使用眼动追踪验证不同文化群体间的情绪性倾向观点

德国柏林自由大学的研究人员使用眼动追踪通过测试被试者对面部表情的反应,揭示出负面倾向在不同文化群体之间的影响。

研究背景

“负面倾向” (Negativity bias)是指对诸如愤怒或恐惧等负面情绪表情的认知速度和反应比对中立情绪或正向表情更快的现象。这可能是因为负向偏见是与生俱来的,因此无关文化背景,此现象可能会出现在婴幼儿早期。另外,这种负面趋势可能也存在于其他物种之中,如灵长类动物。

在本研究中,使用眼动追踪通过衡量和分析对面部表情的注视时间,在发展心理学和进化心理学范畴内对不同文化群体中的负面倾向现象进行了研究。主要考察了两个来自截然不同的文化群体的儿童和成人(德国人和纳米比亚游牧民)是否观察负面情绪表情比正向或中立的表情更迅速、更频繁、注视时间更长。

研究目标

本研究旨在找出负向偏见的潜在进化功能的基本特征及其文化依赖性和发展存在期。假设不同文化群体中的幼儿与成年人对负面情绪信息的反应 (如,注视时间的增加) 多与正向或中立情绪信息。

研究工具与方法

目前共有31名学龄前儿童(4-5岁),60 名小学生(7-9岁) 和40名成年人被试者参与了测试。但这仅是目前为止的初步结果,研究仍在继续。研究人员为被试者呈现两种负面情绪的面部表情 (恐惧–高度情绪唤起和悲伤– 低度情绪唤起),一种正向面部表情(高兴) 和一张中立面孔。每种面部表情包含两组刺激 (白种人– “白” 和美国黑人– “黑”),以此观察对不同人种的面孔加工是否存在差异。这些面孔图像均取自NimStim Face Stimulus Set 情绪图片库 (MacBrain Database; Tottenham et al., 2009)。

A set up with the Tobii Pro T60 eye tracker in the field. Photography by Daniel Haun.

研究使用了一台Tobii Pro T60眼动仪来衡量对每张图像的注视时间 (图1)。对成人和小学生被试者使用的是5点自动校准,对学龄前儿童被试使用了5点手动校准。面部表情图像始终成对呈现。每对图像呈现3000 毫秒,在下一对图像呈现前呈现一个十字符号。由于儿童的注意力的持续时间较短,为儿童呈现的图片只有56对,每名被试者的测试总时间为5分钟,而为成年人被试者呈现的图像共240对,每名被试者测试时长为15分钟 (图 2)。

A picture illustrating different face expressions.

数据采样点间隔为16.67 毫秒(60Hz) ,以此来预测每个注视点的位置和持续时间。研究分析了所有在50像素以内且长于100毫秒的注视点。研究使用了一台性能良好的发电机供电。

研究人员使用Tobii Studio软件进行刺激材料的设置。使用自行编写的Matlab脚本来提取原始数据。通过这样操作,可以使每个刺激材料上的每幅图像定义为一个独立的兴趣区 (AOI)。使用此脚本对注视点的持续时间、注视点的数量和扫视路径进行了分析。研究人员将Matlab输出的结果导入到SPS数值计算软件中进行了统计分析。

Tobii T60眼动仪甚至可以在没有常规电源和非常困难的条件下稳定工作,对研究提供了极大的帮助。

Prof. Dr. Katja Liebal, Freie Universität Berlin

关于 “恐惧倾向”的新观点

研究人员衡量了两个不同对照组的注视时间和关注度。首先,对每个面部表情的平均关注率和持续时间与其他面部表情进行了对比(如恐惧的面孔分别与悲伤、高兴和中立面孔进行对比)。第二,对一个特别的面部表情的关注率和持续时间与其他面部表情一同进行了对比,如恐惧的面孔与其余所有表情整体的对比(悲伤、高兴与中立结合)。

对于第一组分析,研究人员发现德国的学龄前儿童和成年人以及两个文化群体中的小学生被试者对恐惧的面孔的观察频率和观察时间高于中立面孔。只有成年人对两种负面情绪做出了区分,对恐惧面孔的观察频率和持续时间高于悲伤的面孔。然而,对恐惧面孔的观察频率和持续时间要低于高兴面孔。在第二组分析中,与其他面孔整体相比,德国的儿童和成年人以及两个文化群族中的小学生被试者对恐惧面孔的观察频率更高,对中立面孔的观察频率较低,但其他对比中未发现差异。

总体来说,研究结果表明,负面倾向的观点也许并不能够恰当地阐述对负面情绪的反应强于正向情绪的趋向,但由于悲伤的面孔获得的关注度较小,当提及“负面倾向”时,“恐惧倾向”也许对研究更有帮助。

使用眼动追踪开展后续研究

下一步研究将研究含有愤怒的面孔的反应,因为从发展心理学角度来说,愤怒的面孔可迅速传递一种对自身产生威胁的信息,所以可能对研究更有意义。此外,研究的另一方面将侧重于被试者处理带有本种族面部表情的刺激与带有其他文化群体的面部表情时的差异。最后,研究团队正与Fumihiro Kano的合作使用相似的实验设计来研究大猩猩对负面情绪面孔的观察速度和持续时间是否高于正向或中立情绪面孔。

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking proves concept of emotion bias within varying cultural groups

Researchers from Freie Universität Berlin used eye tracking in a study that revealed the incidence of negativity biases among different cultures by testing reactions to facial expressions.


"Negativity bias" refers to the faster recognition of, and reaction to, expressions of negative emotions such as anger or fear compared to positive or neutral emotional expressions. It is possible that the negativity bias is innate and could therefore appear in early infancy, independent of cultural backgrounds. It is also possible that it could be shared with other species, such as closely related nonhuman primates.

In this study, within the field of evolutionary and comparative psychology, eye tracking was used to study negativity bias in varying cultures by measuring and analyzing fixation times on facial expressions. It was investigated whether both children and adults of two very distinct cultural groups (Germans and a hunter-gatherer group, the ≠Akhoe Hai//om, in Namibia) fixated facial expressions of negative emotions faster, more often, and for a longer duration compared to positive or neutral expressions.


The aim of the project was to characterize the potentially evolutionary functional basis of the negativity bias, its cultural dependencies and development over lifespan. It was assumed that both young children and adults of different cultures should react more (e.g. show increased looking times) to negative emotional information compared to positive or neutral information.

Tools & methods

At present a total of 31 preschoolers (between 4 and 5 years), 60 school children (between 7 and 9 years) and 40 adults have been tested. This is, however, an ongoing study with only preliminary results so far. Two negative facial expressions (fear – high arousal and sadness – low arousal), one positive facial expression (happy) and a neutral face were presented to the viewers. For each facial expression, two sets of stimuli (Caucasian – "white" and Afro-American – "black") were included to see whether faces of different ethnic groups are processed differently. These faces were obtained from the NimStim Face Stimulus Set (MacBrain Database; Tottenham et al., 2009).

A set up with the Tobii Pro T60 eye tracker in the field. Photography by Daniel Haun.

The experiment was conducted using the Tobii T60 eye tracker to measure time spent fixating on each image (Figure 1). A 5-point calibration was used for adults and school children and the manual infant calibration (5 point) for preschoolers. The facial expressions were always presented in pairs. Each pair was presented for 3000 milliseconds followed by a fixation cross before the next pair was presented. Because of childrens' shorter attention span, only 56 such pairs were used for children, resulting in a total length of 5 minutes per session compared to 240 pairs for adults resulting in a total length of 15 minutes per session (Figure 2).

A picture illustrating different face expressions.

Time points were measured every 16.67 milliseconds (60Hz) to estimate the point and duration of a fixation. Any fixation within an area of 50 pixels that lasted longer than 100 milliseconds was included in the analysis. For power supply, a small mobile generator was used, which proved to be very reliable.

Stimuli were designed with the Tobii Pro Studio software. Raw data was extracted by using a self-written Matlab script. To do so, each picture on one stimulus was defined as a separate area of interest (AOI). Fixation duration, number of fixations and scan path were analyzed with this script. Statistical analysis was conducted using the numerical computation software SPSS by importing the Matlab outputs.

Even without a regular power supply and under difficult environmental conditions the Tobii T60 worked reliably, which assisted the study a great deal.

Prof. Dr. Katja Liebal, Freie Universität Berlin

New concept of “fear bias”

Duration and rate of fixations were measured for two different sets of comparisons. First, the mean fixation rate and duration for each facial expression were compared to any other facial expression, e.g. fearful faces were compared to sad, happy, and neutral faces separately. Second, the mean fixation rate and duration of one particular facial expression were compared to all other facial expressions together, e.g. fearful faces compared to "the rest" (sad, happy, neutral combined).

Concerning the first set of analyses, it was found that preschool children and adults in Germany, as well as school children of both cultures, fixated on fearful faces more often and for longer than on neutral faces. Only adults differentiated between the two negative facial expressions and fixated on fearful faces more often and for longer than on sad faces. However, fearful faces were not fixated on more often and for longer than happy faces. For the second set of analysis, both children and adults in Germany, as well as school children of both cultural groups, fixated on fearful expressions more often and neutral faces less often compared to the "rest", but no differences were found for the other comparisons.

Overall, results indicate that the concept of "negativity bias" might not be appropriate to describe the tendency to react to negative emotions stronger than to positive emotions, but that it would be more useful to refer to a "fear bias" since sad facial expressions were fixated on to a much lesser extent.

Moving forward with eye tracking studies

The next steps will include the investigation of angry faces since, from an evolutionary perspective, it might be more useful to react to angry faces as they communicate an immediate threat to oneself. Furthermore, another line of research will address the question whether participants process stimuli with facial expressions from their own ethnic group differently compared to stimuli from another cultural group. Finally, in collaboration with Fumihiro Kano, a similar design is currently being used to investigate whether great apes also fixate on facial expressions of negative emotions faster than on positive or neutral emotions.

Related information

Use our contact form

Contact Sales