使用眼动追踪研究妥瑞氏症

英国加的夫大学地理与规划学院的研究人员使用Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪对妥瑞氏症患者发生的强迫行为进行了研究。

研究背景

此项社会科学研究试图了解妥瑞氏症患者出现强迫行为的方式和原因,因为患有妥瑞氏症人群除了会尽力减少由于症状引发的不适感之外,无法用言语清晰表达出做出该行为的原因。加的夫的研究人员对情感实质和做出这些行为的身体关联性进行了研究。研究发现将帮助拓展人文地理理论中人类情感非物质性的强迫行为理论研究并帮助对妥瑞氏症的特征和相关条件进行重新考量。

Cardiff University color logo

研究工具与方法

A person running a study using Tobii pro Glasses 2.

研究人员将Pro Glasses 2眼动仪采集到的客观数据和半结构化深访的定性数据进行了结合。研究包含了15名被确诊为妥瑞氏症且并发OCD和ADHD症状的被试者。

眼动追踪数据的采集在被试者的家中和/或荷兰多个城市的公共场所完成。在征得被试者同意后,研究人员会让被试者完成一项能够激发多个强制行为且不会影响他们健康的任务。例如,洗碗,打扫房间或开车;一些能够体现日常事务以及与物体或材料进行复杂交互的行为,由此展示出被试者的日常现实情况。

被试者首先佩戴Pro Glasses 2眼动仪10分钟来适应然后开始正式测试。在每个测试环节之后,研究人员与被试者以其眼动追踪记录为依据展开讨论,此访谈环节也被记录下来。

它[Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪]非常的轻巧而且佩戴起来感觉要比我想象中舒适的多。

Tourette syndrome study participant

研究妥瑞氏症患者与他们的社会物质环境之间的关联

使用了Pro Glasses 2眼动仪可以实现对做出满足来自体内、体表和体外发力的特定的强迫行为时不同感觉的卷入度进行揭示(见下表)。因此,可穿戴式眼动追踪对以往想当然的观念提出了质疑。

 

需要视觉注意

不需要/需要一定的视觉注意

身体与目标物硬性接触的交互行为

身体发力,作用于体表和物体

举例:用一根手指按浮雕画 

身体发力,作用于肌肉拉伸

举例:用手捏玻璃杯 

身体与目标物柔性接触的交互行为

力作用于体表和物体

举例:用食指抚摸雕塑的轮廓 

力作用于两个物体之间及体表

举例: 将一个汤碗放到架子上

身体与隐藏目标物接触的交互行为

不需身体发力

举例: 开车时观察所有的信号灯和交通标识

不适用

通过Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪采集到的数据非常的丰富,能够真实地展现出妥瑞氏症患者的强迫交互行为以及他们的社会物质环境。

Diana Beljaars, PhD researcher at Cardiff University

研究结论

眼动追踪除了能帮助拓展关于强迫行为的总体认知,还有助于了解强迫行为是在怎样的前提下,如何成为一种故意行为的,以及物体和其他物质因素(的细节)是何时、怎样被卷入的。许多妥瑞氏症患者每天都会发生这些行为,本研究的结论将帮助社会和学术届进一步了解妥瑞氏症,并有助于相关行为疗法的开发。

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking used to understand Tourette syndrome

Researchers from the Cardiff School of Geography and Planning in the United Kingdom used Tobii Pro Glasses 2 to understand the occurrence of compulsive behavior among people with Tourette syndrome.

Background

This social scientific study attempts to understand how and why compulsive behavior starts, as people with Tourette’s cannot articulate a reason for this behavior other than diminishing uncomfortable sensations produced by the disorder. At Cardiff, they are investigating the bodily relations with the affective materiality with which these acts are performed. The outcomes help expand human geographical theory on the relation between human sensibilities with non-human materiality through the concept of compulsivity and help reimagine the nature of Tourette syndrome and related conditions.

Cardiff University color logo

Tools and methods

A person running a study using Tobii pro Glasses 2.

The empirical data derived from working with Pro Glasses 2 combines qualitative data gathered with semi-structured in-depth interviews and observations. The studies were conducted with 15 participants diagnosed with Tourette syndrome, often with comorbid OCD and ADHD.

The eye tracking data was collected in the participant's home and/or public places in various cities in the Netherlands. After giving consent, they were asked to do an activity that would evoke many compulsive behaviors, without it impeding on their wellbeing. For instance, doing dishes, cleaning the living room, or driving; activities that allowed demonstrating rituals and visualising the complex entanglements with objects and other material presences, thereby showing the participant's everyday realities.

First the participants completed a 10-minute activity to get used to wearing Pro Glasses 2 and then began the actual test. After each session, the recordings were discussed with the participant in a recorded interview.

It [Tobii Pro Glasses 2] is really light and far more comfortable to wear than I had imagined

Tourette syndrome study participant

Understanding the relationship between someone with Tourette syndrome and their sociomaterial environment

With Pro Glasses 2, it has become possible to demonstrate the involvement of different senses with particular kinds of compulsive acts that are performed to satisfy tensions in, on, or outside the body (see table below). Hence, the use of wearable eye tracking questions the taken-for-granted notions of the role different senses play in the performance of compulsive behavior.

 

Visual attention required

No/partial visual attention required

Physical interactions between the body and objects are hard

Tension in the body and on the surfaces of the body and object

Example: pressing down on the relief of a painting with one’s finger

Tension lies in the body, in the flexing of muscles

Example: squeezing a glass in one’s hand

Physical interactions between the body and objects are soft

Tension in the surfaces of the body and object

Example: following the curves of a sculpture with one’s index finger

Tension lies between two objects and the surface of the body

Example: Having to put down a soup bowl on the shelf

Physical interactions between the body and objects are absent

Tension lies outside the body

Example: having to look at all lamp posts and road signs when driving a car

Not applicable

My eye tracking data, obtained with Tobii Pro Glasses 2, is incredibly rich and truly shows the complexity involved in the compulsive interactions of people with Tourette syndrome and their sociomaterial environments.

Diana Beljaars, PhD researcher at Cardiff University

Conclusions

In addition to general knowledge about compulsive behaviors, eye tracking helps in understanding how and when compulsive behaviors become part of intentional practices, as well as how and when objects and (details of) other materialities become enrolled. As these behaviors are part of the daily reality of many people with Tourette's, the results of this study help shape societal and academic awareness of the disorder and may aid development of behavioral therapies.

Use our contact form

Contact Sales