如何使用事件编码功能

学习如何使用Tobii Pro Studio和 Tobii Pro Glasses Analyzer进行行为和事件的编码。

Tobii Studio screenshot

Tobii Pro Studio软件

Tobii Pro Studio和Tobii Pro Glasses Analyzer软件的手动编码功能为研究人员提供了默认功能无法提供的灵活的行为分析能力。手动编码也可以大幅缩短对变化较大的场景(Tobii Glasses或Pro Glasses 2眼动仪采集到的记录)的眼动数据处理时间。

使用Pro Studio软件,你可以方便地生成12基于注视点的眼动统计指标,但对于诸如被试者观察观察目标B后直接观察目标A或用手指出某个包装这一类行为却无法自动统计。但如果用Coding

Scheme工具就可以很容易对此类行为进行统计。当Tobii Glasses 眼动仪配合IR标记器使用时,多个被试者对指定的货架、展板或目标的眼动数据都可以方便、快速地自动叠加,但如果你仅用Tobii Glasses或Pro Glasses 2眼动仪来进行一项自由移动的探索任务,你可能就无法提前得知被试者会看到哪些目标。创建动态兴趣区可能是一种分析方法,但通常情况下,动态兴趣区的创建和调整非常耗时。而手动编码工具在这些情况下则是最省时且高效的分析工具。

Studio(Glasses)的编码工具在Tools菜单中,Glasses Analyzer (Glasses 2)的编码工具在Event Types工具中。点击这些编码工具将弹出相应的设置对话框。在此您可以设置事件名称,分配组合键或快捷键,选择是否在编码时添加注释以及为该事件在时间轴上的标记选择相应的颜色。以下截图展示了设置的几个不同的事件。

Tobii Studio screenshot

Tobii Glasses Analyzer软件的编码工具

现在我们已经创建了一组感兴趣的事件,接下来我们对数据进行一些操作。进入Data Export界面并选择将数据导出为TSV格式的文本文件或XLSX格式的Excel文件。选择要导出的数据类型并确保已选择了时间戳 (RecordingTimestamp is recommended)和事件:

StudioEventIndex, StudioEvent和StudioEventData (Glasses Analysis 软件中可仅选择Event)。此图展示了一个模拟Glasses记录导出后的结果文件。

Tobii Studio screenshot

我们可以看到在记录的第 2,234 毫秒处,被试者在看到目标“B”之后看到了目标“A”。对上方展板的观察时间为3.8秒。被试者在第6.482秒开始看视频然后在第17.356秒将目光转移到了其他事物上。这些能说明什么呢?测试开始后仅两秒就出现了一次对目标A的高质量观察。如果我们用A6单元格减去A5单元格,我们就会看到对视频的一次观察持续了10.874秒。因此,在眼动追踪测试后,使用手动编码工具进行的事件分析可为我们提供这些信息:

  • 某个事件的发生时间 (包括看到, 指出以及环境相关事件)
  • 事件的持续时间
(与Total Visit Duration指标类似)
  • 事件的次数统计 (与Visit Count 指标类似)
  • 手动编码工具的设置简单,可以直接使用,并且能提供便于分析的行为数据,为研究人员提供了兴趣度,可见度和视觉吸引力,注意力,导航及更多有价值的参考依据。

    相关文章

    • 关于兴趣区的探讨

      学习更多关于在Tobii Pro Studio软件和Tobii Pro Glasses Analyzer软件中使用兴趣区工具的知识和小窍门。

      Tobii Pro Studio软件 Tobii Pro Lab
    • 眼动行为的分类

      将原始数据分类为相应的眼动行为是眼动追踪研究中的一个重要过程。本页将为您介绍Tobii眼动仪采集到的数据是如何在Tobii Pro Studio和Analyzer软件中进行分类的。

      眼动 Tobii Pro Studio软件 Tobii Pro Lab
    • 导出Tobii Pro Glasses 2的视频记录

      了解Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪视频记录的导出方法。

      Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪 Tobii Pro Lab

Event and behavioral coding

Tobii Pro Lab Tobii Pro Studio

Learn how to code behavior and events in Tobii Pro Studio and Tobii Pro Lab.

The manual coding tools in Tobii Pro Studio and Tobii Pro Lab provide the flexibility to count and analyze behaviors or occurrences that are meaningful to the researcher but that are not provided for in the default feature set. Manual coding can also dramatically reduce the time required to analyze gaze on a dynamically changing scene such as commonly found in Tobii Glasses or Pro Glasses 2 recordings.

While Studio lets you generate 12 different fixation-related metrics at the click of the mouse, there is no easy or automated way to count instances of looking to target A directly after looking at target B or a hand pointing at a package. This can be achieved easily, however, by using the Coding Scheme tool. When using the Tobii Glasses with the Smart IR marker system, gaze to a predetermine shelf, poster, or interface can be easily and quickly aggregated over multiple participants.

But if you’re using either of the Tobii Glasses or Pro Glasses 2 in a free-roaming discovery task, you might not know beforehand what people may look at. Setting up Dynamic AOIs is an option although in some cases, creating and modifying AOIs can turn out to be laborious. In both of these situations, the manual Coding Scheme tool can be a more time efficient and effective analytical tool.

The offline Coding Scheme tool is found in the Tools menu in Studio (Glasses) or in the Event Types tool in the Pro Lab. Clicking on it brings up the initial setup window. Here you have the options to name the code, designate a keyboard combination shortcut or hotkey, provide for the option to annotate at the time of coding, and pick the color of the timeline event marker. Se screenshots for an example we’ve set up with a few example codes.

Tobii Studio screenshot

Tobii Pro Studio

Tobii Studio screenshot

Tobii Pro Lab

Now that we have generated a bunch of codes for the events of interest, the next step is to do something with the data. To accomplish this, go to the Data Export tab and select the fields to be exported to a tab separated variable (TSV) text file or XLSX Excel workbook. Select the fields of interest and make sure to include a timestamp (RecordingTimestamp is recommended) and the event marker fields: StudioEventIndex, StudioEvent, and StudioEventData (or just Event in the Lab software). Here is what the resulting export file will look like for a simulated Glasses recording.

Tobii Studio screenshot

We can see that at 2,234 milliseconds into the recording, the participant looked at “A” after having seen “B” prior. The overhead aisle signage was seen at about 3.8 seconds. The participant started looking at the video display at 6.482 seconds and moved onto other things at 17.356 seconds. What does this tell us? Well, there was one qualifying look to A and that it occurred at just over two seconds after the start of the test. If we subtract cell A6 from A5, then we see that the one occurrence of looking to the video display lasted 10.874

seconds. So, manual coding after the eye tracking test using the Coding Scheme tool can provide the following information:

The time at which events occur (including looking, pointing, and environmental events)
The duration of events (analogous to the Total Visit Duration metric)
The count or number of these events (analogous to the Visit Count metric)
So there you have it. The manual Coding Scheme tool is easy to set up, straightforward to apply, and provides data that is easily analyzed to get at the questions that researchers are interested in like interest, visibility and visual attractive power, noticing, navigation, and more.

Related Articles