荷兰皇家航空公司通过眼动追踪技术测试改善其电子预订工具,极大提高订购量

荷兰皇家航空公司(KLM)采用了一种以客户体验为中心的设计方法,通过多次眼动追踪可用性测试,对其电子预订工具进行重新设计。在设计的后半阶段使用了眼动追踪技术,并因此找出非常具体和细节的问题。这种以客户体验为中心的设计方法取得了积极的成效,重新设计过的电子预订工具让KLM公司在全球经济低靡的情况下仍提高了30%的订购率。

研究目的

近年来,KLM公司主要依靠其网站(尤其是网站的预订工具)来向消费者销售机票。因此,让网站在技术和客户需求上与时俱进是很必要的。如今,网民已变得越来越精通网络,也越来越习惯于使用各种网上服务。所以,KLM公司一直致力于改进其电子预订工具。

2009年,KLM公司决定对其电子预订工具进行重新设计,聘请了可用性及用户体验顾问Valsplat公司在开发阶段及发布后续阶段进行用户研究。开发的后半阶段及发布后都进行了可用性测试,并利用眼动追踪技术来改善电子预订工具的设计。

可用性测试的目的在于找出整体流程中的可用性问题、检测每个具体步骤的可操作性并找出这两方面的改进空间。

结合眼动追踪的可用性测试为我们更好地改进KLM.com网站的设计提供了有价值的洞察力。

Marlies Roodenburg, User Experience Manager for KLM.com, E-commerce

研究工具与方法

可用性实验的对象是已重新设计好的电子预订工具。实验使用Tobii T120眼动仪来记录眼动数据。

包括眼动追踪测试在内的所有实验都有至少二十个被试者,他们都是KLM公司的客户并且在未来三个月内有旅游计划。

实验要求被试者为自己的旅行预订机票。这个任务包含好几个步骤(从找出所有符合条件的航班到最终确认支付),需要大约四十五分钟来完成。

实验后还让被试者一边观看录像回放一边进行回顾式出声思考。来自Valsplat公司的可用性专家Joris Leker说:“我们发现这样有助于被试者说出他们在测试时想的是什么,而不是他们自己认为自己做了些什么。”

使用回顾时出声思考基于以下两个原因:首先,订机票是非常紧张复杂的,需要进行大量的心理活动,而让被试者一边完成任务一边说出自己的想法只会让他们压力更大;第二,共时出声思考也会影响眼动数据。

除了实验中所观察到的行为和回顾式访问所得到的反馈,Valsplat还对眼动追踪轨迹图来对重新设计过的预订页面进行评估和总结。

通过对眼动数据的分析,可以找出非常具体和细节的设计问题,而这一点如果没有眼动追踪技术是无法做到的。这些设计问题虽然很细微,但决定了交易能否成交。

Joris Leker, usability specialist at Valsplat

研究结论

只有利用眼动数据,才能够找出非常具体和细节的设计问题。这些问题无法从被试者口中得知,而只有通过眼动追踪技术才能注意到。在可用性实验中,Valsplat公司便遇到了好几种设计细节上的问题,以此为例:

完成机票预订的最重要一步,就是从一大串可选航班中挑出理想的去程及回程航班。所有可选的去程及回程航班,包括其价格、时间表、经停城市及型号,都在同一个页面(即航班选择页面)上显示。

眼动轨迹图显示,被试者在浏览原来的航班挑选页面时(如下图所示),不停地在机票价格和航班时间上面来回扫视。被试者显然是想权衡一下价格和时间,而这两类信息却刚好被放置在左右两端,起不到任何指导作用。

根据研究结果,订单页面上这些航班信息的位置做了改动,并对新页面进行了可用性测试。根据此次眼动轨迹图可看出,被试者在机票价格和航班时间之间做权衡时显得轻松多了,即使是那些决心挑到最理想航班的被试者 (见右图)。

2009年夏天,KLM公司在75个国家发布了其最新的电子预定工具。之前所做的研究和测试取得了成效,重新设计的电子预订工具让KLM公司在全球经济低靡的情况下仍大幅提高了订购率:从网站搜索到实际完成机票预订的用户数量上升了超过30%。

Eye tracking grows KLM conversion rate

For the redesign of their electronic booking tool, KLM adopted a user-centered approach in their testing. The usability research was boosted using eye tracking. Despite the economic downturn at the time, their new online travel ticket system increased KLM's conversion rate by about 30%.

Objectives of usability study

For KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, the main source of sales for consumer tickets is their website. Users have become more web savvy and accustomed to online services, so it is imperative to the company to keep up with technological advances to meet user demand. As a result, KLM is in a state of continuous development for their electronic booking tool.

In 2009, KLM launched a redesign of their online ticket-buying interface. Valsplat, KLM's preferred usability and user experience consultants, conducted research both during the development of the new system and after its launch. Their team used eye tracking to fine-tune the design of the electronic booking tool.

The goal of the usability studies was to find any issues in the overall flow of the buying process, to check comprehension of the individual steps, and to discover room for improvement in both areas.

Usability testing with eye tracking gives us the insights we need to keep improving our designs for KLM.com.

Marlies Roodenburg, User Experience Manager for KLM.com, E-commerce

Tools and methods

Valsplat conducted usability tests with eye tracking on a mock-up of the redesigned electronic booking website. A Tobii T120 eye tracker was used to record participants' gaze patterns. The researchers analyzed data and created visualizations with Tobii Pro Studio software.

All of the studies were conducted with a minimum of 20 participants. They were selected based on typical KLM customer demographics and whether they had any trips planned in the near future.

Researchers asked the subjects to go online and book their upcoming trip. The task took about 45 minutes to complete and consisted of several steps (from finding all possible flights to actual payment and confirmation).

The retrospective think-aloud (RTA) method was used at the end of the task supported by gaze replay in Tobii Pro Studio as a memory cue for the participants.

Using RTA was important to the process because booking a flight can be complicated resulting in a rather substantial cognitive workload. The Valsplat team did not want to strain participants even more by forcing them to voice their thoughts while completing this task. Furthermore, the concurrent think aloud method can affect the eye tracking data by distracting the subject from their natural behavior.

Besides drawing conclusions based on observed behavior and feedback from the retrospective interviews, Valsplat analyzed eye tracking gaze plots for all of the redesigned webpages.

Analysis of eye tracking data proves valuable in finding very specific and detailed design issues, which would very likely have gone unnoticed. These issues, albeit small, can make the difference between a sale and a disappointed customer.

Joris Leker, usability specialist at Valsplat

Results

Eye tracking data is extremely valuable when it comes to spotting very specific and detailed design issues. Valsplat came across several of these in the KLM usability studies. The following example is just one of several details they found by applying eye tracking to their research.

An essential part in completing travel plans online is selecting the preferred departing and returning flights from a large set of possibilities. This happens on one page (Select Flights) that lists all possible departing and returning flights, as well as their price, schedule, stops, and carrier.

Gaze plots of early designs of the Select Flights page showed a lot of saccades between the flight price and its schedule (pictured below). These specifics were positioned at exact opposite sides of the flight details. Participants were obviously trying to make a choice between price and schedule, but the layout of the information was not conducive to their decision-making process.

Following these findings, the order in which flight details were presented on the page was changed. Gaze plots from the redesigned website's usability test showed participants had an easier time making their choice between price and schedule, even participants who were really looking for the optimal flight (see figures on the right).

During the summer of 2009, KLM launched their new travel booking system in 75 countries. All of the usability research and testing paid off. Despite the economic downturn at that time, the redesigned ticket-buying tool dramatically increased the customer conversion rate: 30% more users moved on from searching for flights to actually booking tickets in the new version.