为什么会出现眼动行为?

本页简要介绍了人类的视觉系统以及眼动行为及其与眼动追踪的关系。

人类的视野范围约135 x 220度,并且如前文所述被分为三个主要区域: 中央窝、旁中央窝和外围区域。我们主要通过仅占整个视野范围1%的旁中央窝区域来获取视觉数据。虽然该区域仅占视野范围的极小部分,但通过此区域记录的信息却包含了通过视觉神经传递到大脑的有效视觉信息的50%(Essen

& Andersson 1995)。

虽然我们的外围视野精度很差,但它擅于获得目标的运动和对比信息。因此当我们把目光聚焦在图片或物体的某个区域时,其实是将眼球的中央窝区域放在我们眼球的晶状体当前聚焦的区域。这说明由于我们眼球的视觉特征,我们会将最多的视觉处理资源放在视野范围能获取最佳图像的特定区域。通过让中央窝区域获得图像,大脑能够得到感兴趣的区域的尽可能高分辨率的图像和最多的视觉数据。

眼动有三个主要功能,它们在我们处理视觉信息时起着关键的作用:

1.将我们感兴趣的信息转移到中央窝区域。这需要通过使用注视点和眼跳来实现。注视点是眼球移动到视野范围内的某个区域的停留; 而眼跳是注视点之间的快速移动。

2.在目标或人的头部发生移动时,保持图像稳定地静止在视网膜上。这种眼球移动行为通常被称作平稳跟踪。

3.为了防止静止的目标的感知性的消退而产生的眼动行为被称为微眼跳,眼颤和漂移。

参考资料与推荐阅读材料

  • Van Essen, D.C. & Anderson, C.H. 1995. Information Processing Strategies and Pathways in the Primate Visual System. In: An Introduction to Neural and Electronic Networks, 2nd ed., 1995, Academic Press, Zornetzer et al., eds., pp. 45-76.

 

相关文章

  • 什么是视觉注意?

    本页简要介绍了视觉注意及其运作机制。

    视觉系统 注意 眼动
  • 眼动行为的类型

    本页将简要介绍几种主要的眼动行为类型以及他们的特征。

    视觉系统 人眼 眼动
  • 眼动追踪数据能够说明什么?

    眼动追踪分析是基于一项重要的假设的,即注视点与我们的视线和我们的思维活动是存在着必然关联的。但要确定此假设的真实性,我们还需要考虑几个要素。

    眼动追踪 注意 眼动数据

Why do we move our eyes?

Visual system Human eye Eye movement

The aim of this page is to give a brief introduction to the human visual system, and to briefly explain why we move our eyes and it's relevance to eye tracking. 

The human visual field spans about 135 x 220 degrees and is, as previously mentioned, divided into three main regions: the foveal, parafoveal, and peripheral regions. We primarily register visual data through the foveal region which constitutes less than 1% of the visual field. Even though this represents only a small part of our field of vision, the information registered through the foveal region constitutes about 10% of what is sent to the brain through our optic nerve (Essen & Andersson 1995). Our peripheral vision has very poor acuity, and is only good for picking up movements and contrasts. Thus, when we move our eyes to focus on a specific region of an image or object, we are essentially placing the foveal region of the eye on top

of the area that is currently within the main focus of the lens in our eye. This means that we are maximizing our visual processing resources on the particular area of the visual field that also has the best image due to the optic characteristics of the eye. By letting the foveal region register the image, the brain gets the highest possible image resolution of the interesting area to process as well as the most amounts of data registered by the eye about that area.

Eye movements have 3 main functions which are considered important when we process visual information:

  1. Place the information that interests us on the fovea (saccades, vestibular ocular reflex and smooth pursuit)
  2. Help bring objects into focus (vergence)
  3. Prevent stationary objects from fading perceptually (microsaccades, tremor and drift)

 

References & Recommended Reading

  • Van Essen, D.C. & Anderson, C.H. 1995. Information Processing Strategies and Pathways in the Primate Visual System. In: An Introduction to Neural and Electronic Networks, 2nd ed., 1995, Academic Press, Zornetzer et al., eds., pp. 45-76.

 

Related Articles

  • Types of eye movements

    The aim of this page is top give a brief description of the different main types of eye movements and there function. 

    Visual system Human eye Eye movement
  • The Human Eye

    The aim of this page is to give a brief introduction to the human visual system, and to briefly explain how light is transformed into a visual percept. 

    Visual system Human eye Visual perception
  • What is visual attention?

    The aim of this page is to briefly describe what is visual attention and how does it operate. 

    Visual system Attention Eye movement