儿童眼中的动物园

本研究使用了Tobii Pro Glasses 2可穿戴式眼动仪来考察6至12岁儿童对德国诺特霍恩动物园的感受。通过对儿童在户外环境中的眼动追踪数据采集与分析,德国奥斯纳布吕克大学的研究人员获得了对动物园来说最重要的访客群体的真实洞见。

研究工具与方法

A Child wearing Tobii Pro Glasses 2 eye tracker

本研究目的是分析6-12岁的儿童在动物园中游览时的感受。研究的地域限定于靠近第一个围栏的入口。研究团队要考察的主要研究问题有:

  • 孩子们是否靠近了入口区域用于吸引注意的围栏?
  • 孩子们注意到了围栏的哪些元素?
  • 哪些区域被关注的最多,哪些区域被忽视了?
  • 是否有阻碍儿童视线的元素?
  • 哪些情感能够被观察到?
  • 孩子们最喜欢研究区域中的什么元素?
  • 哪些研究发现适用于动物园的其他区域?

研究使用的Tobii Glasses 1和全新的Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪使研究人员能够以孩子们的视角观察研究区域。研究通过眼动追踪+行为观察+简短的访谈形式进行。此外还设置了一组不用眼动追踪的受控组,以排除由于佩戴眼动仪造成的潜在差异行为。佩戴眼动仪组和受控组共有20个高质量记录被采集下来。

入口处旁边设置了一个移动校准区,该区域由PVC校准板,座椅和遮阳板组成。受访者来到入口的前方,如果儿童有兴趣参与测试,研究人员会征求家长的同意再开始测试。研究人员首先记录必要的信息并进行校准,然后儿童进入测试区域,不提供任何引导或提示。研究人员在儿童游览的过程中与其保持一定距离进行实时观察。游览结束后,研究人员会提一些与观察到的信息相关的问题让受访者回答。

“Tobii Glasses 2眼动仪为我们的研究带来了很多新的可能性,我们确定它能够成功完成后续的研究。”

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Litfin, Professor of Marketing, Service, and Innovation Management at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences at Lingen Campus

研究结论

两个测试组在测试区域的停留时间上略有差异。佩戴眼动仪的测试组比没有佩戴眼动仪的测试组在测试区域的停留时间要长一些。但此差异在统计检验中不显著。因此,测试区域的围栏作为吸引注意的元素能够符合他的设计目的。

研究发现了一些阻碍视线的元素。此外, 儿童对动物围栏的观察时间要长于动物园入口区域的信息板。信息板的设计起到了决定性作用交互式信息板比包含大量文字内容的静态信息版更容易被儿童察觉,交互效果也更好。

此研究是研究儿童游览诺特霍恩动物园时的感受的第一阶段研究。学生们也验证了使用可穿戴式眼动追踪开展6-12岁儿童的户外研究的可行性。

研究背景

在德国奥斯纳布吕克大学Lingen校区第五学期的“工商管理”课程期间,学生们需要参与一项面向企业的实践活动。此项活动以实践为主题,必须由学生组成的团队基于科学原理和概念来执行。

其中的一个活动主题源自德国诺特霍恩动物园对德国奥斯纳布吕克大学的一项委托。因为儿童是动物园最主要的目标客户群体之一,他们不断地以儿童为中心改善动物园的布局。为了实现这个目标,第一步就是要了解儿童对动物园的感受是怎样的。更具体地说,此项探索性研究的重点是在动物园的入口区域。

移动式眼动追踪能够让研究人员看到孩子们眼中的世界并能够更好地理解他们对周围环境的感受。

此研究由奥斯纳布吕克大学的学生S. Focks, D. Lohmann, D. Meyer和C. Steinweg在Prof. Dr. Thorsten Litfin(奥斯纳布吕克大学市场,服务于创新管理教授) 和Özlem Teckert(奥斯纳布吕克大学研究助理,博士生)的指导下完成。

The zoo through the eyes of children

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 wearable eye tracker was used to study 6-to 12- year old's perception of the Nordhorn Zoo, in Germany. By collecting and analyzing eye tracking data from the children as they explored the outdoor environments, researchers from the University of Applied Sciences in Germany could provide unbiased insights on one of the zoo's most important group of visitors.

Tools and Methods

A Child wearing Tobii Pro Glasses 2 eye tracker

The objective of this project is to analyze, within the zoo, the perception of children between the ages of 6 and 12 years old. The survey area was limited to the entrance up to the first enclosure. The project team addressed the following research questions:

  • Do children first approach the pond, which is designed as an eye catcher, within the entrance area?
  • What do children notice at the pond?
  • Which areas are observed intensely, and which areas are ignored?
  • Are there any visual barriers for the children?
  • Which emotions can be observed?
  • What do children enjoy most within the areas under examination?
  • Which insights may be adapted for other areas of the zoo?

The application of Tobii Glasses 1 and, later on, Tobii Pro Glasses 2, enabled researchers to observe the areas of research through the eyes of the children. The eye tracking study was supplemented by situational observations and a short interview with the participants. Moreover, a control group without the eye tracker was observed in order to exclude potentially divergent behaviour of wearing eye tracking glasses. In total, 20 high-quality records were collected both for the group with glasses and the control group.

A mobile calibration device was installed next to the entrance. This consisted of a PVC sheet, seating, and a sun shade. The test individuals were approached in front of the entrance and, if interested in taking part, parents were asked for their permission. First, the required statistics were recorded, followed by a calibration exercise. The children were then free to enter the zoo without further instructions. The subjects were observed from a distance during their tour. At the end of their visit, the participants were asked to answer a few questions concerning the area of observation.

“The application of Tobii Glasses 2 provides various opportunities and is promising for future studies.”

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Litfin, Professor of Marketing, Service, and Innovation Management at the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences at Lingen Campus

Results

The two test groups differed slightly in terms of their retention time. The group with glasses remained within the area of observation longer. However, the difference was statistically insignificant. As intended by zoo management, the children's attention was attracted by the flowing water elements. Hence, the ponds fulfilled their function as an eye catcher.

At a few locations, visual barriers were detected. Furthermore, the children observed animal enclosures longer than the information boards within the entrance area of the zoo. The design of the boards played a decisive role: interactive and illustrated boards were better perceived and interacted with than static boards with a high level of text content.

This project was a first step in understanding the perspectives and perceptions of children visiting the Nordhorn Zoo. The students were also able to demonstrate the effectiveness of the outdoor application of wearable eye tracking with 6- to 12-year-old children.

Background

During the fifth semester of the "Business and Management" program at the Osnabrück University of Applied Science at Lingen Campus in Germany, students are required to participate in a business-oriented project. The relevant topics are adapted from practice and must be implemented by teams of students based upon scientific theories and concepts.

One of the project topics was based on a request by the Nordhorn Zoo to the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences in Germany. Since children are one of the facility's main target groups, they continuously strive for a child-oriented layout of their facilities. In order to achieve this goal, the first step is to examine how kids perceive the zoo. More specifically, this exploratory study focused on the entrance area.

Mobile eye tracking enables observers to view the world through the eyes of children and to better understand their perception of their surroundings.

The project was run by S. Focks, D. Lohmann, D. Meyer, and C. Steinweg– all students of the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. Their study was performed under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Thorsten Litfin, Professor of Marketing, Service, and Innovation Management, and Özlem Teckert, a Research Assistant and PhD candidate at Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences.