如何诠释热点图与注视轨迹图

本文介绍了热点图和注视轨迹图的定义以及如何在包装和网页可用性研究中使用这些可视化工具的技巧。

热点图和注视轨迹图是一种能够直观、有效展示出视觉行为特点的数据可视化形式。这些可视化结论很容易创建,但能否有效、合理地使用这些结论就需要考虑到眼动追踪研究的目的以及是否能够清楚诠释这些结论。

注视轨迹图(Gaze plots)

注视轨迹图显示出被试者在刺激材料(网页、平面广告或视频)上的视线位置, 顺序 和对某个区域的观察时间 。因此注视轨迹图的主要特征是揭示观察的时间顺序或观察位置以及观察某位置的的时间。观察时间通常被表示为注视点持续时间,在注视轨迹图上以不同直径的圆点来表示。观察时间越久,圆点就越大。

这里展示一个例子,这是一名被试者在观察Pepperidge Farms Goldfish饼干盒的注视轨迹图。中心带有数字“1”的注视点表示被试者第一眼看到这张图片时的视线位置。2-10号注视点表示出接下来的9次观察行为的顺序。但这张可视化结果能说明什么呢?我们怎样在报告中来诠释它呢?请参考以下可视化结果的诠释技巧:如何在一个假想的包装研究中诠释关键的研究发现。

 

Tobii Studio gazeplot
Tobii Studio gazeplot

注视轨迹图的诠释技巧

“这张注视轨迹图描绘出一种能够较快地注意到品牌LOGO的被试者的观察模式。他们的观察顺序通常是LOGO,产品名称和图案。这些被试者的首次观察时间很长,表明这些元素的相关性很强。这个结论已通过对这些关键元素的无辅助回忆度测试验证 。与那些优先观察包装尺寸和净含量的被试者相对比,这些倾向于观察产品信息元素的被试者表现出更高的积极性和购买意图。结合这些因素来考虑,这些数据表明突出体现LOGO和品牌元素能够是消费者优先考虑并最终选择购买。”

虽然注视轨迹图很有用,但其也有局限性。这种可视化形式可以有效地呈现一至两名被试者的结论 ,但当被试者数量增加时,结果就会比较凌乱。下一张图片展示出叠加了30名被试者的Goldfish包装图片。在处理多个被试者的注视轨迹图时,可将其导出为动态的视频,这样就可以在用户体验研究中揭示出多数或所有被试者的观察模式,而这些通常可以作为衡量表现力的参考指标,如任务完成率或完成任务所需的时间。

热点图(Heatmap)

热点图可展示出被试者在刺激材料上的视线分布情况。与注视轨迹图相比,热点图未提供观察顺序的信息和单个注视点的详细信息。但热点图能够高效地同时展示出多个甚至上百名被试者的视觉关注重点区域。

热点图长期以来都被作为眼动追踪的代表性结果被广泛使用甚至滥用,这种形式的可视化结果其实在眼动追踪研究中不应被作为最重要的数据呈现形式。如果不能正确地创建和诠释热点图,那么它就会带来适得其反的作用。

选择正确的热点图构建方式是关键的第一步。要想做到正确,首先要考虑研究的目的以及要通过可视化形式展现的要点。

举例: 某研究的目的是考察变更产品描述的形式来提升其传达效果,以此来改善电商网页中对下单的反馈率。

由于重新设计后的内容包含了影响认知过程的元素, 因此fixation duration 就是比较合适的眼动追踪衡量指标。这种情况下,我们可以对现有和改良后的设计方案创建基于时间的热点图来加以对比。

Tobii Studio heatmap

诠释热点图的技巧

“这两幅热点图展示了被试者们对现有的产品订购页面与改良后的页面的视觉浏览行为。热点图是基于注视点的绝对注视时间长度来创建的,最大值设置为2.2秒,也就是深红色的区域。改良版设计方案热点图的热点区域有所减少且分布面积增加说明了认知负荷的减少、可被理解程度的提升和信息穿透力的增加。

更高的可理解性和更低的迷惑率能够有效地支撑这个这个结论。此外,改良版设计的瞳孔直径有着显著的缩小,并且在面部表情事件中没有与受挫相关的数据,而在现有版本中,这个比率是66% 。综上所述,这些基于多种数据源得到的结论能够让我们确认改良版设计方案能够提升内容的可理解程度以并增加订阅服务的点击率。”

相关文章

Working with Heat Maps and Gaze Plots

Heat map Eye tracking

Learn what gaze plots and heat maps are and get a few presentation tips for how to use them to present the results in a packaging and web study.

Heat maps and gaze plots are data visualizations that can communicate important aspects of visual behavior clearly and with great power. And while they are easily generated by simply clicking on a tab, their proper and effective use requires an understanding of the goals of the eye tracking research as well as clarity regarding the finding one wishes to communicate.

Gaze plots

Gaze plots show the locationorder, and time spent looking at locations on the stimulus, whether web page, print advertisement, or video. So the primary function of the gaze plot is to reveal the time sequence of looking or where we look and when we look there. Time spent looking, most commonly expressed as fixation duration, is shown by the diameter of the fixation circles. The longer the look, the larger the circle.

Here’s an example of a gaze plot for a single eye tracking participant looking at a Pepperidge Farms Goldfish crackers box. The fixation circle with the number “1” at the center identifies the first look on this image. Subsequent fixations numbered 2-10 trace the location and order of the next 9 looks. But what exactly does this visualization show? How could we talk about it in a report or presentation?  See the following Presentation Tip below for an example of how a key finding could be communicated in the context of a hypothetical packaging study.

 

Tobii Studio gazeplot
Tobii Studio gazeplot

Presentation Tip

“This gaze plot depicts a looking pattern representative of viewers who noticed the brand logo early. They generally viewed the logo, product name, and primary graphic in that order. This group also had significantly longer first fixations suggesting heightened engagement and relevance. This finding was triangulated by higher unaided recall of these key elements. Viewers also reported higher levels of positivity and intent to purchase as compared to those who looked preferentially to package size and serving details instead of messaging elements. Taken together, these data suggest that heightening the visibility and visual salience of the logo and branding elements would result in an increase in consideration and, consequently, sales.”

As useful as gaze plots can be, they have their limitations. They are most impactful as static visualizations when only one or two participants’ data are shown as the display can become cluttered with more than a few overlaying the product image. See the next image for an example of what 30 individual gaze paths on the Goldfish package looks like. The exception to this guideline is when an animated gaze plot is exported as a video. In this case, including many or all participants can reveal different viewing patterns that could be predictive of performance outcomes such as task completion rate or time to complete, in user experience studies.

 

Heat maps

Heat maps show how looking is distributed over the stimulus. In contrast to the gaze plot, there is no information about the order of looking in a static heat map. Neither is the focus on individual fixations. Rather, heat maps are a visualization that can effectively reveal the focus of visual attention for dozens or even hundreds of participants at a time.

Heat maps have long been the poster child of eye tracking. Broadly used and equally as misused, this visualization is seldom the most meaningful output from an eye tracking study. And if improperly constructed and interpreted, heat maps can do more to distract and mislead than inform decision making.

Choosing the right basis for constructing a heat map is the critical first step. And to do it right, one must have in mind the study objective and the point to be made with the visualization.

Example: The study involves changing product description copy to increase understanding to improve rate of response to the call to action on a web page.

Since the redesign involves a manipulation intended to affect a cognitive process, namely effort, fixation duration is the appropriate eye tracking measure. In this case, we would create duration-based heat maps for the current and proposed designs showing visibly reduced heat in the redesign.

Tobii Studio heatmap

Presentation Tip

“These two heat maps show looking behavior to the page with current and proposed product description copy. They were generated on the basis of absolute fixation durations and both heat maps are scaled to 2.2 seconds maximum corresponding to deep red. The reduced and more broadly distributed heat over the proposed copy suggests reduced cognitive load, increased understandability, and deeper penetration into the copy.

This finding was bolstered by higher intelligibility scale ratings and lower confusion ratings. Furthermore, pupil dilation was significantly reduced for proposed and there were no facial codes for frustration, as opposed to 66% incidence on the current. Together, these findings allow us to state with confidence based on multiple data streams that the proposed copy achieves the objective of increasing understandability and intelligibility with the associated effect of increasing click through to registration for our service.”

Related Articles