眼动追踪与教学研究

斯洛伐克科技大学是斯洛伐克规模最大,历史最久的大学,它的信息与信息技术系配备了眼动追踪教室和眼动追踪实验室。

研究背景

斯洛伐克科技大学的信息学与信息技术系 (FIIT STU) 是斯洛伐克唯一一所专注于信息学和传播技术教学和科研的院校。为了实现他们关于信息学的研究和教学课题,该院系引入了眼动追踪技术。在研究方面,他们想尝试通过一种比现有方法更好的衡量方式来提升相关的用户体验研究。而另一方面,从教学应用来看,他们想获得学生在学习编程或接受网络教学时对问题的处理方法的洞察。教师们可以使用眼动追踪技术来获得通过其他方法无法获得的信息和反馈。

该院系为教室配备了20台Pro X2-60眼动仪,为用户体验实验室配备了1台Pro TX-300和1台额外的配有移动端设备测试支架。使用Pro Studio软件来进行数据分析。

Eye tracking classroom equipped with Tobii Pro X2-60 eye trackers.

扩展眼动追踪的定量研究范围

眼动追踪是一种对院系乃至大学本身非常有价值的研究方法。眼动追踪教室可使相关人员在保持传统教学环境完整性的前提下展开学习分析 (教室 vs. 一对一的用户体验实验室)。这些学习分析与学生的行为分析相关研究课题也是一致的。 例如,眼动追踪数据可展示出初学编程者观察、理解源代码的方式,这些发现可用于对学习过程的改进。拥有一个配备了眼动追踪的教室可以试院系采集大样本量的眼动追踪数据,节省研究人员的时间成本并可以确保所有被试都在相同的实验环境中完成数据采集。

“Tobii Pro的眼动仪让我们发现了人机交互的一种全新洞察。”

Professor Maria Bieliková, director of User eXperience and Interaction Research Center
A person sitting in front of the Tobii Pro TX300 eye tracker in the UX lab.
A person sitting in front of the Tobii Pro X2-60 eye tracker mounted on the desk stand.
Eye tracking classroom equipped with Tobii Pro X2-60 eye trackers.

使学生和用人单位受益

实验室最大的价值在于使学生自己受益。当学生们参与到眼动追踪课程中时,他们也可以使用眼动追踪设备开展学士、硕士和博士学位相关的研究项目。能够执行一项有效的眼动追踪研究对他们的研究非常有帮助。此外,这些使用眼动追踪技术开展研究的经验在他们离开学校进入就业环节时是一项非常具有竞争力的优势。

未来的用人单位也会从中受益,因为他们将招募到具备可用性和用户体验评估的实践经验的人才。这些学生拥有眼动追踪系统的操作和执行研究的应用技能。这可以培养出更多对自己的设计作品具有客观评判能力的设计者和研究人员,并且这些设计和研究人会更加主动的对自己的设计、工作流程进行验证和改进。这两个积极的习惯对软件工程和其他相关领域的开发研究有着非常重要的意义。

Eye tracking classroom equipped with Tobii Pro X2-60 eye trackers.

眼动追踪教学实验室

正如该院校所言,在构建实验室时,很重要的一点是对实验室的功能有一个正确的期望并接受“没有现成的方案可供参考”的事实。构建实验室的过程需要企业和学校密切的合作。

Tobii Pro的团队为实验室设备的安装提供了大量的支持,通过网络和固件更新迅速解决了预想不到的问题,确保眼动追踪硬件和软件随时能够运作。Tobii Pro同时为院校提供了3天的培训让实验室开始运转,并对方案中的分析工具进行了强化,确保其可操作性。

虽然构建一个眼动追踪教室非常具有挑战性,但该项目的结果为院校的研究课题和院系的整体定位带来了巨大的价值。

“配备一个眼动追踪教室是绝对可行的,但配备眼动追踪实验室的机构并不多。”

Professor Maria Bieliková, director of User eXperience and Interaction Research Center

Eye Tracking Classroom Expands Horizons

The Faculty of Informatics and Information Technologies at the Slovak University of Technology, the largest and oldest university of technology in Slovakia, has introduced a fully-equipped eye tracking classroom, as well as an eye tracking lab.

Background

The Faculty of Informatics and Information Technologies at the Slovak University of Technology (FIIT STU) in Bratislava is the only school in Slovakia that is primarily focused on teaching and research in informatics, information, and communication technologies. The faculty added eye tracking technology to their research techniques in order to achieve both their research and educational objectives. On the research side, they sought to enhance their user experience studies by providing a better evaluation tool than the methods currently in use. From an educational perspective, they wanted to get better insight into how students solve tasks when learning programming or studying in an e-learning environment. Teachers can use the eye tracking technology to get information and feedback could not be obtained otherwise.

The faculty purchased twenty Pro X2-60 eye trackers to equip the class, as well as one Pro TX-300 and an additional Pro X2-60 with a mobile device stand to equip a user experience lab. Pro Studio software will be used for the research analysis.

Eye tracking classroom equipped with Tobii Pro X2-60 eye trackers.

Expanding the field of quantitative eye tracking research

Eye tracking is very valuable as a methodology for both the faculty and the university. The eye tracking classroom allows the staff to conduct learning analytics while keeping the conditions of a traditional educational setting intact (a classroom setup vs. a one-on-one UX lab). These learning analytics are also in line with research projects that involve the analysis of student behavior. For example, the data can show how novice programmers look at source code and how they comprehend it, which can be used to then improve the learning process. Having a classroom equipped with eye trackers enables the faculty to gather large quantities of eye tracking data while saving the researchers' time and ensuring similar conditions for all experiment participants.

“The systems from Tobii Pro let us see what was unseen before in human-computer interaction.”

Professor Maria Bieliková, director of User eXperience and Interaction Research Center
A person sitting in front of the Tobii Pro TX300 eye tracker in the UX lab.
A person sitting in front of the Tobii Pro X2-60 eye tracker mounted on the desk stand.
Eye tracking classroom equipped with Tobii Pro X2-60 eye trackers.

Benefitting students and future employers

The biggest value of the classroom is in the students themselves. While they are taking part in the eye tracking course, they can also run studies there for their personal bachelor, master, and doctoral projects. The capability of being able to run an efficient eye tracking study compliments their research and adds more validity to work. In addition, having the experience of working with eye tracking technology is a competitive advantage for students when entering the job market once they leave school.

Future employers will benefit, as well, since they will gain employees with practical experience in usability and UX evaluation. These students will possess applied skills both in operating the eye tracking systems and conducting user studies. This will result in researchers who are more critical of their own designs and who are willing to validate their own processes, both positive habits to have in software engineering and other related disciplines.

Eye tracking classroom equipped with Tobii Pro X2-60 eye trackers.

Eye tracking classrooms - attainable and appreciated

According to the university, when equipping a lab, it's important to have the right level of expectation and accept the fact that there is no out-of-the-box solution that exists. The process entails a close partnership between the company and the university.
The team at Tobii Pro supported the faculty in setting up the classroom, promptly resolved unexpected issues with networking and firmware updates, and ensured that the eye tracking hardware and software was operational at all times. The company also offered a three-day training at the university to get the classroom up and running, as well as additional attention to ensuring the analytical tools that were included in the package were operational.


Though setting up an eye tracking classroom can be a challenging task, the result added great value to the university's research activities, as well as the faculty and university positioning, in general.

“Having an eye tracking classroom is absolutely doable. However, at the same time, this is a rather unique endeavour that has been undertook by only a few institutions.”

Professor Maria Bieliková, director of User eXperience and Interaction Research Center