使用眼动技术对“无意识驾驶行为”的研究

西班牙的奥迪公司的一项企业社会责任项目z针对“无意识驾驶”现象开展了研究,研究者使用了Tobii Pro Glasses眼动仪。此设备可了解驾驶员的驾驶行为及驾驶过程中被驾驶员遗忘的事件。眼动数据展现了在无意识驾驶过程中注视模型的显著变化并帮助识别产生此现象的情形与外部因素。

研究背景

“无意识驾驶行为” (DWA)是指在驾驶过程中对周围交通情况的意识减弱,如,使用潜意识开车。之前对此现象的研究较少,而此类现象多数现在长时间的高速公路上驾驶中。所以对类似现象的研究多数是在驾驶模拟器中进行的,方法是直接对驾驶员的驾驶体验进行访谈,而模拟舱无法取代真实的驾驶环境,所以这样的数据可靠性并不高。

此项研究的目标是了解更多关于普遍存在的“无意识驾驶行为”。此研究考察了经常以这种方式驾驶汽车的驾驶员的一些特点,并对一些致使此现象发生的条件和外部因素进行了分析。研究还将检测驾驶员出现此现象时的认知情况与其对公路安全的影响也纳入研究目标。

使用眼动追踪技术,我们就可以对现实情境中的驾驶员的驾驶行为和细节进行研究,并且可以识别无意识驾驶行为发生的过程/情况。

Hildebrand Salvat,, Partner and Technical Director at Gabinet Ceres, SL

研究工具与方法

A man driving an Audi car wearing Tobii Pro Glasses eye tracker.

此研究分两个阶段进行。第一阶段采用传统的问卷形式,主要是对具有代表性的2000名西班牙驾驶员样本进行电话访谈以确定此行为的广泛性,并对其进行了量化。在第二阶段,使用眼动观察与深入访谈的方式来检验几种既定的假设,并对无意识驾驶行为的片段进行细致分析。

一些已测定的假设:

  • 如果驾驶员在驾驶时思考问题,则可能会产生无意识驾驶现象。
  • 对路况熟悉则对变化较小的刺激物关注度下降。
  • 大量刺激物的出现会降低无意识驾驶现象发生的可能性。

驾驶员通常对与驾驶行为无关的刺激物不太关注而对与驾驶行为有关的刺激较为关注。

通过眼动追踪进行观察

被试者都是具有13年驾龄的驾驶员,且全都是同一个工业区的工人,年龄在25-60岁。我们对所有被试者在两个不同的测试中的行为进行了观察,每个测试都有不同的目标。在第一个测试中,被试者在环形的跑道上驾驶汽车,使得研究人员可以对每一圈的特点和在相同交通条件下(路况、刺激物等)不同被试的对比来检验我们的假设。

在第二个测试中,驾驶员在他们曾经上下班的常规的城市间的公路上驾驶。此项测试允许研究人员分析现实生活中的无意识驾驶行为情况,在这种条件下发生的无意识驾驶现象与得到的结论更能贴近实际驾驶的环境。

A test participant wearing Tobii Pro Glasses eye tracker.
A man driving an Audi car wearing Tobii Pro Glasses.

在两个测试中,被试者配带有Tobii Pro Glasses眼动仪—一款移动式眼动追踪系统来记录他们的眼动数据,使研究人员来判断哪一种出现在驾驶员视野中的物体能够引起他们的注意。每次测试结束后,都会对被试者进行深入的访谈,这些驾驶员在实验前并不知道此研究的目的。其中访谈主要是要求他们回忆在驾驶过程中沿途看到了什么,做过哪些行为以及通常会做出哪些行为。

眼动数据与访谈数据的分析

通过眼动数据的分析与被试的访谈反馈的结合,使研究人员对无意识驾驶现象获得了独到的见解。为了验证假设,研究人员对相应被试者的所有实验环节的眼动视频片断进行了回放与分析。使用Tobii Studio创建可视化图形,如热点图与注视轨迹图来揭示并阐述驾驶员的视觉注意模型,驾驶员实际看到的事物以及观察的顺序。

研究结论

研究发现无意识驾驶存在普遍性,并且是由经验与驾驶体验相关。在访谈结果中,只有25%的被试者表示从未有过无意识驾驶现象发生,而超过5%的被试者表示会不定期出现这种现象。另外,研究发现以这种状态驾驶汽车的都是经验丰富的驾驶员,他们基本本每天都开车上班或去学校上课,而且经常走同一条路。

研究还发现在一些表示每天都以这种方式驾车的驾驶员和一些表示几乎都是清醒驾车的驾驶员之间存在无意识驾驶行为的一些迹象。因此可以进行合理地假设,并不是所有的驾驶员都认识到他们正在以这种状态开车。

无意识驾驶是否安全?

从无意识驾驶行为的研究可得出结论,无意识驾驶降低了驾驶行为注意力,且不一定安全。如果发生驾驶员感知到的危险情形,无意识驾驶行为就会消失并且多数情况下驾驶员就会恢复到正常驾驶状态。研究人员未能测定反应时的影响,但可预测在此过程中的反映时的提升一定是很小的。无意识驾驶可以被定义为中度风险,但当其与其他诸如超速行驶等危险动作结合时,就会使其风险程度大大提升,导致事故的发生。

注视模型的显著变化

在清醒驾驶过程中,驾驶员的目光基本保持不变,并且在一直识别相关的刺激物,注视点不会有从一点到另一点的显著跳跃。眼动数据表明在无意识驾驶过程中注视点出现了较为显著的变化。虽然驾驶员的视线始终保持在公路的某个区域,但在观察中出现了注视点数量的增加,视线范围的扩大以及快速的眼动。当出现无意识驾驶行为时,被试者的视野覆盖到了较大的区域并保持对可能出现的与驾驶相关的刺激物的警觉性,这种视野范围被研究人员称为“活跃的雷达式视野”。

Gaze plots illustrating attention pattern while driving a car.

眼动数据还表明在无意识驾驶过程中,驾驶员对相应的方向点的注意力下降,但驾驶员仍然会留意潜在的危险。他们对没有变化的刺激的关注度降低,这些刺激都是可预测并且已知的。他们会进行一些适当的操作行为而这些行为大部分无法被驾驶员回忆起来。诸如通过一个新的限速标志牌时检测时速表等控制类的动作会减少。

并行任务与思考问题

研究表明当驾驶行为已完成,并且与其他任务结合时,这种无意识驾驶行为就可能会发生。所有经常在城市间的高速公路上经历过这种无意识驾驶现象的驾驶员表示,他们通常在那时思考或集中精力去想一些与驾驶无关的事情,如,组织、整理一天的工作,考虑将要做出的决策等等。

Gaze plots and heat maps illustrating attention pattern while driving a car.

对路线的熟悉程度

无意识驾驶行为更可能出现在驾驶员熟悉的路线中。被试者们报告说他们在这样的路上开车可以更加放松,而且基本不用去关注路上的刺激物。

眼动数据显示当在较熟悉的路线上开车时,大多数的驾驶员总是会注意变化的刺激物,而相当一部分的被试者对固定不变的刺激物关注度较低。对道路的熟悉,使驾驶员的视野范围和在其视野范围内的注视点数量及眼动/眼跳行为减少。下图中的注视轨迹图和热点图显示了在环形公路上的第一圈与最后一圈(被试者已熟悉路线)的驾驶中的注视模型差异。

沿途的刺激物

道路旁的刺激物也是提升无意识驾驶行为发生机率的原因。通常在高速公路及较单调的路上出现的几个刺激物时就可能会发生无意识驾驶行为。眼动数据显示出一种当驾驶员对路上的某些刺激物的注意力下降的时刻与刺激物数量较少的路段之间的一种关联。缺少刺激物并不一定意味着无意识驾驶行为就会发生,但当驾驶员对路线不熟悉并且刺激物较多时,则很少会出现无意识驾驶现象。

与驾驶相关/无关的刺激

研究结果表明,在无意识驾驶驶时,驾驶员能够察觉到大多数在沿途出现的与行驶相关的刺激,甚至在道路较为宽阔的路线上也是如此,并且驾驶员已有心理准备去留意与行驶相关的刺激物。眼动数据显示出,驾驶员对与行驶相关的刺激(限速标志,信号灯等)比与驾驶无关的刺激(广告和横幅)更加关注。他们会观察这些刺激物并将其与驾驶中的自动作出的行为结合,但他们通常不会记得在驾驶过程中看到了哪些事物或自动做出过哪些行为。相对地,驾驶员不会去关注与行驶无关的刺激物,但只要看到过的驾驶员就会对这样的刺激物基本过目不忘。

Gaze plots illustrating attention pattern while driving a car.

认知资源的节省

驾驶员不记得他们在路上看到或发生的事情的事实表明这期间一种存在着认知资源节省。虽然驾驶员在当时注意到了某事物,但并未对这些信息分配资源去存储以便以后能够回忆起来,因为这种行为被认为是没有必要的。然而,驾驶员可能会回忆起一些醒目但与行驶无关的刺激物,甚至是交通环境以外的刺激物或其他驾驶员的某些驾驶行为。这充分说明了一种观点,即无意识驾驶仅受限于对只有驾驶员自己了解的重复性动作的控制。

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking for driver safety

Audi's Attitudes, a corporate social responsibility program, wanted to learn more about the phenomenon of driving without awareness. Wearable eye trackers from Tobii Pro enabled their researchers to gain insight into driving behavior and occurrences that are often forgotten by drivers. The data revealed significant changes in gaze patterns during phases of subconscious driving and helped identify situations and external factors causing the issue.

Background to driving study

Driving without awareness (DWA) is the sense of operating a vehicle with little or no conscious attention to the surrounding traffic, also known as subconscious driving. At the time of this study, there was very little research on this topic. The past exploration focused on long highway journeys and used simulators that deviate from the actual driving experience with methods that involved asking drivers directly about their experiences.

The objective of the study was to learn more about the prevalence of DWA, pinpoint characteristics of drivers who often drive in this manner, and identify situations that could promote its occurrence. The study also aimed to examine driver perceptions about the issue and analyze its effects on road safety.

With eye tracking, we were able to study actual driving behavior in real-time and in detail, and identify subconscious driving situations

Hildebrand Salvat,, Partner and Technical Director at Gabinet Ceres, SL

Tools and methods

A man driving an Audi car wearing Tobii Pro Glasses eye tracker.

The study was carried out in two phases. In the first, a traditional phone survey was conducted with a representative sample of 2000 Spanish drivers to address a broad range of DWA aspects in order to quantify the phenomenon. In the second phase, eye tracking observations were combined with in-depth interviews to test several defined hypotheses and examine subconscious driving episodes in greater detail.

A few of the tested hypotheses:

  • If the driver is concentrating on an idea or thought, subconscious driving is more likely to occur.
  • Familiarization with the route facilitates paying less attention to stimuli that do not vary.
  • The presence of a lot of stimuli reduces the likelihood of subconscious driving.
  • It is more likely that the driver is inattentive to stimuli that are irrelevant to the act of driving than to those that are relevant.

Observations with eye tracking

Thirteen experienced drivers, all workers in the same industrial area and between the ages of 25 and 60, were observed during two different tests, each with separate objectives. In the first test, participants drove on a race track circuit so researchers could test the hypotheses by using unique characteristics of each lap while comparing participants under similar traffic conditions.

In the second test, drivers drove on an intercity road that most of them regularly used to travel back and forth to work. This test allowed researchers to analyze subconscious driving in the real-life setting in which it occurs and draw conclusions more generalizable to actual driving situations.

A test participant wearing Tobii Pro Glasses eye tracker.
A man driving an Audi car wearing Tobii Pro Glasses.

During both tests, participants wore wearable eye trackers from Tobii Pro to record their eye movements, enabling researchers to determine which items in a participant's field of vision attracted their attention. After each trip, in-depth interviews were conducted with the drivers. The participants did not know or were not told the purpose of the study. They were asked what they remembered seeing along the road, what they thought they had done behind the wheel, and what they normally do while driving.

Analysis of eye tracking and interview data

By analyzing eye tracking data and mapping it against verbal feedback from the participants, researchers were able to gain insight into the DWA phenomenon. To test the hypotheses, they examined relevant gaze replays from all of the trips. Tobii Pro Studio was used to create visualizations such as heat maps and gaze plots to illustrate the drivers' looking patterns and what they had actually seen.


The Attitudes study found that DWA is widespread as a result of experience and driving practice. Conversely, in the survey, only 25% answered that they had never experienced subconscious driving and 5% reported experiencing such situations on a regular basis. Furthermore, the study showed that motorists who experience DWA are typically seasoned drivers who use the car daily to get to work or school, usually traveling the same route.

In addition, the research showed evidence of DWA among the drivers who said they drove subconsciously every day and among drivers who said they mostly were aware of everything as they drove. It is therefore reasonable to assume that not all drivers realize this issue is happening.

Is driving without awareness safe driving?

The study concludes that DWA reduces attention to the act of driving, but not necessarily to general security and road safety. Should something occur that is perceived as dangerous, subconscious driving disappears and most drivers can react appropriately. Researchers were unable to test effects on reaction time, but estimated that an increase would most likely be very small. Driving without awareness can be considered a moderate risk, but may have a potentiating effect on accidents when combined with other factors such as excessive speeds.

Significant changes in gaze patterns

In conscious driving, the driver's gaze remains fairly constant and identifies relevant stimuli without any substantial jumping from one point to another. Eye tracking data revealed significant changes in gaze patterns during phases of subconscious driving. An increased number of fixations, an expansion of the viewing area, and more rapid eye movements were observed although the driver's gaze remained focused on a particular area of the road. When driving subconsciously, participants used what the researchers called 'active radar vision,' which covers a broad field while drivers remain alert to the possible occurrence of stimuli.

Gaze plots illustrating attention pattern while driving a car.

Eye tracking data also showed that attention to relevant orientation points declines when driving subconsciously, but drivers still look for potential risks. They look less at stimuli that do not vary, which are predictable and known. The drivers perform appropriate maneuvers but do not remember most of them when asked. Control actions, such as checking the speedometer when passing a new speed limit sign, decreased during DWA.

Parallel tasks and thinking

The study indicated that DWA is more likely to occur when the driving is done in combination with other tasks. All participants who experienced phases of subconscious driving explained later that they had been thinking about other things not related to their driving, such as organizing their work day or decisions they needed to make.

Gaze plots and heat maps illustrating attention pattern while driving a car.

Familiarization with the route

DWA is more likely to occur on familiar routes, where participants said they can drive in a more relaxed way and pay less attention to stimuli along the road.

Eye tracking data shows that when traveling on familiar roads, most drivers always attend to stimuli that vary, while a significant number pay less attention to stimuli that are constants. Familiarization with the route caused a decrease in both the driver's viewing area and the number of fixations and eye movements. The gaze plot and heat map visualizations below show differences in gaze patterns during the first and last lap on the race track circuit when participants knew the layout better.

Number of stimuli on the road

Boring routes with less stimuli are another factor that can promote DWA. Eye tracking data shows a correlation between the moment when a driver fails to notice certain stimuli on the road and sections in which the number of stimuli is lower. Absence of stimuli does not necessarily mean DWA will occur, but when the route is unknown and has many stimuli, subconscious driving is less likely.

Relevant and irrelevant stimuli for driving

Results indicate that, when driving subconsciously, drivers can see most of the relevant stimuli that appear in their path, even with a wider range of coverage, and that they are prepared to detect relevant stimuli. Eye tracking data verifies that they pay more attention to relevant stimuli (speed limit signs, traffic lights, etc.) than to irrelevant stimuli (ads and banners). Drivers do not always remember what they saw or what actions they took as a result. While many motorists do not see irrelevant stimuli, they often remembered by the drivers who have seen them.

Gaze plots illustrating attention pattern while driving a car.

Cognitive resources savings

The fact that drivers do not remember everything that they saw or that occurred during the journey reflects the role of cognitive resources savings. Although they pay attention at the time, they do not allocate resources to store this information for later recall because it is not considered necessary. However, they may remember some stimuli that may be conspicuous but irrelevant or even outside traffic, or they recall maneuvers made by other drivers. This reinforces the idea that subconscious driving is restricted only to control repetitive actions known to the driver himself.

Related information

Use our contact form

Contact Sales