电视广告的眼动测试帮助Team Foods挽回市场份额

Team Food在拉丁美洲竞争激烈的的植物油市场遭受了50%的市场份额损失后,重新为拉丁美洲市场开发了一款新产品。为了确保消费者对新产品发布的积极反响,Team Food对宣传片和电视广告进行了连续的测试。通过眼动和神经心理学方法的结合,帮助他们实现了对其市场地位的巩固,改善了品牌的关注度并挽回了其在拉美市场的产品份额。

研究背景

YanHaas是一家哥伦比亚的市场研究公司,他们将眼动追踪技术作为关键要素来为南美洲用户进行高级的调研服务。通过将眼动追踪技术引入到一般的电视广告制作过程中,可在其场景中找到电视广告中存在的机遇与缺陷。在此研究中, YanHaas与一家多国品牌的拥有者Team Foods合作,打算在其过去几年中失去50%的销量的情况下重新获得市场份额而展开研究。

Team Foods的新产品 Aceite Z ”Super Fry”是一款植物油,研究使用眼动追踪设备及Zaltman Metaphor Elicitation Technique (ZMET)通过五个方面对其进行持续性评估,分别是:关注度,品牌和产品信息,亲和力和产品内涵。视频广告内容是说一名妇女在烹饪过程中努力躲避四溅的油烟的场景 (硬币从平底锅中飞出),而另一名使用Aceite Z “Super Fry” 牌植物油的妇女却不受这些困扰,咬着手指轻松地为家人准备饭菜(表明其节省成本及其价值承诺“飞溅少, 更省油”.)

眼动测试确保观众对电视广告的积极反应

研究的主要目的在于对广告视频在发布前进行评估,确保Aceite Z销售的积极影响并实现5%的知名度提升。另外,本研究的目的还在于探究对视频广告的测试意义。通过对测试版和最终版广告的结果对比,YanHaas可以对关注度相似的元素进行评估,并决定其适用性,以此对测试本身进行验证。

眼动不仅是另一种研究工具,它还可以使我们获取比任何一种传统测试方法更多的对商业内容的洞察力。让我们的客户在商业上取得成功一直是我们的目标,而眼动设备是实现此目标的重要部分,尤其是在这个特殊的项目中。

Catalina Mejia, CEO at YanHaas SA

研究工具与方法

本研究将眼动测试与其他研究方法结合,如目标群体划分和一对一的ZMET访谈法。Team Foods和YanHaas选用了能够精确指出可改进要素的眼动仪进行测试。

Heat maps and numerical indicators of the attention focus throughout the tests.

在分组研究后,对目标群体进行了眼动测试;由Socio-Economics和Lifestyle (SEL)部门选取年龄在25-55岁之间的女性被试者。使用Tobii T60眼动仪对眼动数据进行采集。然后要求被试者参与使用Zaltman Metaphor Elicitation Technique (ZMET)的定性测试环节通过认知意象来评估情感关联性。

两种方法的结合成功地测定了Yan-Haas在此项目中设立的五个方面的因素。使用Tobii Studio软件来分析及呈现眼动数据。

研究结论

YanHaas在总结中提到,眼动仪是评估注意力,品牌和产品信息这几个要素的专业设备。通过对精确到帧的细节研究,YanHaas可以找出注意力增加和减少的情况以及富有戏剧性的关注度曲线,商标展现和关键场景。研究测试了对不同的摄像机角度的反应并发现中距离镜头和近距离特写镜头比广角镜头更有效。低角度镜头也会比高角度镜头更加能够提升注意力等级。在最终版的视频中应用到了这些结论。

Heat maps and numerical indicators of the attention focus throughout the tests.

高于平均指标的关注度与市场份额的挽回

总体来说,此广告的关注度高于平均指标。Aceite Z “Super Fry”在100个品牌的第一提及的关注度评估中获得8分,品牌再认度为70%。

Heat maps and numerical indicators of the attention focus throughout the tests.

经过测试,广告视频现在可以使目标群体认识到Aceite Z产品的优势,即节省成本以及在炸食物的时候不会被热油溅到。ZMET的研究显示出广告对持久性、节省成本、效果及关心的品牌位置与品牌想要传递的 “飞溅少,更省油”的广告主题达到了一致。

在对测试视频和最终视频的对比研究中,研究人员发现了两者之间的一种明显关联。被试者的注意力等级与测试版的相同,在关键场景中做出了相同的眼动反应。这样的发现使YanHaas可以得到这样的结论,即眼动仪对获取消费者对最终版视频的互动数据发挥了建设性的作用。

由于在价格敏感性较高的植物油市场遭受的激烈的商业竞争和40%的价格上涨,Team Food希望通过Aceite Zeta产品的发布从价格和数量上挽回其销售窘境。

Team Foods已经将眼动仪作为他们的标准测试工具之一,并会为未来的相关活动和持续性评估项目开发一套发布前预测和发布后效果测试的测试体系。

YanHaas 与Tobii建立了长期牢固的合作关系。Tobii除了提供拥有极高精确度的眼动技术使我们能够进行高质量的研究外,我们也非常欣赏他们在业内创新的领导力。

Catalina Mejia, CEO at YanHaas SA

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking TV commercial helped Team Foods recover market share

Team Food developed a new product for Latin America after suffering a 50% drop in vegetable oil sales in this highly competitive market. To ensure positive customer response to the launch, the animatic and final commercial were continuously measured. By combining eye tracking and neurophysiologic technology, the client was able to strengthen its position, improve its brand awareness and recover its sales figures.

Background

YanHaas, a Colombia-based market research company, performs advanced studies for clients in South America using eye tracking technology as a key component. By introducing eye tracking into the standard TV commercial development procedure, opportunities and flaws can be identified on a scene by scene level. In this study, YanHaas worked together with multinational brand owner Team Foods in their pursuit to regain market shares after losing 50% in sales over the past few years.

With Team Foods' release of Aceite Z "Super Fry", a vegetable-based cooking oil, focus centered on continuous assessment of the five dimensions: attention, branding and message, meaning and closeness, using eye tracking paired with Zaltman Metaphor Elicitation Technique (ZMET). An animatic was created, showing a woman struggling with oil spatter while cooking (coins flying out of the pan). Another woman uses the Aceite Z "Super Fry" and can, without hurting herself, prepare and serve the meal to her family effortlessly while snapping her fingers (depicting cost effectiveness and the value promise "Less spatter, more savings".)

Eye tracking to ensure positive reactions to TV commercial

The main objective was to evaluate the animatic before production of the final commercial to ensure positive reactions with the aim of reversing Aceite Z's negative sales spiral and achieving a 5% increase in Top Of Mind awareness. Moreover, the study set out to ascertain the usefulness of measuring an animatic. By comparing results from the animatic with that of the final commercial, YanHaas could evaluate attention similarities in elements and determine applicability, thus validating the test itself.

Eye tracking is more than just another research tool; it has enabled us to gather more insights about commercial content than any other traditional methodology. The commercial success of our clients is always our main goal, and eye tracking is an important component in this pursuit, very much so in this particular project.

Catalina Mejia, CEO at YanHaas SA

Tools & methods

The study used eye tracking as a component to complement other research methodologies, such as focus groups and one-on-one ZMET interviews. Team Foods and YanHaas chose eye tracking for its efficiency and its ability to pinpoint concrete elements for improvement.

Heat maps and numerical indicators of the attention focus throughout the tests.

After initial focus group studies, an animatic was created and tested using eye tracking on the target group; Women ages 25-55, defined and selected by Socio-Economics and Lifestyle (SEL) segmentation. Eye tracking data was collected using a Tobii T60 Eye Tracker. Afterwards, the respondents were asked to participate in a purely qualitative component of the study that used Zaltman Metaphor Elicitation Technique (ZMET) to assess emotional linkage via cognitive imagery.

The combined methods successfully measured the five dimensions set up by Yan-Haas for this project. Eye tracking data was analysed and presented using Tobii Pro Studio software.

Conclusions

YanHaas concluded that eye tracking was a great measurer of the attention, branding and message dimensions. By being able to study frames in detail, YanHaas could link rise and fall in attention and concentration levels to dramatic curves, logo display and key scenes. The study tested response to different camera angles and found medium shots and close ups more effective than wide shots. Low angles also showed increased levels of attention contra high angles. The final commercial was adapted after these findings.

Heat maps and numerical indicators of the attention focus throughout the tests.

Higher than average attention levels and recovered sales

In general, this commercial scored higher than average attention levels. Brand recall was as high as 70% , leading Aceite Z "Super Fry" to score a total of 8 points in Top Of Mind awareness evaluations among 100 brands.

Heat maps and numerical indicators of the attention focus throughout the tests.

The target group now perceives a benefit in Aceite Z's product, namely cost effectiveness and the ability to fry food without burning themselves on hot oil. The ZMET studies showed brand positioning focused on durability, cost effectiveness, power and care, in line with the brand's wish to convey safety along with its "Less Spatter, More Savings" value promise.

A clear correlation was found in the comparative study between the animatic and final commercial. Respondents' attention levels were equal to that of the animatic, with the same gaze reactions during key scenes. This enabled YanHaas to conclude that measuring animatics with eye tracking is a constructive tool to assess consumer reaction to the final promotion material.

Team Foods' Aceite Zeta managed to recover its sales, both in value and volume, due to the commercial despite tough competition and a 40% price premium in the price-sensitive vegetable oil segment.

Team Foods has adopted eye tracking as one of their standard tools, and will develop a pre-test post-test valuation system for future campaigns and continuous evaluation.

YanHaas has a long withstanding relationship with Tobii Pro. Besides providing eye tracking technology that with great accuracy enables us to conduct quality studies, we also appreciate their innovative leadership.

Catalina Mejia, CEO at YanHaas SA

Related information

Use our contact form

Contact Sales