眼动追踪与西非国家的水资源教育

本研究使用了眼动追踪来研究关于饮用水知识材料的视觉传达效果。西肯塔基大学的研究人员考察了关于水资源说明材料的视觉传达效果。这套材料将用于西非国家居民关于个人与公共用水方法的指导、了解水污染以及增进这些居民对水资源知识的整体了解。

研究背景

本研究由西肯塔基大学水资源研究中心的Jonathan Ogles发起,源自一篇毕业论文研究项目。他的研究目标是研究西非水资源教育的最佳视觉传达设计方案。此论文研究项目已逐渐变为Fofo Hari组织的一部分,桑海语意为“水,你好”。Fofo Hari目前正通过创造性的科技与艺术方式,突破教育程度低、语言不通和文化差异的阻碍,对西非发展中国家居民开展关于水资源知识和用水卫生的教育。本研究针对撒哈拉沙漠以南非洲地区的国家主要的女性水资源使用者展开。

通过将眼动追踪技术与访谈和问卷方法结合,研究人员创建了围绕水污染、净化与个人用水方法等主题的图像材料。

研究团队对部分居民进行了培训,并让他们以顾问的身份参与到了设计过程中,以确保最终设计方案能够被居民看懂。通过使用水资源知识的科学视觉传达技术,研究人员不仅希望此项目通过图像材料来进行关于水的知识普及,还希望能够为非正式科学教育和视觉学习的相关领域带来帮助。 

我相信我们能克服教育层次和文化的障碍,让这些偏远地区的文化群体了解水资源和卫生用水的知识。我们尽力地去推动这些基于研究成果图像的传播,而且我们正在尝试创建一种新的教育方法。

Jonathan Oglesby, project leader, Department of Geography and Geology

研究工具与方法

Tobii X2-60 equipment was used in rural West African villages.

Tobii Pro X2-60眼动仪被带到12个乡村,共完成了464次眼动追踪数据采集。

使用眼动追踪可采集西非国家居民对水资源教育材料的视觉传达效果的量化数据,这些数据成为研究人员改进设计的极具价值的依据,使改进后的材料获得最佳的学习效果。这也许是世界首例将眼动追踪用于非洲乡村的图像材料设计效果研究,而Tobii Pro X2-60的便携性和易用性使这项研究的得以顺利完成。

在研究的历程中,眼动仪曾被安装在灌木环绕的产房,药房和村民的泥瓦房环境中。在一些情况下还使用了汽车发电机来为测试设备供电。本次研究共测试了来自九个不同文化群体的被试者,包括桑海,杰尔马,豪萨,库塔伊,科曼奇,富拉尼,卡多,毛里和塔马谢克。

A woman performs an eye tracking test with Tobii Pro X2-60 in a traditional mud brick home.

研究结论

Tobii Pro X2-60眼动仪采集了西非国家不同文化群体被试者对水资源教育材料的观察方式的量化数据。通过眼动追踪数据与对当地居民访谈信息的结合,为研究人员提供了设计水资源教育宣传材料的坚实依据,这些材料可在西非国家的乡村、健康机构和学校的不同文化群体之间广泛发行。

通过将眼动追踪添加到他们的研究方法中,研究人员将探究一种新的教育方法,使学习的效果最大化,从而将其转变成一种适用于偏远地区特殊群体的有效教育范式。

带来转变

研究人员正在Kakassi村庄的一所泥瓦房中对一名几年前作为该研究被试者的妇女进行回访。

“我们当时正在进行基于眼动追踪的访谈环节,当我问起”你知道怎样利用太阳进行水净化吗?”妇女几乎是立刻给出了答案“是的” 。我很吃惊,因为通常人们都会肯定地回答“不,我从没听说过”。然后我立刻继续探问“你是怎么知道的呢?” 她回答说“上次你在这给我展示过,从那以后我一直在用这种方法来净化水”。这说明这些学习工具不是过眼即忘而是有长期效果的,这正是研究项目希望达成的目标”。

相关信息

联系我们

联系销售

Eye Tracking and Water Education in West Africa

Eye tracking was used in a visual communication research project on information concerning potable water. Researchers from Western Kentucky University investigated the effectiveness of visual design on instructional materials intended to educate West African residents about personal and public water use, water pollution and conservation.


The study was initiated as a thesis project by Jonathan Oglesby at Western Kentucky University Center for Water Resource Studies. He aimed to investigate the best visual communication designs for communicating water education information in West Africa. The thesis project grew into an organization called Fofo Hari, meaning 'Hello Water' in the Zerma language. Fofo Hari now uses technology and art to overcome illiteracy, language and cultural barriers in developing nations by educating West African culture groups about water, sanitation and hygiene in creative ways. The research is gender specific, focusing on women who are the primary water fetchers and users in Sub-Saharan Africa.

By combining eye tracking techniques, surveys and interviews, the researchers create visual materials that focus on water pollution, sanitation and personal water treatment techniques.

The culture groups to be educated act as consultants in the design process to help ensure the created materials are well received in the villages. By using science-driven, visual communication techniques for water literacy, the researcher strives not only to educate through the use of images, but also to contribute to the wider community about informal science education and visual learning.

I believe we can overcome the hurdles of illiteracy and cultural barriers to educate hard-to-reach culture groups about water, sanitation and hygiene. By pushing the imagery as far as we can in our research methods, we are attempting to create a new way of approaching education.

Jonathan Oglesby, project leader, Department of Geography and Geology

Tools & Methods

Tobii X2-60 equipment was used in rural West African villages.

The Tobii Pro X2-60 eye tracker was carried to 12 rural villages and used in a total of 464 eye tracking trials.

Eye tracking allowed for the collection of quantitative data about how West African culture groups view and interact with water education materials, which in turn offered researchers the data necessary to develop new materials that would maximize learning outcomes. This is perhaps the first study of its kind to use eye tracking to investigate effective visual learning design in rural African villages. The portability and ease of use or the Pro X2-60 made this research possible.

The eye tracking equipment was set up in bush maternity wards, medicinal depositories and mud brick homes during the research expedition. Truck generators were used to power equipment as needed. A total of nine different culture groups were tested, including the Songhai, Zerma, Hausa, Kutay, Gourmanche, Fulani, Kado, Mori, and Tamachek.

A woman performs an eye tracking test with Tobii Pro X2-60 in a traditional mud brick home.

Results and Conclusions

The Tobii Pro X2-60 eye tracker enabled quantitative data collection on how West African culture groups view and interact with water education materials. Eye tracking data, complemented with additional interviews with local people, provided a solid ground for creating image-driven water education materials that can be disseminated among the different culture groups living in rural villages, health clinics, and schools in West Africa.

By embedding images in their research methods, the project aims to find a new way of approaching education and maximizing learning outcomes that could shift the paradigm of educating hard-to-reach groups.

Making a difference

At a mud brick home in the village of Kakassi, the researcher recalls meeting a lady he had interacted with on a research trip a couple of years earlier.

"We were going through the interview portion of our eye tracking trials when I asked, "Do you know of any way that the sun can purify your water?". The lady responded, "Yes," almost immediately. I was quite taken aback, because routinely people would firmly answer, "No, I've never heard of that," when I inquired. I immediately asked, "How do you know this?" and she responded, "You showed me how the last time you were here and I've been doing it ever since." This shows that the learning tools work and have longevity in the community, rather than being temporary fixes, which is exactly what the goal of this project is all about."

Related information

Use our contact form

Contact Sales