可穿戴式眼动仪与人种学研究

Stiftung Lesen(德国阅读协会)将可穿戴式眼动追踪用于一项创新的人种学研究中来了解在当今以媒体为导向的社会中年轻人起到了怎样的作用。

人种学研究的背景

Stiftung Lesen (德国阅读基金会)是一所位于德国美因茨的非盈利机构。致力于不断地推动阅读和扫盲。他们的团队被要求执行一项关于媒体,阅读和阅读社会化的研究。这使他们研究人员对将眼动追踪引入人种学研究产生极大兴趣。

人种学研究法作为一种能够获得人类行为和文化现象的工具已被越来越多的社会科学研究所使用。这些研究方法要求在自然地环境中对被试者进行观察而不是在实验室环境中。研究旨在了解人们的生活方式,所做的事情,使用的东西以及需求是什么。与所有的行为研究一样,该研究的目的是获得被试者最自然的行为。

眼动追踪提供了关于人们对周围世界的感知方式的洞察力,并且已有在类似研究中应用的案例。但是在过去,当时的技术条件必须要求有数据采集经验和技术的人员在现场进行辅助。

Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪改变了这种典型的研究情形。可穿戴式眼动仪可支被试在任何环境下独立采集视觉数据。眼动仪设备简单易用,可长时间记录被试者的视觉数据,不受到任何干扰,因此也不要其他人员的辅助。Pro Glasses 2 眼动仪的外观和佩戴感觉与一副普通眼镜无异,这意味着设备本身不会影响自然的人类行为。

Stiftung Lesen与Tobii Pro Insight研究服务团队使用Pro Glasses 2眼动仪共同开展了一项研究年轻人的阅读行为和媒介使用情况的人种学研究 。

使用眼动追踪实现了从被试者的视角衡量他们真实行为的可能性。

Dr. Simone C. Ehmig, the leader of Stiftung Lesen’s Institue for Reading and Media Research

研究问题

阅读基金会的研究目标是开发阅读行为和媒介使用研究领域的心的研究方法。 同时,研究人员想要了解年轻人在日常生活中使用书面语的方法,包括阅读、写作、媒介使用和在线媒介的使用等。

研究的问题定义如下:

  • 被试者们每天阅读的时间、媒介和频率
  • 被试者们每天写作的频率、时间和内容
  • 被试者们每天使用媒介的频率、时间和媒介类型
  • 数字媒介是如何用于与其他人交流的? What is the relationship between 被动接受与主动表现之间的关系是什么?

日常生活中自发采集数据

研究的被试者是4名法兰克福的成年人,年龄范围在18-24岁。为了使被试者们自然地应对研究场合,研究人员对被试者详细介绍了研究的内容。

被试者们全部佩戴了Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪,研究人员也教会了他们设备的使用方法。主要要求是被试者们在两天的时间内尽量多地佩戴眼动仪来完成常规的日常活动。被试者们还会每天记录各自的行为,作为眼动数据的补充。

此后,被试者们会在场所佩戴Pro Glasses 2眼动仪。他们每天都在常规的情形下与同事工作,与家庭成员互动,包括他们自己和朋友的圈子。可穿戴式眼动仪记录下共28个小时的视频,包括一部分近2小时的不间断数据。

两天后,被试者们聚集在一起,讨论、交流了使用Pro Glasses 2眼动仪的体验。

来自被试者的洞察力

Tobii Pro Insight研究服务完成了所有被试者的眼动追踪材料,导出了叠加了视线数据的视频片段并将这些事件进行了分类,如阅读、写作、媒介的使用以及在线媒介的参与。为了提供被试者对不同媒介(如手机、平板电脑、计算机、电视、印刷物以及户外广告和接到标识等)的注意情况,还提取了高级的统计数据。

A chart illustrating average participant's media attention pattern during the ethnographic study run by Stiftung Lesen.

通过Pro Insight团队提供的这些数据,Stiftung Lesen随后组织了一系列工作坊,让学生对不同视角的眼动回放视频做出诠释和探讨 。从这些讨论中,研究人员构想出一些假设,这些假设都将作为后期研究的内容。这些都在 DIVSI Convention 2015进行了展示。

后续研究

此项预测试是Stiftung Lesen探究和建立未来的阅读和媒介消费研究的全新人种学研究方法项目的第一步。研究人员计划开发一套数据采集的系统化流程和对此类数据进行深入分析的方法。

Wearable eye tracking and ethnographic field methods

Wearable eye tracking was used in an innovative ethnographic study by Stiftung Lesen (German Reading Association) in order to understand how young people function in today's media-driven society.

Reading behavior and media consumption study

Stiftung Lesen (the German Reading Foundation) worked with Tobii Pro Insight Research Services to develop an ethnographic pilot study of young peoples' reading behavior and media usage using Pro Glasses 2. Check out the video below.


Stiftung Lesen, a non-profit organization based in Mainz, Germany, is committed to promoting reading and literacy. Their team has been tasked with conducting research on the use of media, reading, and reading socialization. This caused their researchers to become interested in eye tracking in an ethnographical field strategy context.

Ethnographic field methods have become increasingly popular in social science as a means to gather in-depth insight into human behavior and cultural phenomena. These research techniques involve observing people in their natural setting rather than in an artificial lab environment. The aim is to understand how people live, what they do, how they use things, and what their needs are. As with all behavioral research, the aim is to capture the most authentic behavior.

Eye tracking provides insight into how people perceive the world around them and has been used in this context before. However, in the past, the available technology required the presence of someone with experience for data collection and technical support.

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 has changed this typical study scenario. The wearable eye tracker enables subjects to autonomously collect visual behavior data in any environment. They are easy to use and subjects are able to record for long periods of time without interruption, so a facilitator is not needed. Pro Glasses 2 feel and look almost like a typical pair of glasses, which means they do not inhibit natural behavior.

The use of eye tracking opens up the possibility to measure authentic behavior from the point of view of the subject.

Dr. Simone C. Ehmig, the leader of Stiftung Lesen’s Institue for Reading and Media Research

Research questions

The goal of the reading foundation's study was to explore new methods for research in the field of reading behavior and media consumption. Also, the researchers wanted to understand how young adults use written language in their everyday lives, including reading, writing, media usage, and active participation in online media.

Research questions were defined as follows:

  • When, on what media, how often, and what are subjects reading every day?
  • How often, when, and what are subjects writing every day?
  • How often, when, and what are subjects using media for daily? What types of media are being used?
  • How is digital media used to actively interact with others? What is the relationship between passive consumption and active presentation?

Autonomous collection of data in everyday life

A sample of four adults in Frankfurt, ages 18 to 24, were selected for the study. The full implication of the research was explained to make sure they were comfortable with the study scenario.

The subjects were all equipped with Tobii Pro Glasses 2 and instructed in their use. The directions were for the participant to wear the eye tracker as much as possible over a two-day time span and perform daily activities as they normally would. Subjects were also asked to maintain their own research protocol, taking notes to accompany the gaze data.

After this, the subjects wore Pro Glasses 2 everywhere they went. They were in typical, everyday scenarios with work colleagues, their family, on their own, or in a group of friends. In total, 28 hours of video were recorded with the wearable eye tracker, including one portion that was close to two hours of uninterrupted data.

On the subjects' return two days later, they participated in a group discussion about their experiences using Pro Glasses 2.

Insight from the subjects’ point of view

Tobii Pro Insight Research Services went through all of the participants' eye tracking material, exporting relevant sequences with gaze data overlaid and sorting these into categories like reading, writing, media usage, and active participation thorough online media. High-level statistics were also extracted in order to provide an overview of the subjects' attention to different media formats such as phones, tablets, computers, TV, printed materials, as well as outdoor advertisements and street signs.

A chart illustrating average participant's media attention pattern during the ethnographic study run by Stiftung Lesen.

With this data from the Pro Insight team, Stiftung Lesen then hosted a series of workshops where students interpreted and reflected upon the gaze replay videos from different angles. A number of hypotheses were formulated from these discussions, to be investigated further in the future. The work was first presented at the DIVSI Convention 2015.

Future work

The pilot study is the first step in a greater project by Stiftung Lesen to explore and establish new ethnographic field strategies for future research into reading and media consumption. Their researchers plan to develop systematic procedures for the collection and deep analysis of this type of data.