使用眼动追踪对比基于触觉与视觉的阅读策略

来自荷兰的研究人员使用Tobii Pro Glasses 2眼动仪和一套红外动作捕捉系统来研究常规与需要阅读盲文的学生在处理算数式时的阅读策略。

研究背景

当前的计数系统和可用的软件限制很难对阅读盲文的学生开展与数学相关的研究。因此,对需要阅读盲文的学生的研究很难够在以科学导向的中等教育研究中取得进展或成果。本研究旨在通过对普通学生和阅读盲文的学生在阅读和理解算数式的过程进行研究来探究一种能够帮助阅读盲文的学生更有效地处理算数式的教学方法。获得可视文字与盲文的阅读策略洞见将对阅读盲文的学生及其老师教学方法的改进提供帮助。

本项目由三所荷兰研究机构共同合作完成: 荷兰赫伊曾皇家视光研究院,乌得勒支大学弗罗伊登塔尔数学教育科学院和鹿特丹大学神经科学系。研究工作由Annemiek van Leendert, Michiel Doorman, Paul Drijvers, Johan Pel, 以及Hans van der Steen等人发起,该项目也是“提升盲文阅读学生的数学能力”研究项目的一部分。该项目的资金由荷兰科学研究组织 (NWO)提供。

研究工具与方法

供有6名普通学生参与了眼动追踪测试。研究人员使用了一套Pro Glasses 2眼动仪、一台笔记本电脑和一部摄像机(采样率50Hz)结合来记录他们的眼动模式数据。3名阅读盲文的学生在荷兰皇家视光研究院参加了手指追踪测试。使用了一台笔记本电脑、一个可刷新的盲文显示器、一套红外动作捕捉系统(Vicon, Oxford, 英国产)和一部摄像机来记录他们的手指运动。研究人员在每名学生的特定手的食指上佩戴了4个反射标记器。动作追踪软件被用来记录(采样率200Hz)并分析每个标记器的运动轨迹。摄像机用于记录所有的手部和言语反应。在任务开始前,研究人员通过口述来描述任务,参与测试的学生需要完成相同的含有一个或两个变量的算数式运算。常规的学生通过PPT来阅读算数式;阅读盲文的学生通过来自word文档的盲文显示器来阅读。在此过程中采集了以下数据:眼动,手指动作以及音频和视频。采集到的数据由研究团队自行开发的Matlab程序进行分析。

Eye tracking test setup by Royal Dutch Visio

研究结果

眼动模式信息使研究人员能够根据搜索时间,注视点数量和局部与全局之间的注意转换来量化方程式阅读与运算的策略。

A gaze pattern when reading an algebraic equation

此图展示了一名常规学生的视觉模式信息。首次视觉搜索信息揭示出这名学生用了约7秒钟开始理解算数式。这名学生首先计算了 '3 + 2,' 然后计算 '1 – 5'。最后通过计算'-4 + 4 = 0'正确地解答了算数式。

A gaze pattern when reading an algebraic equation

该图展示了阅读盲文的学生在盲文显示器上的手指动作 (浅绿色代表左手指)。在算数式的理解阶段,被试者同时运用了左右手的食指。在第一秒,左手食指首先扫描了 '4 +' ,然后在3秒钟后开始处理算数式的剩余部分。13秒后,被试者重复了之前的行为并说出了词语“四加” 。在接下来的20秒,他们继续处理算数式并做出了正确的解答。

结论

Tobii Pro Glasses 2非常易用。这款可穿戴眼动仪提供了能够量化普通学生阅读策略的极具价值且客观的眼动数据。

通过Pro Glasses 2眼动仪获得的眼动模式信息使研究人员能够对阅读和问题解决策略过程进行量化并将其与阅读盲文的学生的触觉策略进行对比。此研究获得的洞见将被用于改进阅读盲文的学生与其教师的教学方法。

Eye tracking used to compare tactile and visual reading strategies

Researchers from the Netherlands used Tobii Pro Glasses 2 and an infrared motion-capturing system in order to understand the reading strategies of both sighted and braille-dependent students when reading algebraic expressions. 

Background

The limitations of current notational systems and available software make it difficult for braille-dependent students to participate in mathematic studies. As a result, braille-dependent students seldom enter, or make progress in, science-oriented tracks in upper secondary education. The aim of this research was to understand how both sighted and braille-dependent students read and comprehend algebraic expressions in order to identify ways to better support braille-dependent students in manipulating mathematical expressions. Obtaining insight in tactile and visual-reading strategies will help to design guidelines to help braille-dependent students and their teachers.

This project is a unique collaboration between three Dutch institutes: the Royal Dutch Visio in Huizen, the Freudenthal Institute for Science and Mathematics Education at Utrecht University, and the Department of Neuroscience at Erasmus University Medical Center Rotterdam. The work was led by Annemiek van Leendert, Michiel Doorman, Paul Drijvers, Johan Pel, and Hans van der Steen as a part of the research program, "Improving the Mathematical Abilities of Braille-dependent Students." This study was financed by the Netherlands Organization for Scientific Research (NWO).

Tools and Methods

Six sighted students participated in the eye tracking study. Their eye movement patterns were recorded using Pro Glasses 2, in combination with a laptop and a video camera, and recorded at 50 Hz. At the Royal Dutch Visio school for the visually-impaired, three braille-dependent students participated in a finger-tracking study. Their finger movement patterns were recorded using a combination of a laptop with a refreshable braille display, an infrared motion-capturing system (Vicon, Oxford, United Kingdom), and a video camera. Specific hand and index finger movements were recorded using four reflective markers on each student's hand. Motion-tracking software was used to record (at 200 Hz sampling rate) these movements and analyze the trajectories of each marker separately. The video camera recorded all handlings, instructions, and verbal responses. Using verbal instructions given before the task began, the students all solved the same expressions with one or two variables (substitutions). The sighted students read the expression from a PowerPoint slide. The braille-dependent students read the expression with the braille-display from a Word document. The following information was collected: eye movement, finger tracking, along with both audio and video. The collected data were analyzed using self-written Matlab software.

Eye tracking test setup by Royal Dutch Visio

Results

Gaze patterns enabled the researchers to quantify equation reading and solving strategies, in terms of exploration time, number of (re)fixations, and switching between local and global characters.

A gaze pattern when reading an algebraic equation

This graph shows an impression of the gaze patterns of a sighted student. A first exploration of the gaze data reveals that the student starts to explore the equation for about seven seconds. The student calculates '3 + 2,' and then '1 – 5'. Finally, the equation is solved correctly by calculating '-4 + 4 = 0'.

A gaze pattern when reading an algebraic equation

This graph shows the movements of the index fingers over the cells of the braille-display (left finger is represented with light green). In the exploration phase, both index fingers are active. During the first seconds, the left index finger initially scans '4 +' and, after three seconds, starts to explore the rest of the expression. Before starting to talk, the subject starts over and says the words "four plus" after about 13 seconds. In the next 20 seconds, they continue solving the expression correctly.

Conclusion

Tobii Pro Glasses 2 is very easy in use. This wearable eye tracker provides valuable and objective gaze data to quantify the reading strategies of sighted students.

Gaze patterns obtained with Pro Glasses 2 enabled researchers to quantify reading and solving strategies and made it possible to compare the outcome with tactile strategies of braille-dependent students. The insight obtained will be used to design guidelines to better support braille-dependent students and their teachers.