包装设计的眼动研究使销量上升了15%

眼动追踪技术能够辅助记录虚拟购买过程,帮助完成对包装及货位摆放的影响力评估。Strategir公司从2008年便开始使用Tobii眼动仪。这次案例利用眼动追踪技术进行了实验,解释了新包装设计使销量上升15%的原因。

研究背景

更换产品包装对于一个品牌来说举足轻重,因为包装上的任何一点改动都会极大影响产品的销量。改得好,销量便上去了;改得差,销量就会直线下降,曾有某品牌的产品销量因此而跌了百分之四十!

Stratégir战略咨询公司拥有十五年的包装检测经验,进行了超过1000项包装设计测试。因此,我们公司极其关注对产品包装影响力的衡量:新的包装设计能否在琳琅满目的货架上抓住眼球?包装越吸引人,产品就越有可能卖出去;反之亦然。能对消费者产生影响,是产品包装取得成功的必要条件。在测试的第二阶段,我们侧重于对吸引力的评估:这种包装对消费者来说是否比原包装更有吸引力?

我们都知道消费者的言语和实际的行为之间是有差异的。眼动追踪精确记录了消费者的视线数据,使我们进一步了解消费者在包装上的信息搜索行为成为了可能。

Isabelle Goisbault, Deputy Managing Director, Strategir

使用眼动追踪来衡量“影响力”

我们所说的影响力,是指一个品牌的影响力。换句话说,就是这个品牌能够让多少人看到它的产品便能说出它的品牌名称。所以,影响力是靠消费者所说之话进行衡量,可以对其判断真假。

例如,若将右图给消费者看一秒钟,他们会下意识地说:“可口可乐。”然而,图中的产品并非可口可乐,而是一个使用了相同包装设计和颜色的品牌。

事实上,任何消费者看到任一外包装以红色为主的软饮料都倾向于认为该产品是可口可乐。他/她甚至都不需要仔细看包装,也不需要在货架上看到这个产品——这就是所谓的幽灵效应。但是,如果品牌不出名,消费者即使看见了该品牌产品也说不上来品牌名称。因此,产品影响力是视觉冲击力和品牌认知度的结合。

A Mecca Cola package.

此外,在某些鲜有出名品牌的市场,消费者反馈就无法为品牌商在包装设计改善上提供帮助和建议,也无法用于衡量包装的更换对品牌和产品认知度是否有所提高。

由此可看出,消费者反馈具有不确定性,有时非常模棱两可;而眼动追踪技术则能够客观测量消费者的眼动数据,因此是衡量产品影响力的绝佳辅助工具。其他部分,并且可以为如何改善包装设计提供建议——是放大、重组还是干脆放弃等等。

通过眼动追踪与消费者反馈衡量“吸引力”

我的产品能否卖得更好?这取决于好几个因素。其中一个因素,同时也是品牌和产品分析的重要方面之一,就是消费者对产品包装的看法。消费者是如何理解产品包装的?他们是否明白产品所做出的保证?包装的哪些部分吸引了他们的注意力?

在这方面,眼动追踪技术同样也能提供重要信息,从而补充消费者反馈的不足。 眼动仪能够精确测量消费者侧重于关注包装上的商标、图片、文字还是其他部分,并且可以为如何改善包装设计提供建议——是放大、重组还是干脆放弃等等。

结合消费者反馈(例如:喜欢/不喜欢,我理解为,我记得)和眼动数据图(例如:热点图、眼动轨迹图)进行的分析能够为消费者如何看待包装这一问题提供宝贵的信息。不过,眼动追踪技术并不能衡量单独某个产品包装上某种颜色、形状或者其他具体因素的吸引力,而是需要几种不同的包装设计进行对比才能得出结论。

以某产品为例,该产品更换包装后销量上升了15%

该产品原来设计的字体和图案多种多样、大小不一,包装也无法体现产品的品质。此次实验获得的眼动数据,生动展示了成品沙拉的购买者是如何“扫瞄”产品包装的。

消费者在看旧包装产品时,扫视了整个包装。从Tobii Pro Studio分析软件制作的热点图可以清楚看出,消费者很少看向商标,并且需要浏览整个外包装才能找到所需信息。

A heatmap showing of how respondents looked at the original package design.
A heatmap showing of how respondents looked at the new package design.

左侧是元素分布更均匀的新包装设计,所有信息都能有组织地引导消费者的视线。

显然,新包装更加引人注目,包装上也有更多的部分吸引了绝大多数消费者的视线(图中的红点),而旧包装上只有沙拉的成分(什锦生菜)得到了多数消费者的注意。新包装上的漏斗形图案也能引导消费者的视线。

新包装上的商标更能吸引眼球,这对于产品影响力来说是实实在在的提高。此次实验中,只有28%的被试者注意到旧包装上的商标,而新包装的商标则留住了44%的被试者的目光。

新包装让消费者能够找到相关信息,更加快速地浏览沙拉的成分,其首次注视开始时间也只有旧包装的一半(见下图)。

相关信息

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking study of package design led to 15% sales growth

Stratégir tests new and existing products using purchase process simulations and high-definition virtual shelves. Eye tracking completes impact evaluations of packages and shelf positioning. Conclusions drawn from this package design study resulted in a 15 % sales growth.


Changing a package is a major decision for a brand owner as any modifications can dramatically influence the sales figures. Some changes can increase sales but we also know of past examples where sales have dropped by nearly 40%!

The expertise at Stratégir is based on 15 years of package testing and more than 1,000 design tests. This experience has led us to consider with great care the different indicators that measure impact quality of a package: will the new design be more noticeable on the shelves? The more it is seen, the more likely it is to be bought and vice versa. The impact on the consumer is the sine qua non condition of success. In a second test phase, we focus on evaluating attractiveness: does this package appeal more to the consumer?

We all know that there’s a difference between the behavior and feedback of consumers, between what they do and what they say they do. Eye tracking records precisely where a consumer is looking and opens the door to understanding how consumers search for information on the packaging.

Isabelle Goisbault, Deputy Managing Director, Strategir

Eye tracking to measure impact

By "impact", Stratégir means the impact of the brand. That is to say, the percentage of people who are able to name it. It is therefore a measure of what the consumer states, which can be true or false.

If we show the picture to the right to a consumer for one second they will spontaneously name... "Coca Cola"! And yet it isn't Coca Cola but a brand which has used the same coding, schemes and colors.

Any consumer exposed for a short duration to a soft-drink package dominated by the color red tends to name Coca Cola. He/she does not even need to

look at the packaging to recognize it and does not even need to see it on the shelf to name it! This is the so-called "phantom impact". On the other hand, a consumer may not even be able to name a brand which they have seen if it is not well-known. Therefore, product impact is a combination of both visual impact and recognition-memorization processes.

A Mecca Cola package.

Also, in certain markets where there are very few well-known brands, the consumer's feedback does not help the brand owner identify the best solution for improving a package, nor whether the change will result in a gain in impact or a loss of brand and product recognition.

Eye tracking provides objective details on what the consumer looks at. It constitutes an excellent complementary tool in evaluating product impact as it is not based on consumer feedback, which as we have seen can give ambiguous answers.

Eye tracking and consumer feedback to measure attractiveness

Will my product be purchased more often? There are several factors which can influence the answer to this question. One of the key phases in brand and product analysis consists in understanding how consumers perceive a package. How do they decode the packaging? Did they perceive the "promises" of the product? Which elements captured their attention?

Again, eye tracking can provide significant information in complement with consumer feedback. The eye tracker accurately measures the elements observed: the brand, pictures, captions, etc. and provides the answers as to how a package design can best be improved – increase the size of the text, re-structure it or removing it entirely, for example.

The joint analysis of consumer feedback (e.g. I like/dislike, I understood, I remember) and observation maps (e.g. heat maps, gaze plots) gives valuable information on how the consumer "appropriates" the package. Eye tracking cannot, however, measure the attractiveness of a particular color, shape or element for one given product: comparisons of different package designs are needed in order to obtain such conclusions.

An example of an updated package, which generated a sales growth of 15%

The original design, with heterogeneous graphics and packaging, did not convey the benefits of the product. In this study, the eye tracking data provided valuable input on how the consumers – i.e. buyers of ready-made salads – "scanned" the package.

With the original design, the consumers scanned the entire package. The heat map generated by Tobii Pro Studio eye tracking software clearly showed that the brand was rarely seen and the consumer needed to browse the whole package to find the required information.

A heatmap showing of how respondents looked at the original package design.
A heatmap showing of how respondents looked at the new package design.

On the left is the new packaging with a more homogeneous graphical design, where the information is structured in a way that guides the consumer's gaze.

Heat map showing an aggregated view of how respondents looked at the new packaging
This new design is much more effective. More areas are observed by almost all of the consumers (see the red spots) whereas on the original design only the variety of the salad (Mesclun) was observed by most. The consumer's gaze is guided by the new funnel shape of the packaging.

This constitutes a real improvement in product impact – the brand is seen more on the new updated packaging. In this test, only 28% of participants observed the brand on the original design compared with 44% on the new version!

With the new design, the consumer was able to locate the relevant information and browse the different varieties of salad much more quickly – the "time to first fixation" is half that of the old design (see graphic below).

Related information

Use our contact form

Contact Sales