电视广告的眼动研究

Tobii Pro Insight 研究服务团队执行了一项衡量当今客厅中商务信息可见度的眼动研究。

研究背景

电视广告一直以来被认为是大众媒介中最有效的广告形式。然而数字革命为电视观众们带来了新的“防广告”手段,使观众的注意力脱离了电视广告。这些手段当中最常见的是手机、平板电脑和其他手持互联网设备。我们将开展研究,考察就视觉注意而言,电视广告当前的处境有多糟。

广告时间人们在看哪里?

当前人们在看电视时的视觉行为如下两个表中所示。在电视节目中(左图),他们看电视屏幕的时间占总时间的80%。这表明,尽管有其他吸引注意力的因素,电视节目本身能够使他们的注意力得以保持。但当开始放广告时(右图),注意力普遍都转移到了手持设备上。我们的研究结论表明,当广告开始时,只有少数(少于一半)的观众仍然会将组合以里放在电视屏幕上。

Two charts illustrating the distribution of attention during the show and commercial breaks.

广告在人们眼里的感受是怎样的?

眼动追踪数据允许我们深入挖掘电视观众们的视觉体验。虽然上述描述中对广告的关注度百分比达到了42.1%,看起来对广告主来来说时间效果令人满意,但重要的一点是这个百分比之中很少有连贯的注意。在此研究中,受访者在每个广告期间平均看平板电脑2.7次。换句话说,电视广告获得的有限的注意是由一些不经意的,非连续行性的“看”电视屏幕的行为组成的。这位广告主带来了更大的挑战,他们必须将广告信息在极短的时间有效地传达给观众。

此处的可视化结果表明一名受访者的注意力在广告期间不断地快速转移。每个蓝色的圆点代表注意力在平板电脑和电视屏幕之间的转换。如您所见,对广告的体验通常并不是一种集中注意事件,而是一种视觉注意的分散式跳跃行为。

The visualization illustrating  the rapidly changing focus of one participant during a commercial break.

那些广告成功地吸引到了观众?

尽管上述趋势在某种程度上为广告主带来了挑战,我们仍然从研究中得到了一些好消息。在研究中共曝光了400多个广告,其中有19.2%的广告被完整看完。这表明电视广告还是有能力吸引当今注意力被逐渐分散的观众的。我们可以甄别出几个与增加视觉注意相关的关键要素。在最好的情况下,这些广告不仅能抓住观众的眼球,也要迫使他们通过移动端设备了解详细的产品信息。以下视频就是一则案例。观众对Apple Watch的广告产生了兴趣,然后通过他的iPad获得该产品的详细信息。这对广告主来说是好的一面——那些广告的受众现在能够在他们自己家的沙发上舒适地查看产品图片、作比较、看产品评论甚至下单购买。

研究工具与方法

共有25名电视观众受访者参与了本研究,测试地点在他们家中的客厅或在实验室环境中。每名受访者都会观看电视剧《广告狂人》的一个片段,并在整个过程(正片和广告)中随他们的喜好自由使用智能手机和平板电脑。

使用Tobii Pro Glasses 2可穿戴式眼动仪来采集所有受访者的眼动追踪数据。 这款超轻的非侵入式研究工具允许研究人员考察受访者在看节目正片、广告和移动端设备时视觉注意的细节。

Two people in the living room wearing Tobii Pro Glasses 2 and watching the Mad Man TV show.

联系我们

联系销售

An Eye For the Ads: TV Commercials

Tobii Pro Insight Research Services conducted an eye tracking research study to evaluate the visibility of commercials in the modern living room.

Background

The TV Commercial has long been considered the most effective mass media advertising format ever created. However, the digital revolution provided TV watchers with a variety of new 'ad avoidance' tools, which have pulled attention away from commercials. Among the most popular of these tools are smartphones, tablets, and other handheld internet-connected devices. We were interested in understanding how far the TV commercial has fallen in terms of visual attention.

Where do viewers focus their attention during the commercials?

The visual behavior of modern handheld-device using TV viewers is illustrated in the two charts below. During the TV program (left pie chart), they spend over 80% of their time looking at the TV screen. This suggests that, despite other distractions, the TV show itself holds their interest. But when the commercial break begins (right pie chart) attention shifts heavily to the handheld device. Our results indicated that viewers were looking at the TV screen for less than half of the time that commercials are on the screen.

Two charts illustrating the distribution of attention during the show and commercial breaks.

How do today’s viewers visually experience commercials?

The eye tracking data allowed us to dig deeper into the visual experience of the TV viewer. Although the 42.1% of attention to commercials described above might seem like a sufficient time period for the advertiser to communicate with the TV viewer, it is important to note that this attention is rarely uninterrupted. The participants in our study looked from

TV to tablet an average of 2.7 times per commercial. In other words, the limited attention that commercials received was divided into brief, nonconsecutive 'looks' at the TV screen. This creates an even greater challenge for advertisers, as they must communicate their message in an abbreviated time frame to a viewer whose attention sporadically switches to and from the screen.

The visualization here illustrates the rapidly changing focus of one participant during a commercial break. Each blue dot indicates a shift in attention from tablet to TV screen. As you can see, the experience of commercials is generally not a cohesive attentional event, but rather a distracted back-and-forth visual juggling act.

The visualization illustrating  the rapidly changing focus of one participant during a commercial break.

Which ads most successfully engage the viewer?

Although the trends described above certainly represent challenges to the advertiser, we did find some good news. Of the 400+ commercial exposures examined in our study, 19.2% were watched in their entirety. This suggests that the commercial still has the power to engage and interest the modern distracted viewer. We were able to identify several key features of commercials that were associated with increased visual attention. In the best cases, these commercials not only caught the eye of the viewer, but also compelled them to learn more about the product using the mobile device. The video below provides an example of this behavior. The viewer was interested by an Apple Watch commercial, and then later used his iPad to access additional information about this product. This is the bright side for the modern TV advertiser- the viewers to whom you are advertising are now able to see pictures, compare products, read reviews and even make purchases from the comfort of their own couch.

Tools and methods

A sample of 25 TV watchers participated in the study, either in their own living room or in a living room environment within a testing lab. Each participant was asked to watch an episode of the television show Mad Men and allowed to use a smartphone or tablet as often as they liked throughout the episode and commercial breaks.

The Tobii Pro Glasses 2 wearable eye tracking system was used to collect eye tracking data for all participants. This lightweight, unobtrusive research tool allowed us to explore visual attention to the TV show, the commercials, and the mobile device with a high level of detail.

Two people in the living room wearing Tobii Pro Glasses 2 and watching the Mad Man TV show.

Use our contact form

Contact Sales