如何设置独立变量以及被试者的组别

本文将介绍如何在Tobii Pro Studio中通过设置独立变量以及创建被试者组别来筛选数据。

Tobii Studio screenshot

Tobii Pro Studio能接受不同条件的被试者参加实验,并且基于不同组别进行分组。这些功能可以通过“Independent Variables”以及“Participant Groups”来实现。

Independent Variables (IV)可以认为是正统意义上可被设置的实验条件。或者可以更加简单地理解为是一种分类变量。IV可以为性别、年龄、主用手、地理位置、收入水平或者教育水平。只要是能单列的维度,都可以在IV中设置。详见Pro Studio 用户手册中第4.2.2章节。在“工具”菜单中选择Independent Variables栏,创建独立变量。例如,您可以创建一个“年龄范围”,并分成三个年龄段18-23、24-29以及30-34;又例如可以设置答案为是或否的“文化水平低”来反映被试者的教育水平;常见的“性别”答案为男性或女性。 

除了能在实验开始前后创建IV外,还有另外一种方式来创建和输入IV数据。当你在实验过程中引入问卷,每个问卷问题会产生一个IV、而问题的答案会自动产生多个IV数据(详见Pro Studio手册第4.1.2.8章节)。因此,假设一个被试者被询问从Wii、XBOX及PS4中选择其最喜欢的游戏机时, IV“游戏主机”中就会记录下他的点击答案作为IV数据。

无论你如何创建IV,接下来你都可以利用Participant Groups (PG)功能。本质上,PGs提供给分析人员将所有被试者分类成不同的组别,来比较眼动数据及量化指标之间的差别。让我们通过一个例子来看下如何使用这项功能。在下方的截屏中,我创建了9个被试对象并输入了三个IVs。然后我就可以创建不同的PGs了。请注意,可以在任意时间点编辑被试者的IV数据是项非常有用的功能,特别是当被试者在问卷中做出了一个无意识的或者错误的选择。

Tobii Studio screenshot

你可以在Pro Studio中的Visualizations栏或Statistics栏里创建PGs。这项操作功能在这两块区域都非常明显,我们可以以Statistics做一个示例。在下方的截屏中,我点击了PG的下拉菜单。如果我们没有创建任何PG,那么“All Participants”选项就会自动被勾选。当我们点击了“Create new participant group”,我们就会看到一个弹出窗,在上面我们可以选择每个IV中的1个或多个选项来创建该组别的概要描述。

相关文章

  • 如何使用事件编码功能

    学习如何使用Tobii Pro Studio和 Tobii Pro Glasses Analyzer进行行为和事件的编码。

    Tobii Pro Lab Tobii Pro Studio软件
  • 如何诠释热点图与注视轨迹图

    本文介绍了热点图和注视轨迹图的定义以及如何在包装和网页可用性研究中使用这些可视化工具的技巧。

    热点图 眼动追踪
  • 关于兴趣区的探讨

    学习更多关于在Tobii Pro Studio软件和Tobii Pro Glasses Analyzer软件中使用兴趣区工具的知识和小窍门。

    Tobii Pro Studio软件 Tobii Pro Lab

Independent Variables and Participant Groups

Tobii Pro Studio

Learn more about how to define independent variables and create participant groups for filtering data in Tobii Pro Studio.

Tobii Studio screenshot

Tobii Pro Studio provides a very useful capability for organizing study participants and as an aid for carrying out analyses on subgroups of participants. These two related functions are Independent Variables and Participant Groups.

Independent Variables (IV) can be thought of in the orthodox sense of an experimental condition that is manipulated. It can also be considered, more generally, as a sorting variable. Examples of IVs could be sex, age range, dominant hand, geographic location, income level, or literacy status. As long as the dimension can be listed as discrete categories, you can input them as IVs. This is covered in the Pro Studio manual section 4.2.2. Create your entries by selecting the Independent Variables item under the Tools menu. In the following example, an IV is created for age of the subject, AgeRange, with the possible values of 18-23, 24-29, and 30-34. LowLiteracy is set up to capture subjects’ low literacy status and is dichotomized as Yes or No. Finally, Male and Female are entered as options for the IV Sex.

While IVs can be created here and entered either before or after the subject has actually been tested, there is another way to create and populate IV data. When you include a questionnaire element in the study timeline, each questionnaire item spawns an IV and each response populates the value field with the selected response option (Pro Studio manual section 4.1.2.8). Thus, if a subject is asked to choose their favorite gaming console from the options WiiU, XBOX, or PS4, clicking on the associated radio button will record that value for them in the IV named GameConsole.

However you do it, the creation of Independent Variables sets you up to make use of the Participant Groups (PG) functionality (section 7.2.1). In essence, PGs allow the analyst to slice and dice the total pool of study subjects into subgroups to create comparisons and contrasts when viewing gaze data visualizations or calculating metrics. Let’s see how this works. In the following screen shot, I’ve created nine subjects and populated their IVs. You can see that we have subjects with all possible combinations of the three IVs that we previously created. Now we’re ready to create some participant groups. Note: The values for the independent variables can be edited at any time, which is a helpful capability, especially in the case that a subject makes an unintended or incorrect selection on a questionnaire item.

Tobii Studio screenshot

You can create participant groups in the Visualizations or Statistics tabs in Pro Studio. Since the operation is identical in both places, let’s do it in the Statistics tab for this example. In the next screenshot, I’ve clicked on the Participant Group drop-down. Since we haven’t created any yet, the default option “All Participants” is selected. When you click on “Create new participant group” you are then presented with a popup window where you can select one or more response options for each of the IVs to create a profile for the group.

Related Articles