眼动追踪揭示了顾客在店内的行走方向和购物行为

在此项研究中,眼动追踪被用于研究消费者在店内的行走方向对某品牌啤酒的堆头摆放、展示材料和沟通信息的视觉注意影响。研究结论显示了固有的习惯性路线对视线方向带来了怎样的影响。

研究背景

Molson Coors Central Europe (MCCE)是Molson Coors酿酒公司的一部分,通过自行酿造或分发许可证的模式拥有20多个品牌的丰富产品线,包括当地的主流酒类品牌,如Staropramen, Borsodi 以及一些国际酒类品牌,如Beck´s,Hoegaarden,Leffe, Stella Artois。MCCE在匈牙利的酿造机构Borsodi Brewery想要更加细致地了解他们的客户在店内的行为并对他们的主流核心啤酒Borsodi的摆放和呈现形式进行优化。他们找到了ET research公司,使用移动式眼动仪在一家真实的商店环境中开展了一项关于店内行为与视觉注意的购物者研究。

移动眼动追踪研究已经为店内沟通效果研究提供了很多有用的结论。我们得到了通过之前使用的传统方法无所得到的结论,我们还会将眼动追踪应用到我们将来的营销沟通材料的计划中。

Zsuzsanna Sükösd, Legal and Corporate Affairs Director at Borsodi Brewery

使用眼动追踪衡量二次摆放堆头与展示效果的有效性

研究的目标是在一家选定的超市中,评估Borsodi啤酒的二次摆放堆头与展示效果对购物者视觉注意的吸引能力。最大的二次摆放堆头在超市啤酒区域的通道入口处,使用了Marin制作的LAMá 式展柜。展柜呈现了不同的沟通信息,包括促销活动等。

A placement aisle and product display with the areas of interest highlighted.

研究问题:

  • 过道经过二次摆放的啤酒堆头对购物者的吸引程度如何?
  • 二次摆放的堆头的哪一部分获得的关注度更高?是产品、价格还是展示的沟通信息 ?
  • 沟通信息的展示分布是否合理?
  • 哪种沟通元素最吸引人?哪种效果较差?
  • 二次摆放得堆头能否改变购物者的习惯,实现对购物者的引导作用?

眼动追踪工具与研究方法

ET research使用了Tobii Pro Glasses眼动仪来衡量堆头、展示材料和沟通信息的有效性。

研究由三个环节组成,包括眼动追踪环节和前期与后期访谈环节。实验地点位于匈牙利布达佩斯的一家大型超市中,共进行了4天的现场数据采集工作。研究现场招募了70名年龄在26-59岁,有意向购买啤酒的受访者。

首先对受访者进行一个简单的访谈来采集受访者的基本数据 (个人信息, 购买啤酒的习惯等) 并以此作为相应部分的购物者筛选依据。通过Glasses眼动仪进行快速定标后,指引受访者佩戴Glasses眼动仪按他们自己的计划进行购物。

Tobii Glasses眼动仪的结构与设计令今天测试的购物者佩戴非常舒适。受访者没有提出任何关于设备的负面反馈。Tobii Glasses眼动仪非常易用,校准方便,这对大样本量的数据采集很重要。将数据导出到Tobii Studio中也非常迅速和高效。

Gabor Vizy, Researcher at ETresearch.

受访者选择了他们要购买的啤酒并离开啤酒销售区后,将Glasses眼动仪摘掉并进行一个包含了开放式和封闭式问题的后期的访谈,以此检验受访者看到过的内容,沟通信息等内容回忆和再认程度。

A person wearing Tobii Pro Glasses 1 navigates through aisles and displays in the supermarket.

移动测试实验室

作为研究的辅助,ET Research使用了他们的移动测试实验室,为Glasses眼动仪的校准和前期的访谈提供了理想的环境,不会妨碍购物者的运动和商店的经营。

A mobile eye tracking research lab.

该视频展示出叠加了一些被试者在经过啤酒售卖区入口过道的堆头时的眼动轨迹视频。

眼动数据的分析

Borsodi Brewery发现ET Research的研究结果在各方面都很有用处。首先,眼动追踪记录显示出购物者的行走方向在很大程度上决定了他们的视线方向。购物者们在购物过程中都是按相似的习惯路线购物的,因为他们没有理由改变他们常规的路线。因此,他们的视线是由他们的行走地点决定的,这就意味着购物者的流向和常规的行走方向应该受到重视。

A gaze plot indicating the percentage of the respondents looking at different placements and displays.
A gaze plot indicating the percentage of the respondents looking at different placements and displays.
A gaze plot indicating the percentage of the respondents looking at different placements and displays.

第二,研究结果显示出了展示材料的哪部分效果最好。使研究人员找到了展示材料上能够带来最大价值的沟通信息放置位置。

在研究环境中,购物者可以从三个不同方向接触到展示材料。研究人员得到了每个方向的常规眼动模式。展示材料中那些从任何方向都不能被察觉到的部分完全没有被注意到。

眼动追踪方法用结论证明了它的有效性,如果没有眼动追踪这种方法,这些结论就无从得到。

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking sheds light on in-store movement and shoppers’ visual attention

In this shopper study by Hungarian company ET Research, eye tracking was used to explore the influence of in-store movement and walking direction on the visual attention paid to placements, displays and communication messages. The results demonstrated how hard-to-break habitual routes significantly impact gaze orientation.

Background

Molson Coors Central Europe (MCCE) is a part of Molson Coors Brewing Company, which has a rich product portfolio of more than 20 brands including leading local brands such as Staropramen, Borsodi and international brands such as Beck´s, Hoegaarden, Leffe, Stella Artois, brewed or distributed by licence. MCCE's brewery affiliate in Hungary, Borsodi Brewery, wanted to understand their customers' in-store behavior more thoroughly and optimize placement and display of their popular core-lager beer brand, Borsodi. They commissioned ETresearch to conduct an explorative shopper study of in-store movement and visual attention, using mobile eye tracking in a real store environment.

The mobile eye tracking study has provided many useful insights for in-store communication. We got results that we could not obtain through other methods we’d previously used and that we will use in planning our future marketing communication materials.

Zsuzsanna Sükösd, Legal and Corporate Affairs Director at Borsodi Brewery

Eye tracking to measure efficiency of secondary placements and displays

The objective of the study was to evaluate how effectively secondary placements and displays of Borsodi were able to draw shoppers' attention in a chosen supermarket. The largest secondary placement was an aisle at the entrance to the beer section, marked with LAMá displays manufactured by Marin's. Different communication messages, including a campaign, were exposed on the display.

A placement aisle and product display with the areas of interest highlighted.

Research questions:

  • To what extent is the beer's secondary placement in an aisle able to draw shoppers' attention?
  • Which parts of the placement draw more attention? Is it the product, the price or the display with the communication message?
  • Are the communication elements optimally arranged on the display?
  • Which communication elements are more eye catching and which are less?
  • Is the placement able to change the familiar/habitual and automatic shopping process of the consumer?

Eye tracking tools and methods

ETresearch used the Tobii Pro Glasses 1 to measure the efficiency of the placement, display and communication messages.

The three-part study, consisting of an eye tracking part and pre- and post-interview sessions, was conducted in a hypermarket in Budapest, Hungary, during four days of field-work. Seventy respondents, aged 26-59, who had beer on their shopping lists were recruited on the spot as they entered the store.

The respondents were neither told the objective of the study prior to the test nor given any specific tasks to allow researchers to follow authentic shopping journeys and evaluate Molson Coors Central Europe's Borsodi beer placement and display under these circumstances.

A brief pre-interview was held with each respondent to collect basic data (demographics, beer-buying habits, etc.) to filter shoppers for relevant segments. Following a quick calibration of the eye tracking glasses, respondents were instructed to do their planned shopping while wearing the glasses.

The construction and design of Tobii Pro Glasses make them the most comfortable eye tracking glasses for shoppers to wear. Tobii Pro Glasses are easy to use and calibrate for the test leader, which is crucial for reaching the needed sample size of respondents.

Gabor Vizy, Researcher at ETresearch.

After respondents had chosen their beer and left the beer section, the eye tracking glasses were removed and a post-interview involving both open-ended and closed-ended questions conducted to check remembering and recall of what they had seen, communication messages, etc.

A person wearing Tobii Pro Glasses 1 navigates through aisles and displays in the supermarket.

A mobile research lab

As a research aid, ET Research used its MobilET lab, which provided ideal conditions for calibrating the eye tracking glasses and conducting pre-interviews without interfering in the slightest with the shoppers' movements or the functioning of the store.

A mobile eye tracking research lab.

Watch this video with gaze replays from some of the respondents approaching the secondary placement aisle at the entrance of the beer section.

Analysis of the the eye tracking data

Borsodi Brewery found the results of the study useful in various fields. First, eye tracking recordings showed that shoppers' walking direction to a large extent determine their gaze orientation. Shoppers take the same habitual route during their shopping journey because they have no reason to change their typical route. Therefore, their gaze is determined by where they are walking, which means it is very important to take into account shoppers' flow and typical direction of movement.

A gaze plot indicating the percentage of the respondents looking at different placements and displays.
A gaze plot indicating the percentage of the respondents looking at different placements and displays.
A gaze plot indicating the percentage of the respondents looking at different placements and displays.

Second, results showed which parts of the display are effective. They revealed which parts of the display are worth putting communication messages on.

During the study, shoppers were able to approach the display from three directions. Typical gaze patterns could be identified for each direction. Those parts of the display that could not be detected from any direction went completely un-noticed.

These insights would not have been gained without the use of eye tracking, which proves and illustrates the usefulness of this methodology.

Use our contact form

Contact Sales