Tobii Pro VR integration for eye tracking research in virtual environments

沉浸式VR研究

在VR世界中引入眼动追踪技术允许在完全受控的沉浸式环境下采集并记录视觉数据,以被试者的视角观察虚拟环境。

眼动追踪与VR结合的价值

通过将眼动追踪与 VR 相结合,您可以使研究环境完全受控并准确了解被试者每一刻的视觉注意信息。您可以按研究需要创建任何模拟环境,研究场景可方便、快速地重复利用,经济且高效。眼动追踪与 VR 的结合可通过基于视觉的自然交互,为创建沉浸度更高的研究场景带来了全新的可能性。那些由于在真实环境中可能对被试者带来痛苦或危险的研究课题现在都可以在模拟环境中再现。

眼动追踪也将使VR的体验得到提升。通过中央窝渲染技术和视线的自然交互能力,眼动追踪将给VR带来更高的卷入度和更加友好的体验。

应用领域

为了实现虚拟环境下的眼动追踪功能,必须具备三个要素:VR环境,支持眼动追踪功能的VR头显以及数据分析软件。

虚拟现实环境

Medical 3D environment

开展沉浸式VR研究过程的第一步是要创建一个虚拟研究环境。VR环境的设计和功能很大程度上取决于研究项目需求和预期要实现的目标。如果你已有Unity的场景或环境,我们的分析工具可以直接整合到您的虚拟环境中。您也可以联系我们的Tobii Pro Insight 研究服务团队,可帮您通过他们广泛的VR构建合作伙伴资源为您提供帮助,同时我们的研究团队也可为您执行完整的研究过程,直到最后的报告生成。

眼动追踪

眼动追踪是完全沉浸式研究的关键。为了获得客观、可靠的人类行为的洞察,你需要高质量的眼动追踪数据。为了将我们多年的眼动追踪知识进入到VR中,我们开发了Tobii Pro VR集成方案,该方案提供集成了120Hz眼动追踪模块的HTC Vive虚拟现实套装。通过硬件的无缝集成和非侵入式的数据采集方式,可在不干扰正常VR体验的前提下获得高质量的眼动追踪数据。

数据分析

具备了Tobii Pro的眼动追踪硬件和虚拟现实环境,最后一步就是数据的分析了。Tobii Pro VR Analytics 可对Tobii Pro VR眼动仪采集到的数据进行分析,提供被试者在沉浸式VR环境中的注意和行为模式的快速洞察。通过可按项目需求自定义的眼动追踪统计指标,交互行为的衡量以及自动生成的可视化结果等一系列工具,可以让你的研究结论的诠释更有力。

我们发表了一些与VR眼动追踪相关的博文,可能会为你进一步了解如何在VR环境中开展眼动研究带来帮助:

VR内容

360°内容

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 used in the operation room

沉浸式VR研究的第一步是创建虚拟环境。 VR环境设计和功能取决于你的研究类型和计划实现的研究目的。如果你正在计划的研究类型是通过浏览来考察视觉搜索策略,那么创建360度刺激物就够了。 360度图片和视频相对来说较容易创建且成本较低,但这种刺激物已经能够提供有效的视觉探索式体验环境。

三维建模内容

medical 3D

如果你要了解用户与刺激物之间的交互或在场景中的导航情况,那么3D环境就更合适一些。3D建模环境更加灵活并更加可控,因此你可以创建任意类型的研究场景及多种备选环境。如果你已有完成的Unity场景,我们的工具可集成到你现有的场景中。

您可以进一步阅读 创建最佳研究虚拟现实环境的5个技巧。如果您需要这方面的帮助,我们的Tobii Pro Insight团队可通过广泛的内容供应商资源为您提供分析目标评估以及虚拟环境创建方面的建议。

眼动追踪

眼动追踪是真正沉浸式研究和关键。为了获得客观、可靠的人类行为洞察,需要在研究中使用高质量的眼动追踪数据。我们已将多年的眼动追踪知识带到了VR环技术中——Tobii Pro VR眼动仪,一款令HTC Vive头戴模块能够以120Hz的采样率采集眼动数据的虚拟现实眼动仪。无缝集成,非侵入式数据采集,对VR体验和研究本身不会带来任何影响。

数据分析

VR和眼动追踪结合是一种能够拓展研究范围和和可能性的有力组合,但为了发挥它的最大价值,合理地对获得的数据进行分析是至关重要的。根据使用的刺激物类型,我们提供两种不同的分析工具。

360°内容的数据分析

如果使用的测试内容是360°图片或视频, Tobii Pro Lab VR 360 版将支持从实验设计到数据采集与分析的整个研究过程,包括眼动追踪核心统计指标和可视化结果的呈现。此工具也可与GSR传感器结合来获得被试者在观察刺激物时的情绪反馈信息。

三维建模内容的数据分析

如果使用Unity虚拟环境开展研究,可通过 Tobii Pro VR Analytics分析工具 来分析眼动和行为数据。此工具可提供被试个体在沉浸式VR环境中的视觉和行为模式分析功能。可输出眼动追踪统计指标,交互数据以及自动生成的可视化结果,令行为的诠释更易懂并能够按研究需要对可视化呈现进行自定义。对研究人员和商业用户来说,这可以让项目自始至终保持较高的执行效率。请参阅我们的博文了解更多相关信息:极具价值的VR Analytics数据分析工具。

产品与服务

开展高效、低成本的消费者研究

通过VR与眼动追踪的结合,消费者研究可在完全受控的虚拟环境中执行,无需将被试者带到实体商场或使用真实的产品材料。基本上,购物过程的各个阶段测试都可以在虚拟环境中完成。研究场景和刺激物的创建于重复利用非常方便,眼动追踪将记录被试者与这些素材交互的视觉数据。

这些消费者对品牌信息、包装和商场环境的客观、有力的洞察将帮助营销人员更好地考察消费者的行为以及影响购物行为的因素。

Tobii Pro VR Analytics for eye tracking studies in virtual 3D environments
Tobii Pro VR Analytics for eye tracking studies in virtual 3D environments

在实体产品生产前开展测试

现有产品和处于开发阶段的产品都可以在正式生产前在虚拟环境下进行测试,无需构建昂贵且耗时的产品模型。眼动追踪可采集视觉反馈并进行后续分析,为被试者对产品的感受提供有价值的洞察。

VR测试位置不受限制的特性使您能够让世界各地的被试者测试新产品的概念或培训,提供与可用性及体验问题相关的迅速、可执行的洞察。

”每当我们的客户为品牌信息传递或发布新产品投入成本开展研究时,他们非常希望在产品投入生产阶段前看到效果。为了确保产品能够达到预期效果,我们与Tobii Pro合作在VR环境中测试产品并对虚拟世界的视觉和感受体验进行了考察。”

Caroline Roth, Warpin´ Media

培训与效能的提升

在一些高风险行业中,如采矿或航空领域以及对安全性要求较高的行业,如外科医生或吊车操作员,为了确保生产安全与高效,从业人员具备的专业的技能需要始终被评估和强化。然而在现实环境中创建如此高压力的场景非常的困难,危险且成本较高。

在沉浸式VR环境中,这些危险的环境和情境可以被安全地重现,以此来考察工人对危险情形的应对方式以及压力下的操作决策。眼动追踪与VR结合将提供工人们的行为和态势感知的迅速且客观的洞察。两种先进技术的结合使其成为了一种完美的培训工具。

Tobii Pro VR Analytics for eye tracking studies in virtual 3D environments

在安全的环境中开展恐惧症和焦虑症的治疗

暴露疗法是治疗恐惧症的方法之一,这种方法是让被试者处于使其恐惧的目标或环境中。然而此类暴露疗法在真实环境中往往具有一定的危险性或难以得到重现。

通过VR技术可以创建任何虚拟的研究环境并确定被试者在特定视觉刺激环境中的体验方式和持续时间。眼动追踪将提供被试者对视觉刺激物触发的情感反馈的迅速、无偏见的洞见。根据这些洞见来创建相关的场景,从而开发更有效的治疗方式。

“在结合了眼动追踪和 VR 的心理学研究中,我能够准确地得知我的被试者在看哪里,以及他们对视觉刺激的情绪反应。”

William Hamilton, researcher and developer at Stockholm University

如果您对VR研究应用感兴趣,您在下方订阅我们关于VR的产品更新信息,有趣的新应用以及VR研究领域中的创新性应用案例。

应用领域

Tobii是VR眼动方案的世界领先者,具有领先的眼动追踪专利技术,其成熟的屏幕式和可穿戴式眼动追踪产品能够广泛兼容大多数人群,适应各种测试环境并具有任何其他眼动追踪设备无法比拟的高准确度与精确度。

Tobii Pro VR集成方案

Tobii Pro VR集成方案是对HTC Vive头戴模块的集成。将眼动追踪无缝地集成到头戴模块内,能够以120Hz的采样率采集绝大多数人群的视线数据而不影响VR体验。

进一步了解Pro VR集成方案。

Tobii Pro VR Integration based on HTC Vive HMD for behavioral research
A person sitting in front of a computer and working with Matlab software application.

Tobii Pro SDK

是一款用于开发Tobii眼动追踪在VR环境中的分析类应用免费开发工具。兼容多种平台,支持多种程序语言。进一步了解 Pro SDK.

Tobiii Pro Insight 研究服务

我们的Insight服务团队有着丰富的眼动研究经验,通过在虚拟世界中进行产品预测试和品牌信息传达有效性评估来帮助世界顶尖的公司更好地考察目标客户群体对其产品或服务的感受。

与眼动追踪研究服务不同,我们也可以通过广泛的VR建模合作伙伴来帮助您创建VR场景、360°全景图像和视频

我们可根据您的需求为您选择最佳的工具和方法来执行您的研究。Pro Insight研究服务可为您执行VR眼动研究项目。

Tobii Pro VR Analytics is used for consumer journey testing with eye tracking in VR environments

客户案例

眼动追踪与虚拟现实技术结合为市场研究带来变革与突破

Explorer Research使用VR眼动追踪进行消费者调研,例如人们是怎样与他们的产品交互的?那些包装元素受到了关注?以及更多相关问题。 了解更多

应用领域

市场研究与消费者调研

眼动追踪是一种能够客观衡量消费者对营销信息的注意和自发反馈的唯一工具。这些洞察力可帮助营销人员有效地设计传达要素来抓住消费者的眼球。 了解更多

技能传递

在人的效能研究领域中,眼动追踪经常被用来进行成功率研究,新手专家对比研究,高效培训方式的开发以及认知策略的评估等。 了解更多

心理学与神经科学研究

眼动追踪可用于心理学和神经科学的各个不同研究领域,研究眼动行为发生的原因和机制以及我们用眼睛采集信息的方式。 了解更多

Tobii Pro VR integration for eye tracking research in virtual environments

Virtual Reality

Eye tracking in VR reveals what is behind an individual's subconscious reactions and behaviors when interacting with objects and environments, all while leveraging the full control and flexibility of virtual worlds.

Why combine eye tracking with VR?

When working with eye tracking in VR, you are able to leverage the benefits of both technologies. VR allows you to create any type of simulated environment, where visual stimuli and scenarios can be quickly switched or easily repeated, while eye tracking gives you insights into where the participant's visual attention is at each moment of the experience and what visual elements trigger certain responses and behaviors.

Eye tracking can also enhance VR experiences. By enabling more natural interactions through gaze, eye tracking contributes to more immersive and user-friendly experiences in VR.

How to get started

To benefit from eye tracking technology in a virtual world, there are three components that need to be in place: VR content, an eye tracking-enabled VR headset, and analysis software.

How eye tracking in VR works

VR content

360-degree Content

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 used in the operation room

The first step in immersive VR research is creating a virtual world. VR environment design and functionality varies a lot depending on your project type and what you want to achieve. If you're planning a browsing study looking at visual strategies, it would be sufficient to create 360-degree content with your stimuli. 360-degree images and videos are relatively easy and inexpensive to create, yet still provide the sensation of being able to visually explore the situation.

3D Content

medical 3D

If you want to learn how users interact with your stimuli and navigate within your scenario, then 3D environments are more suitable. They allow more flexibility and control over the environment, which enables you to create any type of situation and alternatives. If you've already invested in Unity assets, our tools can be integrated into your existing environments.

Here are 5 tips on how to create the best virtual reality environment for your research. If you need assistance with this, our Tobii Pro Insight team is available to help you evaluate your analysis goals and create virtual environments through their wide network of content creators.

VR headsets with eye tracking

HTC Vive Pro Eye

Eye tracking delivers truly immersive research opportunities. To gain objective and reliable insights into human behavior you need to use high-quality eye tracking data in your analysis. The HTC VIVE Pro Eye with built-in Tobii eye tracking is now on the market combining precision eye tracking with world-class graphics, high-end audio, and optimized ergonomics. 

Data analysis

VR and eye tracking is a powerful combination which has greatly expanded the scope of research opportunities available; but to fully leverage its value it's crucial to properly analyze the data obtained. Depending on the type of stimuli you've selected, we provide two different analysis tools.

360 Content Analysis

If you work with 360-degree assets, Tobii Pro Lab VR 360 edition will support your entire research workflow from study design and data collection, to the comprehensive analysis of your data including essential eye tracking metrics and visualization outputs. It's also possible to use this software in conjunction with GSR sensors to get even more data on emotional responses to your stimuli

3D Content Analysis

If you work with Unity assets then Tobii Pro VR Analytics is the platform to use for analysis. It provides instant access to an individual's attention and behavioral patterns while they're immersed in a VR environment. Outputs include eye tracking metrics, interaction measures, and automated visualizations which are easy to understand and customized for your project needs. For researchers and commercial users this facilitates an efficient workflow from beginning to end. Read our blog post on Why you can't afford to ignore VR analytics, for more details.

Application areas

Understand the consumer journey

With eye tracking in VR, basically, every stage of the consumer journey can be tested in a more timely and cost-efficient manner compared to traditional physical study environments. Advertisers can now test their communication campaigns before they hit the market to make sure that the intended perception of their messages actually gets through to the shopper. In a virtual store, product packaging designs, product placements, and even store layouts can be easily evaluated and then further optimized. The instant eye tracking statistics and visualizations will show how consumer attention is distributed, how they interact with products, and how they navigate stores.

Tobii Pro VR Analytics with HTC Vive Pro Eye used in shopper research

”When our clients make an investment to communicate their brand message or launch a new product, they want to see the effect before the production stage. To ensure campaigns have the intended effect, we collaborate with Tobii Pro to test the content in VR and to conduct post-test measurements of the visual and emotional experience in the virtual world”

Caroline Roth, Warpin´ Media
Tobii Pro VR Analytics for eye tracking studies in virtual 3D environments

Cost-effectively test products before production

In virtual environments, existing products and designs, as well as new ones in the early development stages, can be tested without the need to build the actual expensive and time-consuming prototypes. Eye tracking will clearly reveal how people interact with products, navigate spaces, and perceive different design elements.

Designers and engineers can now have people all over the world testing a new concept, design, or a product, while receiving immediate and actionable insights into any usability or experience issues.

“Using eye tracking within a VR environment helps us to better understand how people navigate around a space, see what they actually look at, and how their attention is drawn to different design interventions we make. This is so much more powerful than relying on our own intuition about what does and doesn’t work.”

David Watts, Managing Director CCD Design & Ergonomics

Efficiently train staff in complex jobs

In complex work environments and safety-critical jobs, eye tracking in VR provides insight into how employees react under pressure and make operational decisions in simulated work scenarios or emergency situations.

Using immersive VR in industrial settings, companies can train employees in realistic, challenging scenarios and test different processes, discovering immediately how their teams cope with the tasks and interact with their work environment. In safety-critical fields, like surgery or piloting aircraft, assessing and developing professional skills is easier, less dangerous, and more cost efficient by avoiding recreating these high-pressure scenarios in a real-world environment.

Tobii Pro VR Analytics with HTC Vive Pro Eye used to train logistics operators at a warehouse

Study phobia and anxiety without risky exposure

One way to treat phobias or PTSD is by exposing the patient to an object or situation that they are afraid of. However, in many cases, this exposure can be quite dangerous, difficult to recreate, or impossible to control in the real world.

With VR, it is possible to create any research environment while controlling the manner and timing that the participant is exposed to a specific visual stimulus. Eye tracking enables gaze-controlled scenarios and provides you with unbiased, immediate insight into how your visual stimuli trigger certain emotional responses. With this knowledge, related virtual scenarios can be created and easily repeated for more effective treatment protocols.

“In my psychology research with eye tracking inside of VR, I know exactly what my study participants are looking at and what emotional responses are triggered by the visual stimuli.”

William Hamilton, researcher and developer at Stockholm University

Downloads

If you are interested in eye tracking in VR, sign up below to get the latest news about our VR offering, interesting new applications, and innovative use cases from the immersive research field.

Products and services

Tobii is a key player for eye tracking in VR with the world's strongest eye tracking (IP) patent portfolio, extensive both screen-based and wearable eye tracking experience, and a technology that is widely considered to work for more people, in more conditions, with better accuracy and precision than any other eye tracker.

Tobii Pro VR Analytics for eye tracking studies in VR

Tobii Pro VR Analytics

Tobii Pro VR Analytics is a software tool that enables eye tracking data collection and analysis in fully controlled VR environments. Easily integrated in your existing or new Unity asset, it provides objective and instants analytics on a range of human behaviors, including automated visualizations and analytics for interaction and gaze data.

Learn more about Pro VR Analytics.

Tobii Pro Lab VR 360

Tobii Pro Lab VR 360 is an edition of Tobii Pro Lab; a state-of-the-art software platform which enables eye tracking data collection from 360-degree videos and images. This edition supports the entire research workflow including study design, data collection, and analysis, while maintaining precise and consistent timing accuracy and data quality. It's also possible to combine GSR sensors to analyze the emotional experiences attached to your study stimuli.

Learn more about Pro Lab VR 360.

Tobii Pro Lab VR 360 software user interface
Tobii Pro VR Analytics is used for consumer journey testing with eye tracking in VR environments

Tobii Pro Insight

Our experienced Tobii Pro Insight team helps the world's top commercial brands better understand how their products and services can best engage with their audiences by running pre-production tests in virtual worlds in order to measure the effect of brand messaging.

Apart from the full-service eye tracking research, Pro Insight also offers VR content creation in 3D worlds, 36o° images, and video through their extensive network of content partners.

Depending on your needs, they will help you choose the appropriate tools and methods to perform your study. To make it easier to get started, Pro Insight can conduct your VR eye tracking study for you.

Customer Cases and Blog Articles

How the HTC VIVE Pro Eye helps shape the future of VR and eye tracking

What the advent of eye tracking in commercially available VR headsets means for business. Read more

Why you can’t afford to ignore VR analytics

The combination of eye tracking and VR can uncover the factors that drive human attention across an unlimited number of hypothetical scenarios. In this post we explore a few of them and how VR analytics will change the way we conduct studies today. Read more

Understanding autism with eye tracking

An Australian teen is developing games using VR and eye tracking to encourage a more inclusive world for people with autism. Read more

Virtual reality with eye tracking changes the landscape of market research and beyond

Explorer Research uses eye tracking in VR to address their customers’ most fundamental questions like, how do people interact with their products? What elements of the package attracts attention? And much more. Read more. Read more

Fields of Use

Marketing and Consumer Research

Eye tracking is a unique method to objectively measure consumers' attention and spontaneous responses to marketing messages. These insights help marketers to effectively design communication to catch the shopper's eye. Read more

Professional Performance

Eye tracking technology lets you see your business through the eyes of your employees, providing a better understanding of their work environment and human factors influencing their performance.   Read more

Psychology and Neuroscience

Eye tracking is used in different fields of psychology and neuroscience to understand how and why eye movements are made and how we gather information with our eyes. Read more