通过时间-空间的注视模型分析识别孤独症个体

在一项旨在开发一种对孤独症进行识别的客观指标的研究中,研究团队使用Tobii眼动仪记录了当被试者观察视频片段时的注视位置。通过对时间-空间的注视模型进行分析,研究人员开发出了一种可用于孤独症患者识别的定量方法。

研究背景与目标

孤独症是一种带有社交缺陷特征的发育障碍,这种病症的患病人数在过去的30年中增加了十倍。对孤独症的诊断取决于是否每种症状都符合诊断的标准的正确判断。这意味着虽然可以召集专家到现场进行准确的诊断,但却无法满足越来越多的孤独症诊断需求。因此,开发一套可以被非专业人士使用的能够准确地(准度度可与经过训练的专家相媲美)对孤独症进行诊断的系统是非常必要的。

眼动数据分析就是这套系统的其中一个候选方案。近年来,无需佩戴任何束缚性设备的非侵入式眼动追踪系统的准确度有了很大的提高。这种新技术已使对婴幼儿的眼动追踪测试与成人一样容易。

本研究的目标是开发一种既可用于成年人也可用于青少年的通过眼动测量数据来识别孤独症个体的定量方法。

通过引入眼动追踪技术,就算是非专业人士也能够从非言语儿童被试者获得充足的数据。此方法可应用到更广泛的情形中,如儿童发育障碍的识别等。

Professor Shigeru Kitazawa, Department of Dynamic Brain Networks, Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences, Osaka University

研究工具与方法

空间-时间眼动模式的记录与分析

研究团队检验了25名孤独症儿童 (平均年龄, 3:1 岁), 25名符合此年龄段的正常儿童(TD children), 27 名ASD成年患者 (平均年龄30 岁)和27名正常成年人 (平均年龄32 岁) 在观看一段截取自幼儿电视节目的生态类视频片段时的时间-空间眼动模式。

这段视频刺激材料长度为77秒,由12个较短的包含声音内容的视频片断组成,每个片段约为6秒钟。这些片断都带有一个、两个、三个或更多的角色,有的是批次进行谈话,有的则是对电视机前的观众进行诉说,言语在每个场景中会带有不同程度的社会内容和干扰性内容。使用Tobii X50遥测式眼动仪以50Hz的采样率采集被试者双眼的注视位置数据。为了得到所有被试者的全部眼动模式,我们了多维标度对数据进行了汇总。同时我们也测量了对眼睛和嘴部的观察时间。

孤独症研究中一项众多周知的言论是患有孤独症的成年人对人物嘴部的观察要比眼部要多。而对于患有孤独症的儿童来说,言论则并不统一。研究团队决定先从此假设入手开始研究。

该理论对成年人来说看来是正确的,因为正常被试群组对人物眼睛的观察时间高于孤独症患者群体对人物眼睛的观察时间。但是研究结果表明在儿童被试组,正常儿童被试组对人物嘴部的观察时间要高于孤独症儿童被试组。

A heatmap showing the attention distribution.

通过儿童与成年人眼动数据的逐帧对比,当人物开始讲话时,两个群体之间的数据有着显著的差异 。成年人通常会观察人物角色的眼睛(左图),而多数正常儿童则会关注人物的嘴部(中图)。在言语发展过程中,可能存在一段将语音与嘴部动作相关联的时期。当儿童积累了一定程度的经验后,他们就会去关注讲话者的眼睛来获取丰富的社交信息。假设关注重点从嘴部转移到眼睛的变化是根据年龄出现的,那么根据这种对眼睛/嘴部的观察时间来得到一种适用于各年龄的社交障碍的指标是不可能的。

研究团队决定使用从Tobii眼动仪获得的所有可用的时间-空间注视模式来构建一种指标。

研究结论

为了将所有被试者的时间性眼动模式纳入分析中,研究团队使用了多维标度对数据进行了汇总。因此,如果一对被试者中的时间-空间注视轨迹相似,则在构图中他们两者间的距离会非常接近,反之亦然。因此,如果一组被试者的注视行为相似,将在二维平面上得到一个集簇,而注视行为有差异的将得到发散式的呈现结果。

按此方式构建出出时间-空间注视模式图后,多数受控被试组都被分配到近中央区域的位置,而多数孤独症被试者则分布在周围区域(见右上图的模式图,图中中心位置的“+”代表中值,可理解为观看视频刺激材料时最常规的观看方式)。因此受控组到“中央区域”的距离(多维标度距离)要小于ASD被试组。研究结果显示出常规受控组的时间-空间注视模式是相似的,而孤独症被试组中,每名被试者之间显示出不规则的注视行为。

A graph with a gaze plot showing the attention distribution.

多维标度平面图中,到“中央区域”的距离表现出与标准时间-空间注视模式的偏离程度,可有效地对儿童(87%)和成人(75%)的受控被试组和ASD被试组进行区分。研究团队希望这项距离指标可以被作为一项孤独症的社交障碍的评估指标,应用到成年人和儿童的诊断中。

研究团队还将相似的方法应用到一些特殊的患有言语障碍(SLI)的被试测试中,此类被试者言语发育迟缓但没有社交障碍。在多维标度平面图中,还可以将言语障碍个体从受控被试组中识别出来,准确率可达到80% 。通过测量与多维标度中值的距离,还可以将言语障碍被试组从孤独症被试组中识别出来,准确率相同。最后,通过言语障碍被试组与受控被试组的对比,可看出言语障碍个体对人物嘴部的观察多于正常被试个体。

通过对个体在观察本研究中类似的视频刺激而得到的时间性注视模式的分析可得到大量有意义的信息。通过对此类信息的提取,可以初步构建一个简单但有效地社交障碍检测方法。在未来的应用中,使用相同的方法对治疗方法的效果评估将非常有帮助。

参考文献

1. Nakano, T. et al. Atypical gaze patterns in children and adults with autism spectrum disorders dissociated from developmental changes in gaze behaviour. Proc R Soc B277, 2935-43 (2010).
2. Hosozawa, M., Tanaka, K., Shimizu, T., Nakano, T. & Kitazawa, S. How Children With Specific Language Impairment View Social Situations: An Eye Tracking Study.Pediatrics129, e1453-e1460 (2012).

相关信息

联系我们

联系销售

Eye tracking for identifying autism

In a research project aimed at developing an objective index to identify autism in patients, subjects were recorded with Tobii Pro eye trackers while viewing video clips. By analyzing gaze patterns, researchers developed a quantitative method to help diagnose autism.

Background and objectives

The prevalence of autism, a developmental disorder characterized by impairments in social interaction and communication, has increased tenfold in the last 30 years. The diagnosis depends on correct judgments as to whether each symptom listed in the diagnostic criteria is met or not. This means an accurate diagnosis of autism calls for an expert in the field, but there are too few of these to meet the increasing needs of the population. Consequently, there is a demand for a system that can be used by non-experts with an accuracy comparable to that of someone trained in this disorder.

Gaze analysis can be used as an autism diagnosis system. In recent years, unobtrusive eye tracking systems without a chin rest or headgear have become increasingly accurate. This new technology has made eye tracking infants and young children as easy as testing adult participants.

The objective for the researchers at Osaka University was to develop a quantitative scale for identifying individuals with autism based on gaze measurement data that could be applied to adults, as well as children.

By using eye tracking, even a non-expert is able to draw ample information from non-verbal children. The method has a wide range of applications such as screening of developmental disorders in children.

Professor Shigeru Kitazawa, Department of Dynamic Brain Networks, Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences, Osaka University

Tools and methods

Recording and analyzing temporo-spatial gaze patterns

The team at the Graduate School of Frontier Biosciences at Osaka University in Japan examined 25 young children (average age of 3) with autism, 25 age-matched children with typical development (also known as TD or neurotypical children), 27 adults with autism, and 27 neurotypical adults. The individuals viewed the same brief video clips taken from films and TV programs for young children.

The video stimulus featured several characters talking, with varying degrees of social context and distracters in each scene. Gaze positions of both eyes were measured with a Tobii X50 screen-based eye tracker. The researchers then analyzed the gaze patterns for all of the participants, focusing on the subjects' attention to eyes and mouths during the video clips.

One well-known observation in past research is that adults with autism look more at the mouth of a person than the eyes. However, when studying children with autism, these observations were not consistent. The research team decided to start by investigating this hypothesis.

The theory appeared to be true for adults. The neurotypical group spent more time looking at the eyes than the participants with autism did. However, results pointed to the opposite conclusion in the child group, with neurotypical children looking more at the mouth than the children with autism.

A heatmap showing the attention distribution.

Comparing the data from children and adults, frame by frame, it became evident that the difference became most apparent when a character started talking. While the neurotypical adults generally looked at the character's eyes (left), most TD children instead paid attention to the mouth (middle). During the course of verbal development, there might be a certain period when human voice is associated with mouth movements. As the child accumulates a certain amount of experience, they eventually concentrate on the eyes of the speaker for complete communication. Assuming the change of focus from the mouth to the eyes comes with development, it would be impossible to develop an index of social disorders applicable to all ages based on this ratio of eye/mouth viewing time.

The research team then decided to construct an index using all of the available gaze data from the Tobii eye tracker.

Results

Taking all of the subjects' gaze patterns into account, the team summarized the data by using multidimensional scaling (MDS). If the temporospatial gaze trajectories are similar in a pair of subjects, they would be plotted very near to each other. Thus, a group of subjects with a similar gaze behavior would form a cluster, and those with atypical gaze behaviors would be plotted in the periphery, far from the others.

When the data was plotted in this way, most neurotypical control group participants were distributed near the center, while the participants with autism were distributed along the periphery (see the plot in the top right figure; the '+' mark in the center of the plot indicates the median, which can be thought of as corresponding to the most neurotypical way of looking at the video stimulus). The distance from the 'center' (MDS distance) was thus smaller in the neurotypical groups than in the participants with autism. The results show that neurotypical control groups share similar gaze patterns, whereas those with autism show atypical gaze behaviors that differ from one subject to another.

A graph with a gaze plot showing the attention distribution.

The distance from the 'center' of the MDS plane, which reflected the degree of deviation from the standard temporo-spatial gaze pattern, efficiently distinguished control participants from those with autism in both children (87%) and adults (75%).

The team expects that this distance could be used as an effective scale of social impairments in autism that can be applied not only to adults but also to children.
The research team also applied the same method to the participants with specific language impairment (SLI) who had delayed verbal development, but no social impairments. On the MDS plane, it was possible to distinguish the individuals with SLI from the control group with 80% accuracy. Using the distance from the MDS median, it was also possible to distinguish the group with SLI from the autistic participants to the same level of accuracy. Finally, comparing the participants with SLI to the neurotypical control group, it became clear that the subjects with SLI looked at the mouth more than neurotypical subjects did.

A wealth of information can be found from analyzing the gaze patterns of individuals watching the video stimulus mentioned in this research. By extracting this information, a simple yet effective method for detection could be created. In the future, the same method could be used to evaluate the outcomes of treatment methods like applied behavior analysis.

References

1. Nakano, T. et al. Atypical gaze patterns in children and adults with autism spectrum disorders dissociated from developmental changes in gaze behaviour. Proc R Soc B277, 2935-43 (2010).
2. Hosozawa, M., Tanaka, K., Shimizu, T., Nakano, T. & Kitazawa, S. How Children With Specific Language Impairment View Social Situations: An Eye Tracking Study.Pediatrics129, e1453-e1460 (2012).

Related information

Use our contact form

Contact Sales