitors how to view the elements of a painting for the best experience.

Using eye tracking to identify a visual pattern in Caravaggio’s paintings

Tools and methods

The wearable eye tracker, Tobii Pro Glasses 2, was used for the data collection in this study to facilitate a natural viewing experience for the participants. This is the first time eye tracking research has been conducted on art in its natural environment. The Pro Glasses Analyzer software allowed the team to easily overlap the visual scan path with the corresponding stimulus.

The experiment consisted of two parts, where attention data was collected from participants looking at Caravaggio's paintings in two different locations.

The initial study took place over three days at the church of Pio Monte della Misericordia in Naples. Caravaggio's painting, Sette Opere di Misericordia, is preserved in its original condition there.

The second phase of the research took place at the Capodimonte Museum in Naples. This is where another Caravaggio's painting, La Flagellazione di Cristo, is on exhibit.
The researchers randomly selected participants from the visitors to the church and museum. After individual calibration, they were allowed to naturally walk through the locations while wearing Pro Glasses 2 for three minutes.

The following eye tracking metrics were used for the analysis: number of gazes, number of fixations, time to first gaze, time to first fixation, areas of interest, and visit count.

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 wearable ye tracker used in a painting viewing study in Italy

Results

In the first phase, the visual pathway of the subjects was defined. It was discovered that each participant focused their attention on the same area of interest. In fact, the aggregated data allowed researchers to identify five areas of interest on the basis of the fixation count. These were visualized by the Pro Glasses Analyzer in a heatmap.

The time to first fixation, which corresponded to the precise moment when the visitor actively observed each portion of the painting, demonstrated not only when the gaze was resting on each of the scenes of the composition but also when the visitor started the cognitive process of understanding.

The Pro Glasses Analyzer's gazeplot visualizations confirmed that the visual pathway of the participants was repetitive, and two recurring visual patterns were found.

In the second phase of the study, it was not possible to find a common pathway among the 22 participants in the experiment. In fact, the researchers indentified 20 different patterns. To compare the variability of pathways in the two different scenes, a Pathway.Variability Index (PVI) was defined:

PVI = number of distinct pathways / number of subjects.

This PVI tends to be 0 when there are very few distinct pathways (i.e. low variability with several subjects using the same pathway), and it tends to be 1 when the number of distinct pathways increases with the number of the subjects (i.e. high variability with each subject performing a different pathway). A PVI of 0.35 was obtained in the first scenario, and 0.90 was the PVI in the second one - much higher than the previous case.

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 wearable ye tracker used in a painting viewing study in Italy

Conclusions

There is growing evidence that Caravaggio was aware of the phenomenon of the perception of images since optical studies were popular in the 16th century. It is possible that he used this knowledge to direct the construction of his paintings so that his methods still control how his work is consumed by viewers after several centuries have past.

Eye tracking allowed the researchers to validate this hypothesis by observing the visual pathway of the visitors to Pio Monte della Misericordia, where Caravaggio's painting, Sette Opere di Misericordia, is preserved in original condition. Data collected from a group of 40 visitors showed that people follow a consistent pattern when observing this work of art.

In contrast, there was no common pattern found among the visitors at the Capodimonte Museum for Caravaggio's painting, La Flagellazione di Cristo, which was on exhibit in different physical conditions from those originally intended when the work was created. Although the areas of interest were shared among most visitors, the order (visual pathway) was different for each of the participants.

Background

Since ancient times, we have wondered how the human brain acquires and processes images from the outside world. Cognitive psychology explains the phenomenon through embodied simulation: the ability to build a representation of the outside world to which our visual experiences are related. The act of viewing art is so complex that the cognitive disciplines have begun to use eye tracking to observe both ocular and brain behavior.

The goal of this study is to identify the formal elements (line, shape, form, tone, texture, pattern, color, and composition) that guide the viewer through the works of the painter in order to apply the techniques of Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio to other visual pieces. The intent is to increase the effectiveness of images in many fields, improve the museum experience, and increase the appreciation of artwork.

The interaction of art and the brain has been the focus of numerous studies, but this is the first time that the study of this process is being used to improve the guest-fulfillment experience.