如何解读眼动数据

本文分享了一些关于如何解读眼动实验数据的小贴士。

当您完成数据的分析,发现了一些有意思的结果时,你一定在想如何才能将这些结果以一种清晰而有说服力的方式呈现出来。在过去研究人员只是简单地展示出眼动量化指标的表格、注视点轨迹以及热点图,但是阅读研究报告的人对报告的要求越来越复杂、越来越高。因此,眼动研究报告也需要进一步提升。

在此分享几点我们Tobii专业分析团队在服务客户的过程中总结出的经验:

  • 在写报告前梳理故事线。 人人都喜欢听故事,尤其是当人们需要了解完成一个任务的过程中,为什么视觉注意对实现他们的目标那么重要。您可以在报告中假设有一个人,然后结合眼动数据阐释他们的决策路径是怎么样的,而这些决策点自然就可以成为解释洞见的故事主线了。

“Marcia的妈妈经常使用BrandX的洗涤用品。Marcia刚刚成为一位妈妈,她上次去便利店的经历就令她有些头疼。她应该买她妈妈常用的品牌吗?或者她介意尝试下BrandY,据说这产品运用了惊人的去污新科技?是什么在左右其决策?接下来我们就来看下和Marcia类似的消费者在商店选择洗涤用品会遇到哪些挑战吧。”

  • 结合其他数据源一起解读眼动研究的结果。 被试者通常会被要求在特定的环境下如何完成一个任务或实现他们的目的,这时候他们的整个体验过程是完整的。他们也许没有意识到正在被多种不同的工具或技术记录着他们的行为。所以我们可以完全利用这些自然的、能相辅相成的多源数据价值,完成一份富有洞见的报告。

“在视线轨迹中,我们看到用户在“加入购物车”的按钮上来回跳跃,这说明这个按钮不能很好地引导客户行动。我们通过其皮电测试数据显示,在其放弃购买、离开页面前12秒内,上升的皮电数据也显示出他们不断感到非常沮丧

  • 直接亮出消费者之声。例如,一位用户直接反馈,一个页面上有那么多数据表,让其感觉到非常恐怖。

“除了眼动量化指标,我们还用可用性的打分体系对网站进行了评估。发现这两者的数据是相当一致的,都反映出目前的设计很难帮助客户找到结算功能。一位被试者说,我很仔细地找了,但还是没有找到,所以最后放弃了。除非下次有人付费给我,否则很难想象我会再使用这个网站。”

  • 合理运用图表和数据的可视化呈现。在正确的时候,使用正确的图表,来表达正确地观点。例如,来展示注视聚焦和分布情况,可以使用热点图;但如果现实注视的路径以及顺序,使用注视轨迹图就更加合适。

最后请牢记,报告的阅读者很可能并不是眼动研究的专家。对于研究人员,选择合适的方法和解读研究发现既是种科学也是种艺术。对于阅读者,他们会在报告的字里行间寻找需要的信息价值。如何从实验中挖掘有意义的发现、解释其背后的意义以及给出下一步的行动建议,比成功执行实验更加重要。

相关文章

Writing up and presenting eye tracking results - commercial reports

Consumer insights Human–computer interaction User Experience

Get a few tips on how to write up and present the findings from your eye tracking study.

After you’ve completed the analysis of data and uncovered key insights and findings, the next challenge is reporting your work in a clear and persuasive manner. While eye tracking researchers have, in the past, approached this step by showing tables of eye tracking metrics and the obligatory gaze plots and heat maps, audiences have become more sophisticated and demanding. As such, nature of eye tracking reporting has also advanced.

Here are some key points that Tobii Pro has learned from working with our eye tracking customers and research consulting clients.

  • Frame the work in a compelling narrative. Everybody loves a good story, especially people who need to understand why aspects of visual attention during a task is important to their goals. Establish that there is a person behind each pair of eyes and use their journey as the backbone upon which to contextualize your insights.

“Marcia’s mother always used Brand X detergent. As a new mother and the primary shopper in her household, her last trip to the grocery store was bewildering. Should she buy what her mother   used to buy? Or should she try out Brand Y with amazing stain dispersing technology? What guides her decision making? Here’s the story of how Marcia and shoppers like her deal with the challenges of navigating the detergent category.”

  • Present eye tracking findings together with findings from other techniques. The participant’s experience is holistic in that they’re often asked to just do what they typically would do in a given situation. They may not be cognizant of the fact that they are being subjected to multiple, diverse tools and techniques. Accordingly, effectively communicating the coherence and supportive value of these data streams is a key to masterful reporting. It also makes a good finding an undeniable insight.

“In this gaze plot, we see the user scanning back and forth looking for the “add to cart” button, which unfortunately doesn’t clearly announce itself as a call to action. An increase in galvanic skin     conductance over the same 12 seconds prior to abandonment suggest increasing frustration until they just give up and leave.”

  • Present the voice of the user. One user saying how terrible a particular page or package is worth a dozen data tables.

“While the system usability scale data and eye tracking metrics for the current website were consistent in characterizing the difficulty in finding out where to proceed to checkout with the existing design, user “Joe X.” said it best: “I tried and tried but in the end I just got fed up and left. I wouldn’t use this site if you paid me.””

  • Use graphics, images, and data visualizations effectively. Use the right graphic, at the right time, to make the right point. For example, to show accumulation and distribution of looking, one could use heat maps. To show sequence or order of looking, it’s better to use gaze plots.

As always, keep in mind that, more than likely, your audience will not be eye tracking experts. For researchers, there is beauty in the method and art in the interpretation. For the audience and stakeholder, the message is the value. Being able to communicate the meaning, implications, and actions stemming from the work is no less important part of the research process than running the actual study.

Related Articles