如何使用X Configuration Tool

了解X configuration tool的作用以及在使用Pro TX300, Pro X2-30, Pro X2-60 和 Pro X3-120眼动仪时需要如何设置。

Tobii X Configuration Tool

Tobii Pro X系列眼动仪,如Pro TX300, Pro X2-30, Pro X2-60 Pro X3-120可以适用于很多不同的场景搭建,不仅仅局限在连接普通显示器的测试。比如,测试对象是和实物相关或者需要连接电视机,手机等移动端设备或是投影仪等。对于这些基于现实场景的测试,用户必须提供测试对象和眼动仪之间的物理位置等变量参数,所有这些工作都需要在X configuration tool中完成。因此,当眼动仪未直接安装在显示器上时,必须测量出尽量精确的相对位置参数并填入到X configuration tool中以保证获取精确稳定的眼动数据。

X configuration tool的菜单可以通过自带安装的Tobii Eye Tracker Browser插件里面打开。

安装Eye Tracker Browser:

  1. 插入附带的USB闪存盘,运行将Tobii Eye Tracker Browser安装程序。将其安装到Windows计算机上。您也可以在网上下载: Tobii Eye Tracker Browser 。
  2. 按照屏幕安装提示一步步完成软件安装.

运行X Configuration Tool:

  1. 打开Tobii Eye Tracker Browser(开始菜单>Tobii> Tobii Eye Tracker Browser)。当打开Tobii Eye Tracker Browser的时候,会在列表里面显示出已经连接上的眼动仪设备名称及序列号。
  2. 在列表中选择您需要使用的眼动仪,点击Config Tool...按钮,将弹出X configuration tool对话框。

X configuration Tool的参数

在一些特殊的设置环境中,需要对眼动仪的位置参数进行测量定义,并输入到X configuration Tool窗口中。所有参数的测量都会以眼动仪硬件上的某个点作为基准点,但是这个基准点会根据不同硬件的设备而有所不同。可以参考用户手册获取更详细的信息关于如何色或者X configuration Tool。主要的参数如下:

Units — 选择衡量距离的单位: 英寸或厘米。

Active Display Size(有效刺激材料对象大小) — 显示器或刺激材料的尺寸必需添加到X Configuration Tool中。Active Display Size表示测试对象在实施校准时的有效区域。对于显示器,电视屏幕或其他屏显,此区域为屏幕上可以呈现图片的实际区域大小。如果是投影仪,此参数为投影出的画面实际尺寸。如果是需要配合外部摄像头进行的实物环境测试,此参数必须以校准平面的大小来计算。

Eye tracker angle (A) — 眼动仪倾斜角度,可以用数字角度仪进行测量,通常可以设置约25度。

Display angle (B) —  有效刺激材料对象与垂直平面的倾斜角度。在实物测试时,需要测量校准平面与垂直平面之间的角度。如果显示/刺激对象往被试方向倾斜,可以输入负值。如果显示/刺激对象刚好是垂直平面,此角度则为0。如果是实物测试环境,想要测试水平面上的刺激材料,此角度则为90。

Height difference (C) —  眼动仪测量基准点和测试对象的底部之间的高度差。如果测试对象底部比眼动仪还要低,需要输入负值。在数值前面加入“-”号。

Distance (D) —  眼动仪测量基准点与显示器或刺激材料的有效测试区域之间的距离。如果测试对象在眼动仪前面,则需要输入负值。

Use Side Offset — 如果眼动仪不是刚好放置在显示器/刺激材料的同一水平坐标上,则需要输入偏移的距离。测量测试对象中心位置与眼动仪中心位置的偏移距离。如果眼动仪在测试对象左侧偏移,则需要输入负值。

Use Rotation — 如果眼动仪与测试对象的位置不是平行放置则需要测量两者之间的角度。如果角度之间是顺时针旋转方向,则需要输入负值。

Save to Eye Tracker — 一旦输入完所有需要测量的参数,比较点击‘Save“按钮进行保存,以告知眼动仪相关位置参数。眼动仪获取参数后即可自动调整配置位置。如果任何参数有更改,需要重新点击保存。

Save to File — 可以将测量后的参数点击”Save to File”保存成某一文件,格式为.xcfg。之前如果需要重新使用这些参数,可以直接到文件中导入调用而无需重新测量。

请根据不同型号的眼动仪进行查阅相关的用户手册,以获取更详尽的X Config Tool使用方法。

相关文章

Using the X configuration tool

Tobii Pro X2-30 Tobii Pro X2-60 Tobii Pro X3-120

Learn what the X configuration tool is and in which setups it is required when using the Tobii Pro TX300, Pro X2-30, Pro X2-60 and Pro X3-120 eye trackers.

Tobii X Configuration Tool

A Tobii Pro X-series eye tracker such as the Pro TX300, Pro X2-30, Pro X2-60, Pro X3-120 can be used in many different setups, not just attached to a computer monitor which is the most common situation. For example, it can be used to perform eye tracking relative to a physical scene, a TV screen, mobile device stand, or a projection screen. For all this to work, the user must provide some information to the eye tracker about the physical setup and various parameters. This is done using the X Configuration tool. When using the eye tracker without being mounted on a standard laptop screen or monitor, you must specify all the positioning parameters in the X Configuration Tool as accurately as possible to maintain good eye tracking data quality.

The X Configuration Tool can be accessed via the Tobii Eye Tracker Browser software which is installed together with Tobii Pro Studio.

To install the Eye Tracker Browser:

  1. Plug in the USB memory stick provided with your eye tracker and run the Tobii Eye Tracker Browser installer on your Windows computer. Alternatively download the Tobii Eye Tracker Browser from the web.
  2. Follow the on-screen instructional steps to complete the installation.

To access the X Configuration Tool:

  1. Open the Eye Tracker Browser (Start > Programs > Tobii > Tobii Eye Tracker Browser). When the Eye Tracker Browser opens, a list of the discovered eye trackers is displayed.
  2. Select your Tobii Pro eye tracker from the list and click the Config Tool... button. The X Configuration Tool opens.

The X Configuration Tool parameters

The X Configuration Tool has a number of parameters that must be defined for the eye tracker to operate correctly when used in special setups. All parameters are measured in relation to a reference point on the eye tracker hardware. The reference point varies depending on which eye tracker model you are using. Please see the User's Manual for your eye tracker for details or the illustration in the X Configuration Tool on your computer. The X Configuration Tool has the following parameters:

Units — Select the unit you want to use for measuring the distances: inches or centimeters.

Active Display Size — The correct display or stimuli size must always be added in the X Configuration Tool. The Active Display Area is represented by the area on which the calibration is performed. For monitors, TV screens and other displays, measure the size of the visible active area on the screen where you can see the actual image. For projected displays, measure the size of the visible projection on the display. In a setup where the stimuli are filmed by a scene camera, the active display area must be calculated based on the calibration grid size used.

Eye tracker angle (A) — Use a digital angle gauge or similar tool to measure the agle of the eye tracker. In many setups the angle is commonly around 25 degrees.

Display angle (B) —  Measure the angle between the vertical plane and the active display using the digital angle meter. In a scene camera setup measure the angle between the vertical plane and the calibration grid. If the display is tilted forward you should enter a negative angle (use “-” in front of the value). If the active display is completely vertical the angle value is 0. In a scene camera setup where you want to track objects on a  horizontal table the angle would be 90 degrees.

Height difference (C) —  Measure the height difference between the measuring point on the eye tracker and the bottom of the active display area. If the active display is located below the measuring point on the eye tracker (for example, in a projector setup) the value will be negative. Enter the value in the X Configuration Tool with a “-” in front to signify it as a negative value.

Distance (D) —  Measure the distance from the measuring point on the eye tracker to the front of the active display on the monitor, projection screen, or TV screen, or in a scene camera setup to the virtual screen. If the measuring point on the eye tracker is located behind the active display, enter a negative distance (use “-” in front of the value).

Use Side Offset — If the Eye Tracker is not placed right in front of the screen with the axis horizontally aligned, enter the side offset value, measured from the center of the active display to the center of the eye tracker. Enter a negative value if the eye tracker is located to the left of the center as seen from the front.

Use Rotation — If the eye tracker is not placed parallel with the display or tracked object enter the value of the angle between the back of the eye tracker and the active display. If the eye tracker is rotated clockwise, enter a negative value.

Save to Eye Tracker — Once you have entered all the needed parameters corresponding to your setup, you must click Save to Eye Tracker in order to start using this configuration. The parameters will then be sent to the eye tracker and the eye tracker will immediately be properly configured. When you change any parameter value in the tool, the button must be pressed again for the eye tracker to get the new settings.

Save to File — You also have the option of saving the configuration as an .xcfg file locally on your computer by clicking the Save to File... button and setting the name and location of the file. Click Load from File... to load a previously saved .xcfg configuration file. This is useful if you want to save a particular configuration of a setup to be able to reuse it at a later point in time or from another computer.

Please see the User's Manual for your eye tracker model for more detailed information about how to use and configure the eye tracker in various situations by using th Tobii X Config Tool.

Related Articles